Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Canada and the Commonwealth: Celebrating Shared Values
Yasmin Ratansi

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association – Canadian Branch is pleased to report on some of its recent activities and support of exciting initiatives. In this article, the author highlights CPA Canada’s support of Equal Voice’s Daughters of the Vote event and its own celebration with Commonwealth High Commissioners in honour of the 150th anniversary of Confederation.

Canada’s sesquicentennial is an important occasion for the country to reflect on its past with a view to strengthening its future. Canada has been a member of the Commonwealth family and the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) for a large part of its history. It is undeniable that membership in these two organizations has contributed to Canada’s prominent role on the world stage over the past 150 years.

With this in mind, the Canadian Branch of the CPA is participating in numerous activities this year around Parliament Hill, highlighting Canada’s long-standing relationship with the CPA and underscoring its ongoing contribution to Canada’s evolving landscape.

While the year has been especially busy and our members have participated in numerous activities, two functions stood out in particular: the Daughters of the Vote initiative, supported by CPA Canada and funded by an unprecedented investment from the Federal government exceeding one million dollars; and CPA Canada’s reception on Parliament Hill for Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation.

Daughters of the Vote

This year’s International Women’s Day coincided with the celebration of an important milestone for women’s suffrage in Canadian history: Canada’s centennial for women’s right to vote. It was in 1917 that some women first won the right to vote in Canada –first in provincial elections and later in the federal elections.

To commemorate this important day, Parliament welcomed 338 young women between the ages of 18 to 23 to represent every riding in Canada. During their time on Parliament Hill, they were given the opportunity to represent their communities in the House of Commons, where they shared their vision for Canada in the seats of their respective Members of Parliament.

The goal of the initiative was to help young women “become familiar with Canada’s political institutions and those women and men serving in them – so they are equipped and inspired to participate in the formal political sphere in the years and decades to come.”

The event was a resounding success. These future leaders finished their week on Parliament Hill with a greater network of peers who want to make a difference in their communities, and they left many parliamentarians inspired by their enthusiasm and perseverance.

This group of young women from diverse Indigenous, racial, ethnic and religious groups were a good snapshot of Canada’s cultural landscape. It was this mix of backgrounds that truly contributed to the event’s success. Some Daughters of the Vote described the historic event as powerful and emotional as they were moved by their peers who spoke to issues that touch their lives. Many of their speeches, delivered in the House of Commons, were met with standing ovations from participants and parliamentarians alike.

The Daughters of the Vote also heard from many female leaders from both Houses of Parliament, some of whom are part of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians – Canada Region. They also heard from former Prime Minister Kim Campbell and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, who fielded questions during a mock Question Period.

Looking at the diverse group of women in the House of Commons on March 8, 2017, one could not help drawing parallels between this unprecedented event and the great work of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians. Both groups are empowered by their diversity and their common understanding that equal representation is the only way forward. Though the event was a success by all measures, it was a reminder that the road to equality is still long.

CPA Canada Celebrates the 150th Anniversary of Confederation on Parliament Hill

On March 22, 2017, CPA’s Canadian Branch celebrated the 150th anniversary of Confederation on Parliament Hill. To underscore this momentous occasion, CPA Canada invited all High Commissioners in the Ottawa region for a celebratory reception.

As Chair of CPA Canada, I invited those present to begin the evening with a moment of silence for the tragic events that took place outside the Palace of Westminster in London that same day. I also expressed solidarity with the British parliamentarians whom I recently visited. There was genuine display of the Commonwealth’s strength and a moving sense of solace from the participants. As Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons, stated during his address at the reception, “in times of grief, there is consolation and reassurance to be found in gathering with your friends.”

The strength of the Commonwealth lies in its unwavering commitment to democracy. As the Clerk of Senate, Charles Robert, stated in his remarks that evening:

More than ever we must remain committed to democracy and the rule of law and work together to overcome the threats that undermine the peace and stability necessary to build a successful future for the member nations of the CPA and all its citizens. It is a goal worth striving for; it is a goal we must achieve.

While the evening was inevitably dampened by the terrible attack in London, the reason for gathering was not forgotten. Each speaker drew links between the CPA and Canada’s 150 years of Confederation. The evening’s theme was grounded in the Commonwealth countries’ shared values and principles in human rights, equal opportunity, tolerance and rule of law. These values are the foundation of democracy and what binds the Commonwealth family. As such, they are found in both the CPA’s constitution and at the core of Canada’s identity.

His Excellency Anu’a-Gheyle Solomon Azoh-Mbi, the Cameroon High Commissioner and Dean of the Commonwealth Heads of Mission, closed the official part of the reception with these moving words:

Individuals and institutions rise and fall, countries and civilisations wax and wane by the vision and values they embrace. The great Canadian nation marches on, 150 years after Confederation thanks to the values of freedom and democracy, respect for human rights, the rule of law, peace and security. These Canadian values are also Commonwealth values, defended and upheld on this Hill and in other global fora by the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

By fostering diversity within its borders, Canada distils the best out of pluralism and inclusiveness. Canada is a shining example of a society where difference and diversity need not be translated into discord and division.

In its relations with the rest of the world, Canada maintains a remarkably benign and benevolent touch. Canada, “the true North,” not only sits on top of the world; it enjoys a place of honour in the hearts of many around the world.

As Canada celebrates this important milestone, Canadians can look back with pride on their history and achievements. It is a history of palpable patriotism, progress and prosperity, though sometimes punctuated with pain and peril.

Conclusion

While Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation is not official until July 1, 2017, celebrations have already begun across the country. To underscore this historical event, members of CPA Canada have been busy planning and participating in events around Parliament Hill and in their home provinces. Since Canada has been part of the CPA from its inception, these occasions are a good opportunity to highlight the Association’s contributions to Canada’s history and vice versa.

The Daughters of the Vote initiative and CPA Canada’s reception for the 150th anniversary of Confederation are only two examples of how CPA Canada’s members are using every opportunity to shed light on the Association’s small but meaningful contributions.

Though the CPA’s work often goes unnoticed, its contributions are significant and have benefited Canadians and many other Commonwealth nations for some time. As the Association itself explains: “The CPA is recognized by Commonwealth Heads of Government and intergovernmental agencies as an organization which actually does strengthen good parliamentary governance and contributes tangibly to the development of all Commonwealth people.”


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-24

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Le Canada et Le Commonwealth: Une Célébration de Nos Valeurs Communes
Yasmin Ratansi

La Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) est heureuse de faire rapport de ses récentes activités et du soutien qu’elle apporté à des initiatives importantes. Dans le présent article, l’auteure met de l’avant l’aide fournie par la Section canadienne de l’APC dans le cadre de l’initiative relative aux Héritières du suffrage d’À voix égales et de la réception organisée avec des hauts-commissaires du Commonwealth en l’honneur du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération.

Ce moment important qu’est le 150e anniversaire du Canada est l’occasion pour le pays de réfléchir à son passé afin de garantir son avenir. Le Canada a fait partie de la famille du Commonwealth et de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) pendant une grande partie de son histoire. Il est indéniable que son appartenance à ces deux organisations a contribué au rôle éminent qu’il a joué sur la scène mondiale au cours des 150 dernières années.

La Section canadienne de l’APC participe dans cette optique à de nombreuses activités sur la Colline du Parlement cette année, soulignant ainsi la relation de longue date que le Canada entretient avec l’APC et la contribution de cette dernière au paysage changeant du Canada.

Certes, l’année a été particulièrement chargée et nos membres ont participé à de nombreuses activités, néanmoins, deux sont sorties du lot : l’initiative Héritières du suffrage, qui a joui du soutien de la Section canadienne de l’APC et d’un investissement sans précédent du gouvernement fédéral de plus d’un million de dollars, et la réception organisée par la Section canadienne de l’APC sur la Colline du Parlement en l’honneur du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada.

Héritières du Suffrage

Cette année, les célébrations de la Journée internationale de la femme ont coïncidé avec celles marquant une étape majeure pour les femmes et le droit de vote dans l’histoire canadienne, soit le centième anniversaire de l’obtention du droit de vote pour les femmes au Canada. C’est en 1917 que certaines femmes ont eu pour la première fois le droit de voter au Canada, d’abord dans des élections provinciales puis dans les élections fédérales.

Pour célébrer cette importante journée, le Parlement a accueilli 338 jeunes femmes âgées de 18 à 23 ans pour représenter toutes les circonscriptions au Canada. Pendant leur visite sur la Colline du Parlement, elles ont eu l’occasion de représenter leur collectivité à la Chambre des communes et, assises à la place de leur député respectif, ont fait part de leur vision pour le Canada.

Cette initiative visait à permettre à de jeunes femmes de « se familiariser avec les institutions politiques du pays ainsi qu’avec les femmes et hommes qui y travaillent. Ainsi, outils en main, elles seront portées à participer à la vie politique dans les années et les décennies à venir. »

Ce fut un franc succès. À la fin de leur semaine sur la Colline du Parlement, ces futures leaders disposaient d’un réseau plus vaste de pairs désireux d’améliorer la vie dans leur collectivité, et leur enthousiasme et leur détermination ont été source d’inspiration pour de nombreux parlementaires.

Ces jeunes femmes aux origines raciales, ethniques et religieuses, voire autochtones, diverses donnaient un bon aperçu du paysage culturel canadien. C’est cette diversité qui a vraiment contribué au succès de l’activité. Certaines Héritières du suffrage en ont parlé comme d’un événement historique fort et riche en émotions, touchées qu’elles étaient par leurs pairs et la description des problèmes qu’elles rencontraient dans leur vie. Bon nombre de ces allocutions prononcées à la Chambre des communes ont été accueillies par des ovations à la fois des participantes et des parlementaires.

De nombreuses leaders des deux chambres, dont certaines sont membres de la Section canadienne des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth, se sont adressées aux Héritières du suffrage, ainsi que l’ancienne première ministre Kim Campbell et le premier ministre Justin Trudeau, lequel a répondu à des questions pendant une simulation de la période des questions.

En observant le groupe hétérogène de femmes présentes à la Chambre des communes le 8 mars 2017, on ne pouvait s’empêcher de dresser des parallèles entre cette rencontre sans précédent et le formidable travail des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth. Ces deux groupes tirent leur force de leur diversité et de leur consensus selon lequel la représentation égale est la seule voie d’avenir. Même si cette initiative a été un succès à bien des égards, elle nous a rappelé que le chemin vers l’égalité est encore long.

La Section Canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth Célèbre Le 150e Anniversaire De La Confédération Sur La Colline Du Parlement

Le 22 mars 2017, la Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a célébré le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération sur la Colline du Parlement. Pour souligner cette occasion spéciale, la Section canadienne de l’APC a invité tous les hauts-commissaires de la région d’Ottawa à une réception.

En tant que présidente de la Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, j’ai d’abord invité les participants, ce soir-là, à respecter une minute de silence en mémoire des tragiques événements s’étant déroulés ce même jour près du palais de Westminster à Londres. J’ai aussi exprimé notre solidarité avec les parlementaires britanniques à qui j’ai récemment rendu visite. Les participants ont vraiment personnifié la force du Commonwealth et suscité un sentiment touchant de réconfort. Comme Geoff Regan, le Président de la Chambre des communes, l’a dit dans son discours lors de la réception, « il est réconfortant d’être entouré d’amis dans les temps difficiles ».

La force du Commonwealth repose sur son attachement inconditionnel à la démocratie. À titre de greffier du Sénat, Charles Robert a tenu ce soir-là les propos suivants :

« Nous devons défendre la démocratie et la primauté du droit plus que jamais et travailler ensemble pour résister aux menaces qui pèsent sur la paix et la stabilité nécessaires à l’édification d’un avenir prospère pour les pays membres de l’APC et tous ses citoyens. C’est un objectif qui vaut la peine de s’efforcer d’atteindre; c’est un objectif que nous devons atteindre. »

Même si la soirée a été inévitablement assombrie par le terrible attentat à Londres, sa raison d’être n’a pas été oubliée. Tous les orateurs ont établi des liens entre l’APC et les 150 ans de la Confédération canadienne. Le thème de la soirée trouvait sa source dans les valeurs et les principes partagés par les pays du Commonwealth en matière de droits de la personne, d’égalité des chances, de tolérance et de primauté du droit. Ces valeurs constituent le fondement de la démocratie et le lien qui unit le Commonwealth. On les retrouve donc dans la constitution de l’APC et au cœur de l’identité canadienne.

Son Excellence Anu’a-Gheyle Solomon Azoh-Mbi, le haut-commissaire du Cameroun et doyen des chefs de mission du Commonwealth, a mis fin à la partie officielle de la réception par ces émouvants propos :

« Les individus et les institutions connaissent ascension et chute; les pays et les civilisations s’épanouissent ou déclinent en fonction de la vision et des valeurs qu’ils embrassent. La grande nation canadienne poursuit sa marche en avant, 150 ans après les débuts de la Confédération, grâce à sa foi en la liberté, en la démocratie, en les droits de la personne, en la primauté du droit, en la paix et en la sécurité. Le Commonwealth partage aussi ces valeurs canadiennes, défendues et préservées sur cette Colline et à d’autres tribunes mondiales par l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth.

En encourageant la diversité à l’intérieur de ses frontières, le Canada y instille ce qu’il y a de mieux en matière de pluralisme et d’inclusion. C’est pourquoi le Canada est l’exemple éclatant d’une société où la différence et la diversité ne se traduisent pas par la discorde et la division.

Dans ses relations avec le reste du monde, le Canada reste remarquablement affable et bienveillant. Le Canada, “le Grand Nord”, non seulement se trouve au sommet du monde, mais en plus il occupe une place de choix dans le cœur de bon nombre d’entre nous dans le monde. »

Le Canada peut regarder avec fierté son passé et ses réalisations à l’occasion de cet important anniversaire. Son histoire est celle d’un patriotisme, d’une évolution et d’une prospérité manifestes, parfois troublée cependant par des épreuves et des crises. »

Conclusion

Même si la Confédération canadienne ne fêtera son 150e anniversaire que le 1er juillet 2017, les célébrations vont déjà bon train dans le pays. Pour marquer cet événement historique, les membres de la Section canadienne de l’APC ont organisé des activités et participé à des célébrations sur la Colline du Parlement et dans leur province d’origine. Puisque le Canada fait partie de l’APC depuis ses débuts, c’est un bon moyen de souligner les contributions de l’Association à l’histoire du Canada et vice-versa.

L’initiative des Héritières du suffrage et la réception donnée par la Section canadienne de l’APC pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération ne sont que deux exemples parmi tant d’autres illustrant la manière dont les membres de la Section canadienne de l’APC profitent de toutes les occasions pour mettre en lumière les contributions modestes mais significatives de l’Association.

Bien que le travail de l’APC passe souvent inaperçu, ses contributions sont significatives et profitent aux Canadiens et à de nombreuses autres nations du Commonwealth depuis un certain temps. Comme l’Association le dit elle-même : « Pour les chefs des organismes intergouvernementaux et des gouvernements du Commonwealth, l’Association est une organisation qui assure une saine gouvernance parlementaire et qui contribue de façon tangible au développement de toutes les populations du Commonwealth. »


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-08