Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Marc-André Roy

Gaston Deschênes, L’Affaire Michaud: Chronique d’une exécution parlementaire, Septentrion, Québec, 2010.

Ten years after the incident occurred, Gaston Deschênes, a former research director at the Quebec National Assembly, recounts what is now known as the Michaud Affair. On December 14, 2000, in a move that many people later described as impulsive, the National Assembly unanimously adopted a motion denouncing Yves Michaud for making “unacceptable statements toward ethnic communities and, in particular, the Jewish community” in a speech at the Estates General on the French language in Montreal. The motion, unprecedented in a Westminster-style legislature, sparked a flurry of media coverage and ignited a debate that continues to this day over the legitimacy of the National Assembly’s actions. The author leads us through the years that followed the incident, a period in which Mr. Michaud constantly sought reparation for what he considered to be a grave injustice against him.

Deschênes begins by recounting the events which unfolded on December 14, 2000. In response to a question from Jean Charest, then Leader of the Opposition, Premier Lucien Bouchard stood in the National Assembly and condemned comments made by a candidate for the Parti Québécois nomination in the riding of Mercier, Yves Michaud, and announced that all government members would be voting for a motion of censure put forward by a Liberal member and seconded by a PQ member. Later that day, the National Assembly gave the unanimous consent needed to debate the issue without prior notice, and without due consideration, the motion was put to a vote and immediately adopted. No one raised an eyebrow, but the author expresses the view that the motion [TRANSLATION] “would not have survived 24 hours of consideration, which is the normal procedure for a substantive motion in the National Assembly” (30).

But what exactly are these “unacceptable statements”? After giving a brief biography of Yves Michaud – a fervent advocate of sovereignty and formerly a member of the National Assembly and Quebec’s delegate-general in Paris – Deschênes endeavours to locate the “anti-Semitic” comments he allegedly made. It quickly becomes clear that no parliamentarian appears to have heard Mr. Michaud’s speech and that the official transcript made no mention of anti-Semitic remarks. The author traces the paths taken by Michaud’s political enemies and tries to understand how Michaud’s message could have been altered in the hours following his speech. It seems that there was no agreement on exactly what he said, and the answer to that question will remain a mystery.

The author follows with a detailed account of Michaud’s reaction – he first wanted MNAs to hear him out – and the reactions of other players on the political stage. Many prominent figures, among them former Quebec premier Jacques Parizeau, signed an open letter denouncing the National Assembly’s unprecedented act, which he viewed as being out of line with its mission. The situation quickly degenerated into a crisis that primarily affected Lucien Bouchard, who steadfastly defended his actions. A number of Parti Québécois MNAs subsequently tried to repair the damage Michaud caused, but they ran into dissent within the caucus and, after the 2003 election, a majority Liberal government that wanted the subject to remain closed.

Much of the book focuses on Michaud’s demands for reparation. His first step was to approach the National Assembly with a petition that was tabled by a PQ member in accordance with section 21 of Quebec’s Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. In that petition, he demanded to be heard. He was denied the opportunity; likewise for a second petition tabled in December 2001. Proposed amendments to the rules of procedure aimed at prohibiting the adoption of motions of censure against a person other than a member of the legislature, except in the case of a breach of the National Assembly’s privileges, were introduced by the government but never made it beyond the parliamentary committee stage.

When there was no response from politicians, Michaud filed a lawsuit against the National Assembly. He asked the Superior Court to acknowledge that the National Assembly exceeded its powers. Deschênes then discusses the state of the law on the issue and the response from the Superior Court and, later, the Court of Appeal. Michaud’s request was denied by both courts. The judges found that the privileges claimed by the National Assembly in this instance, namely MNAs’ freedom of speech and the Assembly’s control over its internal affairs, extended to the adoption of the type of motion in question. There was nothing the court could do: “Parliamentarians do not meddle in trials, and judges do not meddle in parliamentary debates” (p. 193). The Court of Appeal’s decision was essentially the same, although Justice Beaudoin did acknowledge the injustice that had been committed but added that the law could not help. Finally, the Supreme Court refused to hear the case.

The author concludes on a rather bitter note. He points out that 10 years after the fact and even though many politicians have expressed regret over the adoption of the motion, nothing has been resolved and there is still a great deal of ambiguity regarding the circumstances that led to the censure. Yves Michaud has still not received satisfaction in his quest for an apology from the National Assembly. Deschênes goes on to discuss at some length the messages this affair sends regarding the existence and exercise of parliamentary privilege, stating that is in their interest for parliamentarians to define privilege more clearly and limit its use. In his view, the lack of reform and the use of privilege as a weapon against the public is at odds with human rights and could at some point be used by the courts as a pretext for greater intervention on their part.

If one thing is to be learned from this book, it is that adopting this type of motion of censure against a private citizen is an unusual and undesirable use of parliamentary privilege. Gaston Deschênes rightly questions the legitimacy of the MNAs’ actions. It seems clear that condemning individuals in circumstances of this sort violates the principles of natural justice, in particular audi alteram partem, the right to be heard. It is perfectly reasonable to ask if a legislature’s role is to make determinations on matters like this and condemn individual citizens for their remarks.

The purpose of parliamentary privilege is to give legislative assemblies the tools they need to carry out effectively their duty to enact laws and hold the government to account. In New Brunswick Broadcasting Co. v. Nova Scotia, (Speaker of the House of Assembly) the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Antonio Lamer, identified the source of parliamentary privilege: “In essence, it was a struggle for independence as between the different branches of government” (p. 36). In that case, the majority found that some “inherent” privileges have constitutional status and therefore cannot be challenged under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms or the Quebec Charter. Once a privilege has been recognized by the courts, the use of that privilege is left to the absolute discretion of parliamentarians. As both the author and Michaud point, adopting a motion of censure against a member of the public is a use of parliamentary privilege that goes against its purpose. It would not be surprising, if other similar abuses were to occur, to see the courts limiting the scope of parliamentary privilege. The Michaud affair illustrates the urgent need for parliamentarians to define more clearly and set parameters for their privileges and prevent this type of abuse from happening again.

There is a very real possibility of the courts taking a more interventionist approach to parliamentary privilege in cases like Michaud’s. The possibility is even greater when one considers the National Assembly’s rationale, namely that there was no specific rule against this type of motion. That excuse is weak, and the courts are generally reluctant to allow such abuse. As Deschênes notes, in Canada (House of Commons) v. Vaid, the Supreme Court refused to broaden the scope of parliamentary privilege in order to protect the House of Commons from being sued in connection with a case of discrimination against a former driver of the Speaker. And in Harvey v. New Brunswick (Attorney General), Justice McLachlin addressed the relationship between the Charter and privilege. In concurring reasons, she wrote in paragraph 71, “To prevent abuses cloaked in the guise of privilege from trumping legitimate Charter interests, the courts must inquire into the legitimacy of a claim of parliamentary privilege.” This creates an opening that the courts could possibly to use to limit parliamentary privilege in order to prevent abuse by legislative assemblies.

Marc-André Roy
Student at Law
McGill University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 34 no 3
2011






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Marc-André Roy

Gaston Deschênes, L’Affaire Michaud : Chronique d’une exécution parlementaire, Septentrion, Québec, 2010.

Dix ans après les évènements, Gaston Deschênes, ancien cadre à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, trace le récit de ce qui est maintenant connu comme l’Affaire Michaud. C’est le 14 décembre 2000 que l’Assemblée nationale, dans un geste que beaucoup ont, par la suite, qualifié d’impulsif, a adopté, à l’unanimité, une motion condamnant Yves Michaud pour des « propos inacceptables à l’égard des communautés ethniques et, en particulier, à l’égard de la communauté juive » tenus lors d’une audience des États généraux sur le français à Montréal. Ce geste, sans précédent dans une assemblée législative de tradition britannique, fit couler beaucoup d’encre et lança un débat encore non résolu sur la légitimité de ce genre d’action par l’Assemblée nationale. Au fil des pages, l’auteur nous guide à travers les années qui ont suivi cet évènement, période durant laquelle Michaud fut en quête constante de réparation pour ce qu’il considère comme étant une grave injustice à son égard.

Tout d’abord, Deschênes raconte le déroulement de cette journée du 14 décembre 2000. C’est à la suite d’une question de Jean Charest, alors chef de l’opposition, que le premier ministre Lucien Bouchard condamne en Chambre les propos d’un candidat à l’investiture péquiste dans la circonscription de Mercier, Yves Michaud. Il annonce que toute la députation ministérielle votera en faveur d’une motion de blâme proposée par un député libéral et appuyée par un péquiste.

Plus tard cette journée-là, la Chambre donne le consentement unanime requis pour débattre de la question sans préavis et, sans réflexion, la motion est mise aux voix et adoptée sur-le-champ. Personne n’a soulevé de doute, alors que l’auteur est d’avis que cette motion « n’aurait pas survécu à 24 heures de réflexions, soit la procédure normale pour toute motion de fond à l’Assemblée nationale » (p. 30).

Mais quels sont ces « propos inacceptables » au juste? Après avoir dressé une brève biographie d’Yves Michaud, militant souverainiste convaincu, ancien député et délégué général du Québec à Paris, Deschênes tente de retrouver ces propos « antisémites » qu’il aurait prononcés. On se rend compte rapidement qu’il semble qu’aucun parlementaire n’avait pris connaissance du discours de Michaud et que la transcription officielle ne faisait pas mention de propos antisémites. L’auteur nous entraine sur les pistes des ennemis politiques de Michaud et tente de comprendre comment le message de ce dernier a pu être transformé au cours des heures qui ont suivi son discours. Il semble que personne ne peut s’entendre sur la teneur exacte de ce qu’il a dit et que la réponse à cette question demeurera un mystère.

L’auteur détaille ensuite la réaction de Michaud, qui demande d’abord à être entendu par les députés, ainsi que celles d’autres acteurs du monde politique. De nombreuses personnalités, dont l’ancien premier ministre du Québec, Jacques Parizeau, signent une lettre ouverte condamnant le geste sans précédent perpétré par l’Assemblée nationale, qu’ils considèrent comme un détournement de sa mission. La situation se dégrade rapidement en crise qui affecte principalement Lucien Bouchard, qui s’entête toujours à défendre son geste. Par la suite, plusieurs élus du Parti Québécois tentent de réparer les torts causés à Michaud, mais se heurtent à des dissensions internes, puis, après l’élection de 2003, à un gouvernement majoritaire libéral ne souhaitant pas rouvrir l’affaire.

Une bonne partie de l’ouvrage se concentre sur les demandes de réparations de la part de Michaud. Celui-ci s’adresse d’abord à l’Assemblée nationale sous la forme d’une pétition, qui est déposée par un député péquiste conformément à l’article 21 de la Charte québécoise des droits et libertés de la personne. Dans cette pétition, il demande à être entendu. Cette requête n’est pas acceptée; il en est de même pour une seconde pétition présentée en décembre 2001. Des propositions de modification au Règlement, visant à interdire l’adoption de motions de blâme à l’encontre d’une personne autre qu’un député, sauf en cas d’atteinte aux privilèges de l’Assemblée, sont ensuite déposées par le parti ministériel. Elles ne franchiront jamais l’étape de la commission parlementaire.

Voyant l’absence de réponse de la part des politiciens, Michaud poursuit l’Assemblée nationale devant les tribunaux. Il demande à la Cour supérieure de reconnaitre que l’Assemblée nationale a outrepassé ses pouvoirs. Deschênes fait alors une présentation de l’état du droit sur la question et de la réponse de la Cour supérieure, puis de celle de la Cour d’appel. La requête de Michaud est rejetée par les deux instances. Les juges concluent que les privilèges revendiqués par l’Assemblée nationale dans cette affaire, soit la liberté de parole des députés ainsi que le contrôle de l’Assemblée sur ses affaires internes, s’étendent à l’adoption de ce type de motion. La Cour ne peut donc rien faire : « les parlementaires ne se mêlent pas des procès et les juges n’interviennent pas dans les débats parlementaires » (p. 193). La décision est sensiblement la même en Cour d’appel, sauf pour le juge Beaudoin, qui reconnaît l’injustice commise tout en indiquant que le droit n’est d’aucun secours. Finalement, la Cour suprême refuse d’entendre l’affaire.

L’auteur conclut sur une note plutôt amère. Il note que, dix ans après les faits, et malgré que de nombreux politiciens aient exprimé des regrets relativement à l’adoption de cette motion, rien n’a été réglé et beaucoup d’ambigüité demeure sur les circonstances ayant mené à ce blâme. La quête d’Yves Michaud pour des excuses de la part de l’Assemblée nationale demeure toujours sans réponse positive.

Deschênes s’attarde ensuite sur une réflexion quant aux signaux qu’envoie cette affaire sur l’existence et l’exercice des privilèges parlementaires, affirmant que les parlementaires auraient tout intérêt à mieux les définir et à restreindre leur exercice. Selon lui, l’absence de réformes et l’utilisation des privilèges comme arme contre les citoyens vont à l’encontre des droits de la personne et pourraient éventuellement servir de prétexte aux tribunaux pour justifier une attitude plus interventionniste de leur part.

Si l’on peut retenir une chose de cet essai, c’est que l’adoption d’une telle motion de blâme à l’encontre d’un citoyen constitue un exercice irrégulier et peu souhaitable des privilèges parlementaires. Gaston Deschênes met en doute, avec raison, la légitimité de ce geste posé par les députés québécois. La condamnation de citoyens dans ce genre de circonstances semble clairement se faire sans respect pour les principes de justice naturelle, notamment la règle audi alteram partem, le droit d’être entendu. On peut d’ailleurs légitimement se demander si c’est le rôle d’une assemblée législative de se prononcer sur ce genre de question et de condamner de simples citoyens pour leurs propos.

Les privilèges parlementaires ont pour objectif de donner aux assemblées législatives les outils nécessaires pour accomplir de façon utile leur fonction d’adopter des lois ainsi que pour faire rendre des comptes au gouvernement. Dans l’affaire New Brunswick Broadcasting Co. c. Nouvelle-Écosse (Président de l’Assemblée législative), le juge en chef de la Cour suprême, Antonio Lamer, indique que les privilèges sont issus « essentiellement d’une lutte pour l’indépendance entre les différentes branches du gouvernement » (p. 36). Dans cette affaire, la majorité a déclaré que certains privilèges, dits inhérents, ont un statut constitutionnel et sont, par conséquent, à l’abri d’une contestation fondée sur la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ou sur la Charte québécoise. Une fois un privilège reconnu par les tribunaux, l’exercice de ce dernier est laissé à la discrétion absolue des parlementaires. Or, comme l’indiquent l’auteur ainsi que Michaud, l’adoption d’une motion de blâme contre un citoyen constitue un exercice des privilèges parlementaires qui va à l’encontre de leur objectif. Il ne serait pas surprenant, si d’autres abus du genre devaient se reproduire, de voir les tribunaux restreindre la portée de ces privilèges. L’affaire Michaud constitue une démonstration du besoin pressant pour les parlementaires de mieux définir et encadrer leurs privilèges ainsi que d’éviter ce genre d’abus à l’avenir.

La possibilité de voir les tribunaux adopter une attitude plus interventionniste à l’égard des privilèges parlementaires dans des cas comme celui de Michaud est d’ailleurs très réaliste. Elle l’est encore plus si l’on s’attarde à la justification de l’Assemblée nationale, soit qu’il n’existait pas d’interdiction explicite relativement à ce genre de motion. Cette excuse est faible et les tribunaux sont généralement réticents à permettre ce genre d’abus. Comme le mentionne Deschênes, la Cour suprême dans l’affaire Canada (Chambre des communes) c. Vaid a refusé d’étendre la portée des privilèges de façon à protéger la Chambre des communes de poursuites relativement à une affaire de discrimination envers un ancien chauffeur du président. De plus, la juge McLachlin, dans l’affaire Harvey c. Nouveau-Brunswick (Procureur général), traite de la relation qui existe entre la Charte et les privilèges. Dans des motifs concordants, elle affirme que « [p]our éviter que des abus sous le couvert d’un privilège éclipsent des droits légitimes garantis par la Charte, les tribunaux doivent examiner la légitimité d’une revendication de privilège parlementaire ». (par. 71). Il existe donc une brèche qui serait susceptible d’être exploitée par les tribunaux et qui leur permettrait de restreindre les privilèges parlementaires afin de contrer d’éventuels abus de la part des assemblées législatives.

Marc-André Roy
Étudiant en droit
Faculté de droit, Université McGill


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 34 no 3
2011






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15