Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Democratic Renewal on Prince Edward Island
Jordan Brown

Canada’s smallest province is well-known for its high voter turnout. This tradition of strong engagement in the democratic process makes it a particularly interesting site for introspection about forms of democratic renewal. In this article, the author, who serves as chair of the Special Committee on Democratic Renewal, provides the context and outlines the history leading to PEI’s most recent examination of its electoral system, which culminated in a plebiscite held from October 29 to November 7, 2016. *This article was written in August 2016.

The Government of Prince Edward Island recently indicated in its 2015 Speech from The Throne that it was committed to “initiate and support a thorough and comprehensive examination of ways in which to strengthen our electoral system, our representation, and the role and function of the Legislative Assembly.” Government also prepared and disseminated the White Paper on Democratic Renewal (the “White Paper”), in the most recent sitting of the Legislature. As the title would imply, the White Paper is a discussion paper surrounding democratic reform on Prince Edward Island, relating, in particular, to our voting method; the number and distribution of seats in our Legislative Assembly; and, opportunities to enhance election laws and representation in the Legislative Assembly.

On July 9, 2015, the Legislative Assembly unanimously resolved that a five person Special Committee of the Legislative Assembly be created to guide public engagement and make recommendations in response to the White Paper on Democratic Renewal. It is my privilege to have been named Chair of that Special Committee. In that capacity, let me provide some context to the task at hand, particularly as it pertains to the manner in which we vote, and to delineate some of the issues and challenges faced by the Committee.

Context

By virtue of a general election culminating on May 4, 2015, when 82.22 per cent of eligible voters cast a ballot, 27 Members of Prince Edward Island’s Legislative Assembly were elected via a first past the post system, to represent, and govern, the 146,000 constituents that comprise Canada’s smallest province.

Liberal MLAs formed a majority government, with 18 seats; the Progressive Conservatives (PCs) were elected in eight ridings; and, for the first time in the Island’s history, a Green MLA, party leader, Dr. Peter Bevan-Baker, was elected, and his party given Official Party status. This result was based on a popular vote breakdown of 40.8 per cent for the Liberals, 37.4 per cent for the PCs, 11 per cent for the New Democratic Party (NDP), and 10.8 per cent for the Green Party, respectively. Of 27 MLAs, only five are female and one is Acadian (a historically identifiable culture on P.E.I.). There are not any visible or cultural minorities represented amongst the elected members (despite there being a relatively large contingent of Aboriginal Islanders, and relatively recent Immigrants). Further, three of the recently elected MLAs are in their mid-30s, with the balance ranging in age from their mid-40s to early 70s.

The fact that 82.22 per cent of the electorate voted in 2015 is a testament to the high importance Islanders place in our provincial democracy. In part, I believe this is due to a general willingness to constantly examine our democratic processes – and take action when it is deemed beneficial.

Although the 2015 election resulted in a strong parliamentary opposition and arguably the most balanced legislature the province has seen in some time, pundits, politicians, and others felt there was a need to consider other, more representative, methods of electing the Island’s representatives. Of the 27 members elected, most did not receive a majority of votes cast in their district. Moreover, at least three ridings were decided by a margin of one per cent or less (mine having been one of them, with a difference of only 22 votes between the PC candidate and myself, following a recount). And, one district was ultimately decided by a coin toss, following a tie and after a recount. With all of the major parties making democratic reform a platform issue, it is no surprise that the election result fueled further calls to consider democratic reform anew.

Recent History of Democratic Reform on P.E.I.

I would be remiss not to mention that this is not the first time electoral reform has been considered on Prince Edward Island. In fact, in November of 2005 a plebiscite was held asking Islanders: “Should Prince Edward Island change to the Mixed Member Proportional System as presented by the Commission on PEI’s Electoral Future?” Roughly one third of eligible voters voted in the plebiscite. Of those that voted 36.4 per cent voted “Yes” in favor of the proposed Mixed Member Proportional System, and 63.6 per cent voted “No”.

There have been three subsequent general elections. In 2007 the governing Progressive Conservative party was ousted by a Liberal government then led by Robert Ghiz. The Liberals won 23 of the 27 seats, with the remaining four going to the PCs. The Liberals took 52.9 per cent of the popular vote, and the PCs 41.4 per cent, with the Greens taking approximately 3 per cent and the NDP approximately 2 per cent.

In 2011 the governing Liberals lost one seat to the PCs, taking 51.4 per cent and 40.2 per cent of the vote, respectively. The Greens and NDP each increased their share of the popular vote by approximately one per cent. Perhaps the most notable statistic to Islanders was that voter turnout fell to 76.4 per cent, which was the lowest voter turnout since Elections PEI began recording voter turnout in 1966.

Five of the last seven elections on Prince Edward Island have resulted in similarly lopsided breakdowns. Of these, two have resulted in a single member opposition.

Anecdotally, a number of voters, particularly in the youth demographic, have indicated they perceive a lack of suitable choices and feel that their vote doesn’t matter. For these reasons and others, democratic reform has once again become an issue of relative importance to Islanders. It would be trite to say things have changed since the 2005 plebiscite. However, it wouldn’t likely come as a surprise to note that many Islanders have questioned whether there is any real prospect of a renewed attempt at democratic reform resulting in a different outcome than did the 2005 effort.

Pre-Plebiscite History of Democratic Reform on P.E.I.

Prince Edward Island’s history of electoral reform by many standards is extensive and hard fought. Formal governance on the Island dates back to 1769 when the Island was declared a colony of British North America. By the mid-1770s the Island’s legislature consisted of a Governor, appointed Executive and Legislative Councils and a popularly elected House of Representatives, later known as the House of Assembly. Initially only Protestant males were allowed to vote; Catholics won the franchise in 1830. In 1851, after a decade-long fight by a group known as the reformers, responsible government was bestowed upon the Island. Government was to be accountable to the elected House of Assembly. In 1862 the Legislative Council became an elected body, though only those with at least £100 in freehold or leasehold property were permitted a vote.

Since joining Canada, as a Province, in 1873, a number of democratic and institutional reforms have occurred. Among the reforms:

  • A secret ballot was introduced in 1877, repealed in 1879, and permanently reinstituted in 1913;
  • The two houses of the Legislature were merged into a 30-member unicameral Legislative Assembly in 1893. Each district elected a Councilor, using a property requirement for male electors, and an Assemblyman by universal male suffrage. The dual-member riding system was unique and the property distinction between Councilor and Assemblyman introduced a perception of “two-classes” of MLAs even though there powers as MLA were equal;
  • The franchise was extended to some women in 1922 and to Aboriginal Islanders in 1963;
  • The property requirement for Councilor electors was eliminated in 1964;
  • The size of the Legislature was increased to 32 when two seats were added in the Charlottetown area prior to the 1966 election; and,
  • The voting age was reduced to 18 years prior to the 1970 election.

Aside from splitting the riding of Charlottetown into two separate ridings in the 1960s, there was little alteration to the electoral districts themselves since the 1873 reforms and disparity in the number of electors per district grew. In 1974, an Electoral Boundaries Committee and Sub Committee of the Legislative Assembly were established. Recommendations flowing from the committee process, including a redistribution of electoral ridings, failed to be adopted.

In 1991, island resident Donald MacKinnon took matters into his own hands by filing an application in the Province’s Supreme Court seeking a declaration that certain sections of the Elections Act should be repealed. His application argued they were contrary to section 3 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which guarantees every Canadian Citizen the right to vote. The sections were alleged to permit a variance in the number of electors per district resulting in disproportionate representation, which the Electoral Boundaries Committee had previously recommended be addressed.

MacKinnon’s application was based on the Supreme Court of British Columbia’s decision in Dixon v. British Columbia (Attorney General), (1989) 59 D.L.R. 4th 247., wherein Chief Justice Beverly McLachlin stated:

The historical development of voting rights in Canada and the view taken of such rights in other democracies leads inexorably to the conclusion that relative equality of voting power is fundamental to the right to vote enshrined in section 3 of the Charter. In fact, it may be seen as the dominant principle underlining our system of representational democracy.

At the same time, absolute equality of voting power has never been required in Canada. It has been recognized since Confederation that some degree of deviation is permissible where other considerations so require.

She went on to say that it would be up to the legislature to determine the extent of the allowable deviation, within the confines of the principles inherent in the Charter.

MacKinnon’s application was ultimately successful, prompting the institution of a further Electoral Boundaries Commission, in 1994. The Commission recommended that the Island be represented by 27 single-member districts. After much debate, and amendment to the boundaries of the 27 districts, the recommendation was enacted. This prompted a further court challenge by many of the Island’s incorporated municipalities, who felt that the new system allowed for disproportionately large representation of the Island’s rural constituents. Following appeal the application was denied hearing by the Supreme Court of Canada.

During the process of its work, the Electoral Boundaries Commission received submissions on mixed-member proportional representation (MMPR). The Commission went on to address them in its 1994 report; the authors indicated, in essence, that the possibility required a great deal of further study before it could be addressed intelligently, particularly as the system had not been widely adopted.

The next time the Electoral Boundaries Commission was engaged in 2000, the global landscape had changed. New Zealand very publicly adopted a form of MMPR in 1994 and Scotland and Wales adopted Additional Members’ Systems when they achieved sovereignty in the late 90s. The Commission went on to recommend that the possibility of an MMPR system be studied in further detail.

This recommendation led to the institution of the 2003 Electoral Reform Commission. Led by former Chief Justice of the Province Norman Carruthers, the Commission’s report was delivered after seven public meetings and a number of submissions from the public and experts. It recommended that a further commission be established to engage and educate the public with respect to the potential options, and to refine a question for a referendum. Justice Carruthers proposed an MMPR system, based on one used in New Zealand. It would include 21 members elected by district, and 10 further members elected from lists to balance the result according to the proportional vote.

The 2005 Commission on PEI’s Electoral Future, which was comprised of eight nominated members of the public, set out on a broad campaign of engagement, holding 12 public meetings across the Island, and participating in as many as 20 more. The Commission also undertook an extensive promotion and advertising campaign. Although the plebiscite resulted in a “No” vote, the Commission felt that the public had been much more engaged and educated on the topic than when it began its work.

Recognizing the previous efforts of citizens, litigants, committees and commissions with respect to democratic reform, and the result of the most recent plebiscite, our committee must appreciate that it has a number of important tasks: to educate its members and Islanders about the various possibilities; to engage and solicit input from Islanders; and, to be open-minded and prepared to listen to what Islanders are saying to us. Did Islanders vote “No” in 2005 because they did not want change or because they did not favor the particular option presented?

That said, there is great comfort drawn from high voter turnouts on the Island. Taken in isolation from other factors, the willingness of Islanders to participate is an indication of a highly engaged population. In part, this may be due to their willingness to constantly re-examine their electoral system.

The current examination of our electoral system is another phase in that democratic tradition. Once again, it is likely that our current exercise will provoke a lively and constructive debate over the Island’s democratic evolution. Recognizing that we are not starting from a blank slate, it is also my hope, and I believe the hope of our committee, that the progression through this process will be sufficiently educational, open, and engaging to allow for the preparation of a plebiscite question which may simultaneously gauge the appetite for and set the course of future democratic reform on Prince Edward Island.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-07-05

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Renouvellement démocratique à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Jordan Brown

La plus petite province du Canada est réputée pour son taux élevé de participation électorale. Cette tradition d’engagement actif dans le processus démocratique en fait un endroit particulièrement intéressant pour réfléchir à différentes formes de renouvellement démocratique. Dans cet article, l’auteur, qui préside le Comité spécial sur le renouvellement de la démocratie, expose le contexte et l’histoire de l’examen auquel s’est livré l’Î.-P.-É au sujet de son système électoral et qui s’est terminé par un plébiscite tenu du 29 octobre au 7 novembre 2016. *Cet article a été rédigé en août 2016.

Dans son discours du Trône de 2015, le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard s’est engagé à « instaurer et soutenir un examen approfondi et complet des moyens de renforcer notre système électoral, notre représentation, ainsi que le rôle et le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée législative ». Le gouvernement a aussi produit le Livre blanc sur le renouvellement démocratique (le « livre blanc ») qu’il a rendu public à la dernière séance de l’Assemblée législative. Comme le titre le laisse entendre, le livre blanc est un document de travail sur la réforme démocratique à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui porte principalement sur le mode de scrutin, le nombre et la répartition des sièges à l’Assemblée législative et les possibilités d’améliorer les lois électorales et la représentation à l’Assemblée législative.

Le 9 juillet 2015, l’Assemblée législative a convenu à l’unanimité de créer un comité spécial de l’Assemblée législative formé de cinq membres pour encadrer la participation des citoyens et formuler des recommandations en réponse au Livre blanc sur le renouvellement démocratique. J’ai le privilège de présider ce comité spécial. À ce titre, permettez-moi de mettre en contexte la tâche qui nous incombe, surtout en ce qui concerne notre mode de scrutin, et de délimiter certains des enjeux auxquels le comité fait face.

Contexte

Dans le cadre de l’élection générale du 4 mai 2015, 82,22 % des électeurs admissibles ont élu à l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, selon le système uninominal majoritaire à un tour, 27 députés chargés de représenter et de gouverner les 146 000 habitants de la plus petite province canadienne.

Les députés libéraux, avec 18 sièges, ont formé un gouvernement majoritaire; les progressistes-conservateurs (PC) ont remporté huit circonscriptions et, pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’Île, un député vert, le Dr Peter Bevan-Baker, qui est le chef de son parti, a été élu et son parti a reçu le statut de parti officiel. Les libéraux ont obtenu 40,8 % du vote populaire contre 37,4 % pour les PC, 11 % pour les néo-démocrates et 10,8 % pour les verts. Parmi les 27 députés, seulement cinq sont des femmes et un est d’origine acadienne (une culture historiquement identifiable sur l’Île). Les élus ne comptent aucun membre d’une minorité visible ou culturelle (malgré les nombreux Autochtones de l’Île et les immigrants relativement récents). De plus, trois des députés récemment élus sont dans la mi-trentaine et les autres se trouvent entre la mi-quarantaine et le début de la soixante-dizaine.

Le fait que 82,22 % de l’électorat a voté en 2015 témoigne de la grande importance que les insulaires accordent à la démocratie provinciale. À mon avis, cela est attribuable en partie à notre volonté constante d’examiner nos processus démocratiques et de prendre des mesures lorsque cela est jugé utile.

Même si les résultats des élections de 2015 ont donné lieu à une solide opposition parlementaire et, vraisemblablement, à la législature la plus équilibrée depuis un bon moment, il convient, selon les experts, les politiciens et d’autres intervenants, d’examiner d’autres méthodes plus représentatives pour élire les représentants de l’Île. La plupart des 27 députés élus n’ont pas obtenu une majorité de votes dans leur circonscription. De plus, dans au moins trois circonscriptions les gagnants ont remporté par une marge d’un pour cent ou moins des votes (dans ma circonscription, seulement 22 votes me séparaient du candidat PC, après un recomptage). Dans une circonscription, même après un recomptage, le gagnant a été décidé par un tirage à pile ou face pour briser l’égalité. Étant donné que tous les grands partis ont parlé de la réforme démocratique dans leur plateforme, il n’est pas surprenant que les résultats des élections aient suscité encore plus d’intérêt pour examiner à nouveau une réforme démocratique.

Histoire récente de la réforme démocratique à l’Î.-P.-É.

Je m’en voudrais de ne pas mentionner que ce n’est pas la première fois que la réforme électorale fait l’objet d’un examen à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. En fait, en novembre 2005, les insulaires ont dû répondre à la question suivante dans le cadre d’un plébiscite : « L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard doit-elle adopter le système mixte de représentation proportionnelle proposé par la Commission sur l’avenir électoral de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard? » Environ le tiers des électeurs admissibles ont participé au plébiscite. Parmi ceux qui ont voté, 36,4 % ont voté « oui », soit en faveur du système mixte de représentation proportionnelle, et 63,6 % ont voté « non ».

Il y a eu trois autres élections générales depuis. En 2007, le parti progressiste-conservateur qui était au pouvoir a été évincé par les libéraux dirigés par Robert Ghiz. Les libéraux ont gagné 23 des 27 sièges, et les quatre autres sièges ont été remportés par les PC. Les libéraux ont obtenu 52,9 % du vote populaire contre 41,4 % pour les PC, environ 3 % pour les verts et environ 2 % pour les néo-démocrates.

En 2011, les libéraux au pouvoir ont perdu un siège au profit des PC. Ils ont eu 51,4 % du vote populaire contre 40,2 % pour les PC. Les verts et les néo-démocrates ont augmenté leur part du vote populaire d’environ 1 % chacun. La statistique la plus remarquable pour les insulaires toutefois était que le taux de participation est tombé à 76,4 %, soit le taux le plus faible depuis qu’Élections Î.-P.-É. a commencé à consigner les taux de participation électoraux en 1966.

Cinq des sept dernières élections à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont donné des résultats aussi déséquilibrés. Deux élections ont même donné lieu à une opposition qui ne comptait qu’un seul membre.

Certains électeurs, principalement chez les jeunes, sont d’avis qu’il manque de choix convenables et que leur vote ne compte pas. Pour ces raisons, entre autres, les insulaires s’intéressent à nouveau à la réforme démocratique. Il serait banal de dire que les choses ont changé depuis le plébiscite de 2005. Cependant, personne ne s’étonnera que de nombreux insulaires se demandent s’il est vraiment possible qu’une autre tentative de réforme démocratique aboutisse à un résultat différent de l’exercice mené en 2005.

Histoire de la réforme démocratique à l’Î.-P.-É. avant le plébiscite

À bien des égards, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a en matière de réforme électorale une longue histoire qui comporte des luttes ardues. La gouvernance officielle de l’Île remonte à 1769 quand elle obtient le statut de colonie de l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Vers le milieu des années 1770, la législature comprend le gouverneur, des conseils exécutif et législatif nommés et une Chambre des représentants élus, qui sera connue plus tard sous le nom de Chambre d’assemblée. À l’origine, seulement les hommes protestants peuvent voter; les hommes catholiques obtiennent le droit de vote en 1830. En 1851, après une lutte de dix ans menée par un groupe de réformistes, l’Île obtient un gouvernement responsable. Le gouvernement doit alors rendre compte à la Chambre d’assemblée élue. En 1862, le Conseil législatif devient électif, mais seuls ceux qui possèdent une propriété franche ou une propriété à bail d’une valeur d’au moins 100 £ ont le droit de voter.

Depuis que l’Île est devenue une province du Canada, en 1873, différentes réformes démocratiques et institutionnelles ont eu lieu, notamment :

Le vote par scrutin secret est introduit en 1877, supprimé en 1879 et rétabli de façon permanente en 1913;

Les deux chambres de la législature sont fusionnées en une Assemblée législative unicamérale de 30 membres en 1893. Chaque circonscription a, au Conseil législatif, un député élu par les hommes qui possèdent une propriété et, à l’Assemblée, un député élu au suffrage universel masculin. Ce système de circonscription binominale était unique et la distinction établie sur le plan de la propriété entre le député au Conseil législatif et le député à l’Assemblée a introduit la perception qu’il existait « deux classes » de députés même s’ils avaient les mêmes pouvoirs;

Le droit de vote est accordé à certaines femmes en 1922 et aux Autochtones de l’Île en 1963;

L’exigence de posséder une propriété pour les électeurs des députés au Conseil est éliminée en 1964;

Deux sièges sont ajoutés dans la région de Charlottetown avant les élections de 1966, ce qui fait passer le nombre de sièges à 32;

L’âge minimal pour voter est abaissé à 18 ans avant les élections de 1970.

Outre le fait que la circonscription de Charlottetown a été scindée en deux dans les années 1960, peu de changements ont été apportés aux districts électoraux depuis les réformes de 1873 et la disparité n’a cessé d’augmenter entre les districts en ce qui concerne le nombre d’électeurs qui s’y trouvent. En 1974, une Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales et une sous-commission de l’Assemblée législative ont été mises sur pied. Les recommandations formulées dans ce processus, y compris le redécoupage des circonscriptions électorales, n’ont pas été adoptées.

En 1991, Donald MacKinnon, un résident de l’Île, a décidé de prendre les choses en main en déposant à la Cour suprême de la province une demande visant l’abrogation de certains articles de la Elections Act. Dans sa demande, il a fait valoir que ces articles allaient à l’encontre de l’article 3 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui garantit à chaque Canadien le droit de vote. Ces articles permettraient un écart dans le nombre d’électeurs par circonscription qui donne lieu à une représentation disproportionnée. La Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales avait recommandé qu’on redresse cette situation.

La demande de M. MacKinnon s’appuyait sur la décision de la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique dans Dixon c. British Columbia (Attorney General), (1989) 59 D.L.R. 4th 247, dans laquelle la juge en chef Beverly McLachlin a déclaré :

L’évolution du droit de vote au Canada et l’application de ce droit dans d’autres démocraties mènent inexorablement à la conclusion que l’égalité relative du pouvoir électoral est fondamentale pour le droit de vote garanti à l’article 3 de la Charte. En fait, elle peut être considérée comme le principe dominant à la base de notre système de démocratie représentationnelle.

Par ailleurs, l’égalité absolue du pouvoir électoral n’a jamais été exigée au Canada. Il est reconnu depuis la Confédération qu’un certain écart est permis lorsque d’autres considérations le requièrent.

Elle a ajouté qu’il incomberait à la législature de déterminer l’ampleur de l’écart admissible, selon les principes établis dans la Charte.

La demande de M. MacKinnon a fini par porter fruit puisqu’elle a entraîné la création d’une autre Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales en 1994. Cette commission a recommandé que l’Île soit représentée par 27 circonscriptions uninominales. Après un long débat et après avoir retracé les limites des 27 circonscriptions, la recommandation a été adoptée. De nombreuses municipalités constituées qui étaient d’avis que le nouveau système permettait une représentation disproportionnellement élevée des électeurs des circonscriptions rurales ont alors présenté une autre demande de contestation judiciaire. Après l’appel, la Cour suprême du Canada a refusé d’entendre la demande.

Durant ses travaux, la Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales a reçu des mémoires sur le système de représentation proportionnelle mixte (SRPM). La Commission a abordé ces mémoires dans son rapport de 1994. Les auteurs ont alors indiqué, en gros, que d’autres études étaient nécessaires avant que cette option puisse être envisagée adéquatement, étant donné que ce système n’avait pas été adopté à grande échelle.

Quand la Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales a repris du service en 2000, bien des choses avaient changé dans le monde. La Nouvelle-Zélande avait adopté très publiquement une forme de SRPM en 1994, et l’Écosse et le pays de Galles avaient aussi adopté un système de membres additionnels à la fin des années 1990. La Commission a donc recommandé d’étudier plus en détail la possibilité d’adopter un SRPM.

Cette recommandation a mené à la création de la Commission sur la réforme électorale de 2003. Sous la direction de l’ancien juge en chef de la province, Norman Carruthers, la Commission a produit son rapport après avoir tenu sept séances publiques et examiné un certain nombre de mémoires soumis par des membres du public et des experts. Elle a recommandé la création d’une autre commission pour mobiliser et sensibiliser les gens au sujet des différentes options et pour rédiger une question en vue d’un référendum. Le juge Carruthers a proposé un SRPM basé sur celui de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Ce système comprendrait 21 députés élus par circonscription et 10 autres députés élus à partir de listes pour équilibrer les résultats en fonction du vote proportionnel.

La Commission sur l’avenir électoral de l’Î.-P.-É. de 2005, qui se composait de huit membres du public qui avaient été nommés, a lancé une vaste campagne de mobilisation. Elle a tenu 12 assemblées publiques dans la province et participé à une vingtaine d’autres. La Commission a aussi mené une vaste campagne de promotion et de publicité. Même si les gens ont voté « non » au plébiscite, la Commission était d’avis que la population avait participé davantage et qu’elle était plus renseignée sur la question qu’avant ses travaux.

Compte tenu des efforts déjà déployés par les citoyens, les plaideurs, les comités et les commissions en ce qui concerne la réforme démocratique et des résultats du plus récent plébiscite, notre comité est conscient des tâches importantes qu’il doit accomplir : il doit renseigner les membres et les insulaires au sujet des différentes possibilités; il doit mobiliser les insulaires et obtenir leurs points de vue; il doit être ouvert et prêt à écouter ce que disent les insulaires. Les insulaires ont-ils voté « non » en 2005 parce qu’ils ne voulaient pas de changement ou parce qu’ils n’étaient pas en faveur de l’option présentée?

Cela dit, le comité peut faire fond sur le taux élevé de participation électorale de l’Île. Prise isolément, la volonté des insulaires de participer témoigne de leur profond engagement. Cela peut s’expliquer, en partie, par leur volonté de constamment réexaminer leur système électoral.

L’examen actuel de notre système électoral constitue une autre phase de cette tradition démocratique. Il est probable, encore une fois, que l’exercice en cours provoque des discussions animées et constructives sur l’évolution démocratique de l’Île. Comme nous ne commençons pas nos travaux de zéro, j’ai bon espoir, et je crois que c’est également le cas du comité, que ce processus sera suffisamment instructif, ouvert et mobilisant pour permettre la rédaction d’une question de plébiscite qui pourra jauger l’intérêt pour une réforme démocratique à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en tracer la voie.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03