Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Dimitry Anastakis

The Global Promise of Federalism, edited by Grace Skogstad, David Cameron, Martin Papillon and Keith Banting, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 2013, 312pp.

Though its title does not indicate as such, the Global Promise of Federalism is a well-deserved Festschrift for political scientist Richard Simeon, the distinguished scholar of Canadian and broader federalisms. Simeon, whose career coincided with the great challenge to Canadian federalism represented by the nationalist and separatist impulses in Quebec, the rise of the New West, and the mega-constitutional politics from the 1970s to the early 1990s resulting in the Charter, patriation and failed Meech Lake and Charlottetown Accords, has been a keen scholar, advocate and critic of federalism for nearly 50 years.

Indeed, during this period, at a time when the study of Canada seemed to have existential implications, Simeon produced from his perch at Queen’s, and then the University of Toronto, a steady stream of important and ground-breaking works, not the least of which were a series of studies for the 1985 Macdonald Royal Commission. Simeon also played a key role in the “comparative turn” in Canadian political science starting in the 1990s, wherein that discipline’s scholarship took a much more expansive and global approach in its methodology and focus.

As a collection on federalism, this book is a useful and practical contribution. The introduction is a thoughtful overview of some ofthe key issues that have shaped Simeon’s scholarship and driven the field in recent years: the “chicken and egg” debate over societal values vis-à-vis founding institutions as a key determinant for a federation’s causation; the question of the importance of democracy and trust within a polity as a basis for whether or not federalism can root itself successfully; and, of course, federalism’s capacity to evolve over time.

Many of these themes are reflected, and expounded, upon in the collection’s 10 chapters, all of which are very good. Topics touch upon a broad range of fields and issues, from federalism and democracy, and theology and identity, to case studies on Cyprus, Spain and comparative Canadian-Australian federalism. A highlight is Alain Noel’s forceful argument about the importance of politics, ideology, identities and majority/minority relations within a federation; here, we have a sharp reminder that the often messy politics of a place needs to be “brought back into” studies of the state and federalism, and that the bloodless mechanisms of federalism are often shaped by people. Using the Quebec-Canada example, Noel’s chapter acts as a sobering reminder of federalism’s limitations.

The global perspective within the collection echoes not only Simeon’s academic evolution, but that of the broader Canadian discipline, and speaks to the importance that Canadian scholars and practitioners of federalism, such as Simeon himself, have played in international debates and the evolution of federations around the world. This shift in focus is also present when one thinks of the collection as a Festschrift; a very interesting addendum by Simeon himself, “Reflections on a Federalist Life,” personalizes some of his thinking as his scholarship (and some of his political views) evolved, and is both provocative and informative. Simeon’s comments on “public engagement” and his role in the Meech Lake Accord remind readers that the scholar can be an activist as well. The anecdotes, stories, and, yes, even limericks contained in this addendum reveal a man of humour and commitment, and it is easy to see why so many scholars – both from Canada and abroad – were part of this tribute.

With a shift in so many disciplines in both the social sciences and humanities away from the study of Canada (though not away from Canadian-taxpayer supported funding), larger questions about the policy implications of no longer focusing solely upon Canada are salient. The broader question such a book asks, is: Where to now? Questions around Canadian federalism will continue to remain central to the evolution of this nation state, but with the retirement of so many giants of Canadian political science (along with Simeon, Peter Russell and Alan Cairns come to mind), is the discipline up to the task of exploring not only the global promise of federalism but federalism’s ongoing evolution, right here at home? This collection, whose editors and contributors are ably taking up the task, suggests that the discipline, and the study of federalism – in all its forms and spaces – is indeed in good hands.

Dimitry Anastakis
Professor (History), Trent University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 3
2014






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Dimitry Anastakis

The Global Promise of Federalism, publié sous la direction de Grace Skogstad, David Cameron, Martin Papillon et Keith Banting, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 2013, 312 p.

Bien que son titre ne l’indique pas, The Global Promise of Federalism est un Festschrift bien mérité pour le politologue Richard Simeon, expert éminent des fédéralismes canadien et autres. Simeon, dont la carrière a coïncidé avec le grand défi posé au fédéralisme canadien par les pulsions nationalistes et séparatistes du Québec, la montée en puissance de l’Ouest nouveau, et les méga-crises constitutionnelles des années 1970 jusqu’au début des années 1990 qui ont débouché sur la Charte, le rapatriement et les échecs des accords du lac Meech et de Charlottetown, a été un observateur attentif, un héraut et un critique du fédéralisme pendant près de 50 ans.

De fait, durant cette période et à une époque où l’étude du Canada semblait avoir des implications existentielles, Simeon a produit de son perchoir de Queen’s puis de l’Université de Toronto un flux soutenu d’ouvrages importants et originaux, dont la célèbre série d’études pour la Commission royale McDonald de 1985. Il a aussi joué un rôle clé dans le « tournant comparatif » de la science politique canadienne qui a débuté dans les années 1990, lorsque les études de cette discipline ont pris une approche beaucoup plus expansive et plus globale quant à leur méthodologie et leur focalisation.

En tant que collection d’études sur le fédéralisme, cet ouvrage représente une contribution utile et pratique. L’introduction est un aperçu réfléchi de certains des problèmes clés qui ont formé la réflexion de Simeon et caractérisé ce champ d’études ces dernières années : le débat « de l’œuf et de la poule sur les valeurs sociétales par opposition aux institutions fondatrices comme déterminant clé de la création d’une fédération; la question de l’importance de la démocratie et de la confiance au sein d’une société pour savoir si le fédéralisme peut ou non s’y enraciner avec succès; et, bien sûr, la capacité du fédéralisme à évoluer dans le temps.

Bon nombre de ces thèmes sont repris et développés dans les 10 chapitres de la collection, qui sont tous très bons. Les sujets touchent un large éventail de domaines et de questions, allant du fédéralisme et de la démocratie, de la théologie et de l’identité, jusqu’aux cas particuliers de Chypre, de l’Espagne et du fédéralisme comparé CanadaAustralie. L’un des points saillants de l’ouvrage est l’argument vigoureux d’Alain Noël sur l’importance de la politique, de l’idéologie, des identités et des relations majorité/minorité à l’intérieur d’une fédération. Nous avons ici un rappel percutant du fait qu’il faut « éintégrer au » des études de l’État et du fédéralisme la politique souvent embrouillée du lieu considéré, et que les mécanismes sans effusion de sang du fédéralisme sont souvent modelés par les gens. En prenant l’exemple Québec-Canada, le chapitre de Noël agit comme un rappel fort utile des limites du fédéralisme.

La perspective globale de cette collection fait écho non seulement à l’évolution académique de Simeon mais aussi à celle de la discipline canadienne dans son ensemble, et elle témoigne du rôle que les universitaires et praticiens canadiens du fédéralisme, comme Simeon lui-même, ont joué dans les débats internationaux et dans l’évolution de diverses fédérations dans le monde. Ce changement de point focal est également présent quand on interprète cette collection comme un Festschrift; un addendum très intéressant de Simeon lui-même, « Reflections on a Federalist Life », personnalise l’évolution de sa réflexion à mesure que sa pensée a changé (tout comme certaines de ses opinions politiques), et c’est à la fois provocateur et éclairant. Ses commentaires sur « l’engagement public » et son rôle dans l’Accord du lac Meech rappellent au lecteur que le penseur peut aussi être homme d’action. Les anecdotes, les histoires et, oui, même les limericks contenus dans cet addendum révèlent quelqu’un qui a de l’humour et qui peut s’engager, et il est facile de voir pourquoi tant d’universitaires — du Canada et de l’étranger — ont tenu à participer à cet hommage.

Alors que tant de disciplines, autant des sciences sociales que des sciences humaines, se sont éloignées de l’étude du Canada (mais pas de l’argent fourni par le contribuable canadien), des questions plus profondes sur les conséquences qu’aura sur les politiques publiques le fait de ne plus se concentrer seulement sur le Canada méritent d’être posées. La question plus générale que pose un tel ouvrage est celle-ci : Et on fait quoi maintenant? Les questions touchant le fédéralisme canadien continueront d’occuper une place centrale dans l’évolution de cet État-nation mais, avec le départ à la retraite d’un si grand nombre de géants des sciences politiques canadiennes (avec Simeon, les noms de Peter Russell et d’Alan Cairns viennent à l’esprit), la discipline est-elle à la hauteur de la tâche d’explorer non seulement la promesse globale du fédéralisme mais son évolution ici même, chez nous? Cette collection, dont les essayistes et les rédacteurs en chef relèvent avec brio le défi, permet de penser que la discipline, et l’étude du fédéralisme ;— sous toutes ses formes et dans ses lieux — sont effectivement entre bonnes mains.

Dimitry Anastakis
Professeur (Histoire), Université Trent


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 3
2014






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15