Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Peter Russell

Constitutional Amendment in Canada, Emmett Macfarlane, ed., University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 2016, 337 pp.

Canada has a very complex system of amending its formal, written Constitution. This collection of essays edited by Emmett Macfarlane is a welcome guide to its intricacies.

Is the complexity of our amending system an instance of Canadian exceptionalism? None of the authors take up that question. My own hunch is that the complexity of the so-called amending “formula” reflects the centrality of accommodation in Canada’s constitutional culture. “Striking a balance,” the key phrase in Macfarlane’s introduction, captures the idea. Nadia Verrelli’s opening chapter tells us how the formula evolved over a 115-year journey to the final set of rules that were adopted in the Constitution Act, 1982, the amendment to the Constitution that achieved patriation.

The constitutional amending formula is set out in Part V of the Constitution Act, 1982. It begins with the “general procedure,” requiring resolutions of both houses of Parliament and resolutions of the legislative assemblies of at least two-thirds of the provinces (seven of 10) that have at least 50 per cent of the population. Once the requisite number of resolutions has been secured, the amendment is effected by a proclamation issued by the Governor- General.

That seems simple enough, until you look at the conditions attached to the general procedure. A dissenting province can opt out of an amendment made under the general procedure if it reduces its powers, rights or privileges. If the amendment is in the fields of education or culture, the province opting out is entitled to fiscal compensation. Another section of the formula lists changes to federal institutions and the structure of the federation, including the addition of new provinces, to which the opt-out does not apply.

The general procedure that was the focus of much constitutional bargaining over many years has been used only once. That was the Constitutional Amendment Proclamation, 1983 which made two additions to the recognition of aboriginal and treaty rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, one to confirm that land claims agreements are treaties and another to ensure that the constitutionally protected rights of Aboriginal peoples apply equally to men and women. Only Quebec did not support the amendment. But it did not (and probably could not) opt out.

The formula sets out four other ways of amending the Constitution besides the general procedure. One is the unanimity rule that singles out a few matters that require supporting resolutions from all the provinces. The list includes the amending formula itself, the “offices” of the Queen, the Governor General and the provincial Lieutenant Governors, the rule guaranteeing small provinces that their MPs in the House of Commons will never be less than the number of Senate seats, and the composition of the Supreme Court of Canada. Needless to say, there has been no use of the unanimity rule.

Finally we come to the three parts of the amending formula (sections 43, 44, and 45) that have been the basis of nearly all the constitutional amending action that has taken place since Patriation. The exceptions to the general procedure have indeed become the rule. Section 43 provides for amendments of the Constitution of Canada applying to one or more province but not all provinces and can be made by Parliament and the legislatures of the provinces involved, section 44 amendments in relation to the House of Commons, the Senate and “the executive government of Canada” can be made simply though federal legislation, and section 45 that similarly empowers provinces to make laws amending the constitution of the province. The account and analysis of these kinds of amendments in various chapters of the Macfarlane book are an important contribution to constitutional scholarship.

Dwight Newman refers to section 43 as the “bilateral amending formula.” The seven times it has been used so far have all been bilateral – Parliament and one province passing the necessary resolutions. The big use has been for Newfoundland and Labrador – three times for changes in the denominational school section of its terms of union with Canada and once to add Labrador to the province’s official name. New Brunswick used it to insert in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms equality of status of its English and French linguistic communities. Prince Edward Island used it to replace a ferry service with a bridge as its constitutionallymandated mainland link. Quebec used it to terminate its constitutionally guaranteed denominational schools so that it could organize schools on a linguistic basis. Newman points to its potential to enable a conservative province to have constitutionally entrenched property rights or a progressive province to better protect Aboriginal rights.

As Warren Newman points out, Amendments made under sections 44 and 45 are effected by ordinary legislation, not legislatures’ resolutions followed by a proclamation. The reason for this is that these sections of the amending formula replace sections 91(1) and 92(1)(1) in the division of powers section of the Constitution. Section 44 has been used to make two changes to section 51 governing representation in the House of Commons and to give Nunavut a Senator. He also notes how Parliament’s peace, order and good government power has been used to add many organic, semi-constitutional statutes, such as the Multiculturalism Act and The Clarity Act to the law of the constitution. Emmanuelle Richez is the only author to focus on provincial constitutions, noting the growing interest of provinces, particularly Quebec, in consolidating existing constitutional rules in one coherent document.

A number of contributors to the volume are far too gloomy about the prospects of developing Canada’s constitutional system by informal means – organic statutes and constitutional conventions. They seem to be spooked out by the essay the Supreme Court of Canada wrote on the amending formula in the Senate Reference. Admittedly, the “architecture of the constitution” phrase the Court used in that decision was less than clear. But I do not think it at all likely that the Court would strike down modifications in constitutional conventions such as those structuring the advice on which prime ministers base their selection of vice-regal office holders, Senators and Supreme Court justices.

Neither the contributors to this volume nor the Supreme Court of Canada make the distinction between our capital “C” Constitution to which the amending formula applies and other rules, principles and practices of our small “c” constitutional system. That distinction is crucial to appreciating the capacity of Canada’s constitution to evolve and adapt. That said, Constitutional Amendment in Canada provides interesting food for thought on the limits of constitutional growth through formal Constitutional amendment.

Peter Russell
Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science,
University of Toronto


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Peter Russell

Constitutional Amendment in Canada, sous la direction d’Emmett Macfarlane, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 2016, 337 pages

Le Canada dispose d’un système très complexe pour modifier sa Constitution écrite, qui a valeur officielle. Ce recueil d’essais, publié sous la direction d’Emmett Macfarlane, est un guide fort utile pour en comprendre les subtilités.

Cette complexité serait-elle un cas d’exceptionnalisme canadien? Aucun des auteurs ne tente de répondre à cette question. Pour ma part, j’ai l’impression que la complexité de ce que l’on appelle communément la « formule » de modification témoigne du caractère central qu’occupe l’accommodement dans la culture constitutionnelle du Canada. L’expression « trouver un juste équilibre », employée par Macfarlane dans son introduction, rend bien l’idée. Le chapitre d’introduction de Nadia Verrelli nous explique comment cette formule a évolué au cours de son périple de 115 ans pour devenir cet ensemble définitif de règles adoptées dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, qui a modifié la Constitution pour en permettre le rapatriement.

La formule de modification constitutionnelle, appelée procédure, est énoncée à la partie V de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Cette partie énonce d’abord la « procédure normale », qui exige l’adoption de résolutions par les deux Chambres du Parlement et par des assemblées législatives d’au moins deux tiers des provinces (sept sur dix) dont la population représente au moins 50 % de la population canadienne. Une fois le nombre de résolutions requises adoptées, la Constitution est modifiée par proclamation du gouverneur général.

Cette procédure semble assez simple tant qu’on n’a pas examiné les conditions qui s’y rapportent. Une province en désaccord peut en effet se soustraire à l’application d’une modification apportée conformément à la procédure générale si cette modification restreint sa compétence législative, ses droits ou ses privilèges. De plus, lorsqu’une modification est apportée dans les domaines de l’éducation ou de la culture, la province qui se soustrait à son application a droit à une compensation financière. Une autre disposition de la formule dresse la liste des modifications aux institutions fédérales ou à la structure de la fédération, dont la création de provinces, auxquelles la possibilité de se soustraire ne s’applique pas.

La procédure normale, qui a fait l’objet de nombreuses négociations constitutionnelles au fil des ans, n’a été utilisée qu’une seule fois dans le cadre de la Proclamation de 1983 modifiant la Constitution. Cette proclamation a apporté deux ajouts à la reconnaissance des droits ancestraux et issus de traités des peuples autochtones prévus par l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 : l’un pour confirmer que les accords sur des revendications territoriales sont des traités, et l’autre pour que les droits des peuples autochtones garantis par la Constitution s’appliquent également aux hommes et aux femmes. Seul le Québec a rejeté la modification. Mais il ne s’y est pas soustrait (et ne pouvait probablement pas le faire).

En plus de la procédure normale, la formule définit quatre autres moyens de modifier la Constitution. L’un de ces moyens est la règle du consentement unanime applicable à certaines questions pour lesquelles toute modification doit être autorisée par des résolutions de l’ensemble des provinces. Au titre des questions pouvant être modifiées ainsi, il y a la formule en elle-même, la « charge » de Reine, celle de gouverneur général et celle de lieutenant-gouverneur, la règle garantissant aux petites provinces d’avoir à la Chambre des communes un nombre de députés au moins égal à celui des sénateurs qui les représentent, et la composition de la Cour suprême du Canada. Il va de soi que cette règle n’a jamais été utilisée.

Nous passons enfin aux trois dispositions de la formule de modification à la base de pratiquement toutes les modifications constitutionnelles apportées depuis le rapatriement, à savoir les articles 43, 44 et 45. De toute évidence, les exceptions à la procédure normale sont devenues la règle. L’article 43 prévoit que les dispositions de la Constitution du Canada applicables à certaines provinces seulement peuvent être modifiées par le Parlement et les assemblées législatives des provinces concernées. Au titre de l’article 44, les modifications aux dispositions relatives à la Chambre des communes, au Sénat et au « pouvoir exécutif fédéral » peuvent être apportées simplement par une loi fédérale. L’article 45 habilite de façon similaire une assemblée législative provinciale à modifier la constitution de sa province. La présentation et l’analyse des modifications du genre dans les divers chapitres du recueil de Macfarlane sont de précieuses contributions pour les constitutionnalistes.

Dwight Newman désigne l’article 43 comme la formule de modification bilatérale. Les sept fois où l’on a eu recours à cette procédure jusqu’à présent découlent toutes d’autorisations bilatérales, selon lesquelles le Parlement et une assemblée législative provinciale ont adopté les résolutions nécessaires. Cette procédure a été le plus souvent utilisée par la province de Terre-Neuve-et- Labrador : trois fois pour apporter des modifications aux dispositions visant les écoles confessionnelles dans ses conditions d’union au Canada, et une fois pour ajouter le Labrador au nom officiel de la province. Le Nouveau-Brunswick l’a utilisée pour inscrire dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés l’égalité de statut de ses communautés linguistiques anglaise et française. L’Îledu-Prince-Édouard a utilisé cette procédure pour remplacer un service de traversier par un pont en guise de lien permanent au continent prescrit par la Constitution. Le Québec s’en est servi pour renoncer à un aspect de ses droits garantis par la Constitution concernant les écoles confessionnelles afin de pouvoir restructurer son système scolaire sur une base linguistique. Newman fait valoir que cet article pourrait permettre à une province conservatrice d’inscrire des droits relatifs à la propriété dans la Constitution, ou à une province progressiste de mieux protéger les droits des Autochtones.

Comme le souligne Warren Newman, les modifications faites au titre des articles 44 et 45 sont apportées par des lois ordinaires, et non par des résolutions d’assemblées législatives suivies d’une proclamation. Il en est ainsi parce que ces dispositions de la formule de modification remplacent les dispositions 91(1) et 92(1)(1) dans la partie de la Constitution portant sur la distribution des pouvoirs législatifs. L’article 44 a été utilisé pour apporter deux modifications à l’article 51 régissant la représentation des provinces à la Chambre des communes et pour attribuer un sénateur au Nunavut. Newman souligne aussi comment le pouvoir du Parlement en ce qui concerne la paix, l’ordre et le bon gouvernement a été utilisé pour ajouter au droit constitutionnel bon nombre de lois organiques, quasi constitutionnelles, comme la Loi sur le multiculturalisme canadien et la Loi sur la clarté référendaire. Emmanuelle Richez est la seule auteure à se pencher sur les constitutions provinciales, soulignant l’intérêt grandissant manifesté par les provinces, et en particulier par le Québec, pour la consolidation des règles constitutionnelles dans un seul document cohérent.

Certains auteurs du recueil se montent beaucoup trop pessimistes devant la possibilité de faire évoluer le régime constitutionnel canadien par des moyens informels, c’est-à-dire par des lois organiques et des conventions constitutionnelles. Ils semblent effrayés par l’argumentaire présenté par la Cour suprême du Canada à propos de la procédure normale de modification dans le Renvoi relatif à la réforme du Sénat. Il faut reconnaître que la notion d’« architecture de la Constitution » employée par la Cour dans cet arrêt est loin d’être claire. Mais je crois qu’il n’y a guère de chance que la Cour invalide des modifications aux conventions constitutionnelles comme celles qui structurent l’avis sur lequel les premiers ministres se fondent pour choisir les représentants vice-royaux, les sénateurs et les juges de la Cour suprême.

Ni les auteurs de ce recueil ni la Cour suprême n’ont fait une distinction entre notre Constitution avec un « C » majuscule à laquelle la formule de modification s’applique, et les autres règles, principes et usages de notre régime constitutionnel avec un « c » minuscule. Cette distinction est pourtant essentielle pour bien comprendre la capacité du régime constitutionnel canadien d’évoluer et de s’adapter. Cela dit, Constitutional Amendment in Canada offre des éléments de réflexion intéressants sur les limites de l’évolution constitutionnelle au moyen de modifications constitutionnelles en bonne et due forme.

Peter Russell
Professeur émérite, Département de
science politique de l’Université de Toronto


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-24