Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Reading List


A selection of recent publications relating to parliamentary studies prepared with the assistance of the Library of Parliament (November 2016 - February 2017)

“Not turning out – Millennials across the rich world are failing to vote.” Economist 422 (9026): 51-2 February 4, 2017

  • Democracies are at risk if young people continue to shun the ballot box.
  • “Vote early, vote often – Why the voting age should be lowered to 16.” Economist 422 (9026): 10 February 4, 2017.

  • Young voters are becoming disillusioned with elections. Catch them early and teach them the value of democracy.
  • Chalifour, Nathalie J. “Canadian climate federalism: Parliament’s ample constitutional authority to legislate GHG emissions through regulations, a national cap and trade program or a national carbon tax.” National Journal of Constitutional Law / Revue nationale de droit constitutionnel 36 (2): 331-407, November/novembre 2016.

  • Climate change is perhaps the quintessential issue for engaging the tools of cooperative federalism and progressive interpretation of our Constitution.
  • Dodek, Adam M. “Omnibus bills: Constitutional constraints and legislative liberations.” Ottawa Law Review / Revue de droit d’Ottawa 48 (1): 1-41, 2017.

  • Ultimately, this paper concludes that in the absence of action by Parliament itself, the courts may be forced to find a way to restrict the most abusive uses of omnibus bills.
  • Edwards, Cecilia. “The Political consequences of Hansard editorial policies: the case for greater transparency.” Australasian Parliamentary Review 31 (2): 145-60, Spring/Summer 2016.

  • When discrepancies are spotted between spoken speeches and reported speeches, it is often assumed that a member has altered the record – a practice that can have serious consequences because it raises the question of whether there has been an attempt to deliberately mislead the House.
  • Everett, Michael. “A public service ombudsman: Removing the MP filter.” UK House of Commons Library - Second Reading Blog 2p., December 14, 2016.

  • One of the draft bill’s most notable features is the removal of the ‘MP filter’ – the requirement that all complaints to the existing Parliamentary Ombudsman (PO) must be made through an MP. This filter is unique to the PO.
  • Feldman, Charlie. “Legislative vehicles and formalized Charter review.” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 79-89, 2016.

  • Although parliamentarians consider the constitutionality of proposed legislation through various means, formalized review occurs only with respect to specific classes of legislation and does not mirror how courts review impugned legislation. This article compares and contrasts current parliamentary practices aimed at Charter compliance and explains where gaps exist.
  • Feldman, David. “Legislation which bears no law.” Statute Law Review 37 (3): 212-24, 2016.

  • In the United Kingdom, examples of statutory provisions which do not contain the sort of content which would normally be regarded as legally cognizable norms are multiplying. The phenomenon of non-law-bearing statutory provisions challenges the notion of legislation and endangers the psychological influence on which the success of legislation usually depends..
  • Hunter, Josh. “Renovating Canada’s constitutional architecture: an examination of the government’s democratic reform initiatives.” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 15-32, 2016.

  • This paper examines the electoral reform referenda that have been held in other Commonwealth countries and in several Canadian provinces. It will also consider whether a constitutional convention has arisen requiring any major changes to Canada’s electoral system to be approved by referendum.
  • Jennings, Sarah. “Extreme makeover.” Literary Review of Canada 25 (1): 10-13, January/February 2017.

  • Will the multibillion-dollar renovation of Parliament Hill create a vital new capital, or a spectacular members-only club?...to stand in this space is powerful, a tribute to its design architects and the many teams and dozens of subprojects on the site...
  • Kazmierski, Vincent. “Accessing with dinosaurs: Protecting access to government information in the cretaceous period of Canadian democracy.” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 57-66, 2016.

  • In many ways, our democratic institutions, processes, and frameworks resemble the dinosaurs of the Cretaceous period...They have ceased to evolve sufficiently and are being left behind in an environment where technological innovations and greater expectations for political consultation, participation, and accountability have combined to present new challenges to the legitimacy, and perhaps the viability, of the status quo…
  • Mikhaiel, Mina Mark. “The dangers of the reference question: SCC v. SCOTUS.” Canada-United States Law Journal 40: 71-83, 2016.

  • This article deals with diverging approaches to the question of a legal reference in Canada and the United States.
  • Painter, Pauline. “New kids on the block or the usual suspects?: Is public engagement with committees changing or is participation in committee inquires still dominated by a handful of organisations and academics?” Australasian Parliamentary Review 31 (2): 67-83 Spring/Summer 2016.

  • Committees play an important role in the democratic system of government in providing opportunities for groups and individuals to engage with Parliament…with the changing face of technology, new forms of participatory democracy and the rise of social change movements this article examines if this movement has had an influence on participation in committee inquiries.
  • Ponsford, Matthew P. “The law, policy, and politics of federal by-elections in Canada.” Journal of parliamentary and political law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 10 (3): 583-627, November / novembre 2016.

  • The author aims to elucidate several key aspects of laws governing federal by-elections in Canada, both in contrast and similarity to general election laws and policies…includes an examination of the role of the Chief Electoral Officer of Canada and the Speaker of the House of Commons…several examples are provided to illustrate the convenience of by-elections as pilot projects for improved general elections.
  • Purser, Pleasance. “Overseas Parliamentary News: October 2016.” New Zealand Parliamentary Library 9p.

  • Australia - Restriction on photography in Senate chambers lifted - Since 2002 the media have been able to take photographs in the chamber of the senator who has the call and is speaking, but not of anyone else. The Senate has now lifted this restriction…
  • Purser, Pleasance. “Overseas Parliamentary News: November 2016.” New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 11p.

  • Denmark – Increased penalties for attacks on people providing public service - A bill to increase respect for public life, public authorities and people in public service, including politicians, would amend the Penal Code to make it an aggravating circumstance for the purpose of sentencing if the offence had been committed in the context of the performance by the victim, or a close family member, of their official duties…
  • Purser, Pleasance. “Overseas Parliamentary News – December 2016.” New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 12p.

  • United Kingdom - Blogger given prison sentence for harassing MP - A blogger who published a series of abusive anti-Semitic postings against a Jewish MP was convicted of racially aggravated harassment and sentenced to two years imprisonment. The MP gave evidence in court that she had feared for her personal safety as she knew that what happened online did not always stay online…
  • Walters, Mark D. “Judicial review of ministerial advice to the Crown.” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 33-42, 2016.

  • How is ministerial advice to the sovereign concerning how a power ought to be exercised different from the exercise of the power itself? Does ministerial advice exist within a domain of political action beyond the reach of law? These are persistent questions in Canada.
  • Whyte, John D. “Political accountability in appointments to the Supreme Court of Canada.” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 109-18, 2016.

  • There are many issues related to the method and formal structure of a hearing process. There are also legitimate concerns about the damage that might be done to the Supreme Court or the judicial branch generally by hearings, chiefly the risk of political partisanship in the review process, which might be perpetuated through politically partisan conflict among the members of the Court…
  • Zwibel, Cara Faith. “The committee process: Platform for participation or political theatre?” Constitutional Forum / Forum constitutionnel Special Issue 25 (3): 43-55, 2016.

  • This article focuses on the role that committees of the House of Commons play in the legislative process. It also examines how committees work in practice in order to assess whether the theory of citizen engagement reflects the practical reality of how committees perform their functions...
  • Jacques-Barma, Sophie. « Un directeur parlementaire du budget pour le Québec ou comment crédibiliser le débat. » Fondation Jean-Charles-Bonenfant, National Assembly of Quebec, 40p. juin 2016.

  • The purpose of this paper is twofold: First, the paper informs the reader about the PBO’s mandate. The federal example serves as the basis for the discussion. The reasons for its creation, the tasks it performs and the challenges faced by the first PBO are examined. Second, the paper outlines the debate on establishing a PBO in Quebec and takes a position on this issue.
  • McDonald-Guimont, Julien. “La face cachée du travail de député : étude des implications de faire le saut en politique.” Fondation Jean-Charles-Bonenfant, National Assembly of Quebec, 59p. June 2016.

  • Even today, despite the unprecedented volume of information that is available and consumed, the work of a Member of the National Assembly remains deeply mysterious. Few people can claim to have spoken with their MNA, and MNAs themselves generally prefer not to expose their private lives. To fill this information gap, this paper aims to shed light on the real implications of an MNA’s work.
  • Monière, Denis. “Pour une réforme du mode de scrutin.” L’Action nationale 106 (8): 74-85, October 2016.

  • The function of the electoral system is to transform votes into seats according to formulas of varying complexity. The choice of a voting system reflects a choice of a theory of politics. Some put the principle of equal representation of political forces first, while others give priority to more stable governments.
  • St-Hilaire, Maxime. “De la compétence sur la révision du système électoral fédéral.” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 10 (3): 641-48, November / novembre 2016.

  • The Constitution, even when it is interpreted, as it should be, in a non-literal manner such that the constitutional amendment procedure it sets out applies not only to the amendment of provisions already in force, but also to the adoption of new provisions as changes to an “architecture,” and even taking into account the “unwritten principles” that fall under it, authorizes Parliament alone to amend the electoral system for the House of Commons.

  • Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
    Vol 40 no 1
    2017






    Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Nouveaux titres d’intérêt


Sélection de publications récentes sur des études parlementaires, produite en collaboration avec la Bibliothèque du Parlement (novembre 2016 à février 2017)

« Not turning out – Millennials across the rich world are failing to vote », Economist, vol. 422, no 9026, p. 51-52, 4 février 2017.

  • Si les jeunes continuent de bouder les urnes, les démocraties seront en péril.
  • « Vote early, vote often – Why the voting age should be lowered to 16 », Economist, vol. 422, no 9026, p. 10, 4 février 2017.

  • Les jeunes électeurs perdent leurs illusions face aux élections. Il faut les faire participer plus tôt, et leur enseigner la valeur de la démocratie.
  • Chalifour, Nathalie J. « Canadian climate federalism: Parliament’s ample constitutional authority to legislate GHG emissions through regulations, a national cap and trade program or a national carbon tax », National Journal of Constitutional Law/Revue nationale de droit constitutionnel, vol. 36, no 2, p. 331-407, novembre 2016.

  • Les changements climatiques représentent peut-être l’enjeu par excellence pour mettre à profit les outils du fédéralisme coopératif et une interprétation progressiste de notre Constitution.
  • Dodek, Adam M. « Omnibus bills: Constitutional constraints and legislative liberations », Ottawa Law Review/Revue de droit d’Ottawa, vol 48, no 1, p. 1-41, 2017.

  • Enfin, l’article conclut en affirmant qu’en l’absence d’action de la part du Parlement lui-même, les tribunaux seront peut-être forcés de trouver une façon de restreindre les recours les plus abusifs à des projets de loi omnibus.
  • Edwards, Cecilia. « The Political consequences of Hansard editorial policies: the case for greater transparency », Australasian Parliamentary Review, vol. 31, no 2, p. 145-60, printemps/été 2016.

  • Lorsque l’on décèle des différences entre les propos tenus et les propos rapportés, on présume souvent qu’un député a modifié le compte rendu – une pratique pouvant avoir de graves conséquences, car il y a lieu de se demander s’il s’agit d’une tentative d’induire délibérément la Chambre en erreur.
  • Everett, Michael. « A public service ombudsman: Removing the MP filter », UK House of Commons Library – Second Reading Blog, 2 pages, 14 décembre 2016.

  • L’une des caractéristiques les plus notables du projet de loi est la suppression du « filtre du député », à savoir l’exigence selon laquelle toutes les plaintes adressées à l’ombudsman parlementaire doivent être soumises par l’entremise d’un député. Ce filtre ne s’applique qu’à l’ombudsman parlementaire.
  • Feldman, Charlie. « Legislative vehicles and formalized Charter review », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol. 25, no 3, p. 79-89, 2016.

  • S’il est vrai que les parlementaires examinent la constitutionnalité des projets de loi par divers moyens, il n’en demeure pas moins que seulement certaines catégories précises de mesures législatives font l’objet d’un examen officiel, lequel ne reflète pas la façon dont les tribunaux examinent les mesures législatives contestées. Cet article compare et met en opposition les pratiques parlementaires actuelles visant à assurer la conformité à la Charte et explique où il y a des lacunes.
  • Feldman, David. « Legislation which bears no law », Statute Law Review, vol. 37, no 3, p. 212-224, 2016.

  • Au Royaume-Uni, les exemples de dispositions législatives dont le contenu ne s’apparente aucunement à ce qui pourrait normalement être considéré comme des normes recevables en droit se multiplient. Le phénomène des dispositions législatives « sans force de loi » remet en question la notion même de loi, et met en péril l’influence psychologique dont dépend habituellement la force exécutoire des lois.
  • Hunter, Josh. « Renovating Canada’s constitutional architecture: an examination of the government’s democratic reform initiatives », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol 25, no 3, p. 15-32, 2016.

  • Dans cet article, l’auteur examine les référendums sur la réforme électorale tenus dans d’autres pays du Commonwealth et dans plusieurs provinces canadiennes. Il se demande aussi si ces référendums ont donné lieu à l’émergence d’une convention constitutionnelle exigeant que toute modification majeure apportée au système électoral canadien soit approuvée par voie référendaire.
  • Jennings, Sarah. « Extreme makeover », Literary Review of Canada, vol. 25, no 1, p. 10-13, janvier/février 2017.

  • Les projets de plusieurs milliards de dollars pour la restauration des édifices de la Colline du Parlement vont-ils créer une nouvelle capitale absolument vitale ou un spectaculaire club privé? Se tenir dans le site qui formera le siège du gouvernement laisse une profonde impression. Il rend hommage à ses architectes initiaux ainsi qu’aux nombreuses équipes qui s’y affairent et aux dizaines de sous-projets qui s’y concrétisent.
  • Kazmierski, Vincent. « Accessing with dinosaurs: Protecting access to government information in the cretaceous period of Canadian democracy », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol. 25, no 3, p. 57-66, 2016.

  • Nos institutions, processus et cadres démocratiques ressemblent, à bien des égards, aux dinosaures du crétacé… Incapables d’évoluer suffisamment, ils traînent de l’arrière dans un milieu où les innovations technologiques et les attentes accrues en matière de consultation, de participation et de responsabilité politique posent de nouveaux défis à la légitimité, et peut-être même à la viabilité du statu quo.
  • Mikhaiel, Mina Mark. « The dangers of the reference question: SCC v. SCOTUS », Canada-United States Law Journal, vol. 40, p. 71-83, 2016.

  • Cet article porte sur les approches divergentes adoptées par le Canada et les États-Unis à légard des renvois.
  • Painter, Pauline. « New kids on the block or the usual suspects?: Is public engagement with committees changing or is participation in committee inquires still dominated by a handful of organisations and academics? », Australasian Parliamentary Review, vol. 31, no 2, p. 67-83, printemps/été 2016.

  • Les comités jouent un rôle important dans un régime démocratique, car ils donnent l’occasion à des groupes et à des particuliers de participer aux activités parlementaires […] Considérant l’évolution des technologies, les nouvelles formes de démocratie participative et l’émergence des mouvements pour le progrès social, cet article tente de déterminer si ces changements ont eu une influence sur la participation aux études menées par les comités.
  • Ponsford, Matthew P. « The law, policy, and politics of federal by-elections in Canada », Journal of parliamentary and political law/Revue de droit parlementaire et politique, vol. 10, no 3, p. 583-627, novembre 2016.

  • L’auteur tente d’élucider plusieurs aspects clés des lois régissant les élections partielles fédérales au Canada en faisant ressortir à la fois les contrastes et les similitudes de ces lois par rapport aux politiques et aux lois applicables aux élections générales. [L’auteur se penche notamment sur] le rôle du directeur général des élections et du Président de la Chambre des communes […] Plusieurs exemples sont fournis pour illustrer le caractère pratique de se servir des élections partielles pour mener des projets pilotes en vue d’améliorer les élections générales.
  • Purser, Pleasance. « Overseas Parliamentary News: October 2016 », New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 9 pages.

  • Australie – Levée de la restriction visant les photographies dans la Chambre du Sénat – Depuis 2002, dans l’enceinte de la Chambre, les médias étaient autorisés à prendre en photo le sénateur ayant la parole, mais personne d’autre. Le Sénat a maintenant levé cette restriction […]
  • Purser, Pleasance. « Overseas Parliamentary News: November 2016 », New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 11 pages.

  • Danemark – Durcissement des peines pour les attaques contre les personnes offrant des services publics – Un projet de loi visant à accroître le respect à l’égard de la vie publique, des autorités publiques et des personnes au service de la population, dont les politiciens, modifierait le code criminel danois afin d’exiger du tribunal qu’il considère comme circonstance aggravante pour la détermination de la peine le fait que l’infraction à l’endroit de la victime, ou d’un proche parent, soi commise dans un contexte où la victime s’acquitte de ses fonctions officielles.
  • Purser, Pleasance. « Overseas Parliamentary News: December 2016 », New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 12 pages.

  • Royaume-Uni – Un blogueur condamné à une peine d’emprisonnement pour avoir harcelé une députée – Un blogueur qui a publié une série de textes abusifs et antisémites visant une députée juive a été reconnu coupable de harcèlement grave à caractère racial, puis condamné à deux ans d’emprisonnement. Lors de son témoignage devant le tribunal, la députée a précisé avoir des craintes pour sa sécurité et être consciente que ce qui se passe en ligne ne reste pas toujours en ligne […]
  • Walters, Mark D. « Judicial review of ministerial advice to the Crown », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol. 25, no 3, p. 33-42, 2016.

  • En quoi la recommandation du premier ministre à la Couronne quant à la façon d’exercer un pouvoir diffère-t-elle de l’exercice du pouvoir comme tel? La recommandation du premier ministre existe-t-elle dans un domaine qui échappe à la portée de la loi? Ces questions reviennent constamment au Canada.
  • Whyte, John D. « Political accountability in appointments to the Supreme Court of Canada », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol. 25, no 3, p. 109-118, 2016.

  • De nombreuses questions touchent la méthode employée pour le processus d’audience des candidats proposés pour siéger à la Cour suprême et sa structure officielle. Il y a aussi des préoccupations légitimes quant aux torts pouvant être causés à la Cour suprême et à la magistrature en général par les audiences, surtout par le risque de partisanerie politique dans le processus d’examen, qui peut se traduire en conflits partisans entre les membres de la Cour […]
  • Zwibel, Cara Faith. « The committee process: Platform for participation or political theatre? », Constitutional Forum/Forum constitutionnel, édition spéciale, vol. 25, no 3, p. 43-55, 2016.

  • Cet article se penche sur le rôle des comités de la Chambre des communes dans le processus législatif. Il examine aussi le fonctionnement des comités dans la pratique afin d’évaluer si la théorie de la participation citoyenne cadre avec la réalité concrète des comités dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
  • Jacques-Barma, Sophie. « Un directeur parlementaire du budget pour le Québec ou comment crédibiliser le débat », Fondation Jean-Charles-Bonenfant, Assemblée nationale du Québec, 40 pages, juin 2016.

  • Cet essai aspire à un double objectif : dans un premier temps, éclairer le lecteur en ce qui a trait au mandat d’un DPB. Le cas du fédéral sert ici de fondement. Les raisons qui ont mené à la création du poste, les tâches qui y sont associées et les difficultés rencontrées par le premier DPB sont discutées. Dans un deuxième temps, il s’agit de présenter le débat concernant la possibilité d’un DPB au Québec et de prendre position face à cette question.
  • McDonald-Guimont, Julien. « La face cachée du travail de député : étude des implications de faire le saut en politique », Fondation Jean-Charles-Bonenfant, Assemblée nationale du Québec, 59 pages, juin 2016.

  • Encore aujourd’hui, malgré le volume inégalé d’informations disponible et consommé, le travail de député en demeure un des plus mystérieux. Rares sont les personnes pouvant prétendre avoir déjà discuté avec leur député et ces derniers préfèrent généralement ne pas exposer leur vie personnelle au grand jour. Afin de pallier ce manque d’informations, cet essai a été rédigé dans le but de mettre en lumière les implications véritables du travail de député.
  • Monière, Denis. « Pour une réforme du mode de scrutin », L’Action nationale, vol. 106, no 8, p. 74-85, octobre 2016.

  • La fonction du mode de scrutin est de transformer les votes en siège selon des formules plus ou moins complexes. Le choix d’un mode de scrutin reflète le choix d’une conception de la vie politique. Certains privilégient le principe de l’équité de la représentation des forces politiques alors que d’autres favorisent une plus grande stabilité gouvernementale.
  • St-Hilaire, Maxime. « De la compétence sur la révision du système électoral fédéral », Journal of parliamentary and political law/Revue de droit parlementaire et politique, vol. 10, no 3, p. 641-648, novembre 2016.

  • La loi suprême, même lorsque interprétée, comme il se doit, d’une manière non littérale selon laquelle la procédure de modification constitutionnelle qu’elle prévoit ne s’applique pas qu’à la modification de dispositions en vigueur mais aussi à l’adoption de dispositions nouvelles en tant que modification d’une « architecture », et même encore en tenant compte des « principes non écrits » qui la complètent, autorise le Parlement fédéral à revoir seul le système électoral de la Chambre des communes.

  • Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
    Vol 40 no 1
    2017






    Dernière mise à jour : 2017-06-23