Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker in Québec

In January 13, 2009 Yvon Vallières was elected Speaker of the Québec National Assembly. He was born in Danville (Richmond) on February 5, 1949 and educated at the Université de Sherbrooke. He was a teacher at Saint-Hubert, Asbestos, Danville and Valcourt (1970-1972 and 1976-1981) and also an Education consultant in the Taillon School District from 1972-1973.

He was first elected as the member for Richmond in the general election held on October 29, 1973 and re-elected in 1981, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1998, 2003, 2007 and 2009. Over the years he has held a number of parliamentary positions including Opposition critic for mining, highways, agriculture, regional development.

He has served as Chief Government Whip on two occasions and is also a former Chair of Caucus. He has been Chair of the Committee on Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

He was elected Speaker by acclamation.

Canadian Presiding Officers Conference

The 26th meeting of the Canadian Presiding Officers took place in Regina, Saskatchewan from January 22-25, 2009.

The host of the Conference was Speaker Don Toth of Saskatchewan. Other Speakers in attendance included Peter Milliken (House of Commons), Roy Boudreau (New Brunswick), Roger Fitzgerald (Newfoundland and Labrador), George Hickes (Manitoba), Paul Delroy (Northwest Territories) Alfie MacLeod (Nova Scotia), Kathleen Casey (Prince Edward Island) and Ted Staffen (Yukon).

A number of Deputy Speakers also attended including Wayne Cao (Alberta), Katherine Whittred (British Columbia), Andrew Scheer (House of Commons), Bonnie Korzeniowski (Manitoba), Bill Fraser (New Brunswick), Thomas Osborne and Felix Collins (Newfoundland and Labrador), Bruce Crozier and Jim Wilson (Ontario), Steve Nordick (Yukon), Paula Biggar (Prince Edward Island), François Gendron (Québec), Greg Brkich and Tim McMillan (Saskatchewan).

The conference was opened by Speaker Toth who welcomed the visiting Speakers and delegates to Saskatchewan.

The first business session was on Parliamentary Broadcasts – Is it Time to Level the Playing Field? and featured a presentation by Gregory Putz, Clerk of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly and Darcy Hislop, Chief Technology Officer.

Speaker Milliken presented a paper in the second session on the Challenges of Special Sittings. The third session was a Roundtable with three former Saskatchewan Speakers Glenn Hagel, Myron Kowalsky and Arnold Tusa.

Speaker MacLeod gave a presentation on Notices of Motions at the fourth session and the final session was on Committee Reform in Alberta with a presentation by the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, David McNeil.

Aside from the business sessions members had an opportunity to visit the Royal Saskatchewan Museum and the RCMP Heritage Centre. Following the final business session they attended a performance by the music group Kevin Costner and Modern West. The show included original material penned by the band and cover songs written by some of music’s giants.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 1
2009






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Nouveau président au Québec

Le 13 janvier 2009, Yvon Vallières a été élu président de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Né à Danville (Richmond) le 5 février 1949, il a fait ses études à l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il a enseigné à Saint-Hubert, Asbestos, Danville et Valcourt (de 1970 à 1972 et de 1976 à 1981), en plus d’être conseiller pédagogique à la Commission scolaire Taillon en 1972 et 1973.

Il a été élu député de Richmond pour la première fois à l’élection générale du 29 octobre 1973, puis réélu en 1981, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1998, 2003, 2007 et 2009. Au fil des ans, il a occupé plusieurs fonctions parlementaires, notamment celles de porte-parole de l’opposition en matière de mines, d’autoroutes, d’agriculture et de développement régional.

Il a été whip en chef du gouvernement à deux reprises, en plus d’avoir déjà été président du caucus. Il a aussi été président du Comité de l’agriculture, des pêcheries et de l’alimentation.

Il a été élu président sans concurrent.

Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada

La 26e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada a eu lieu à Regina, en Saskatchewan, du 22 au 25 janvier 2009.

L’hôte de la Conférence était le président Don Toth de la Saskatchewan. Parmi les présidents présents, il y avait Peter Milliken (Chambre des communes), Roy Boudreau (Nouveau-Brunswick), Roger Fitzgerald (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), George Hickes (Manitoba), Paul Delroy (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) Alfie MacLeod (Nouvelle-Écosse), Kathleen Casey (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) et Ted Staffen (Yukon).

Un certain nombre de vice-présidents ont également été de la partie, notamment Wayne Cao (Alberta), Katherine Whittred (Colombie-Britannique), Andrew Scheer (Chambre des communes), Bonnie Korzeniowski (Manitoba), Bill Fraser (Nouveau-Brunswick), Thomas Osborne et Felix Collins (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), Bruce Crozier et Jim Wilson (Ontario), Steve Nordick (Yukon), Paula Biggar (Île-du-Prince-Édouard), François Gendron (Québec), Greg Brkich et Tim McMillan (Saskatchewan).

La conférence s’est ouverte sur une allocution du président Toth pour souhaiter la bienvenue en Saskatchewan aux autres présidents.

La première séance avait pour thème « Diffusion des débats parlementaires — Le temps est-il venu d’uniformiser les règles? » et comprenait un exposé de Gregory Putz, greffier de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, et de Darcy Hislop, chef de la technologie.

Le président Milliken a présenté un document dans la deuxième séance sur les défis des séances extraordinaires. La troisième session a pris la forme d’une table ronde à laquelle ont pris part trois anciens présidents de la Saskatchewan : Glenn Hagel, Myron Kowalsky et Arnold Tusa.

Le président MacLeod a fait un exposé sur les avis de motion à la quatrième séance, tandis que la dernière séance a porté sur la réforme des comités en Alberta, avec un exposé du greffier de l’Assemblée législative, David McNeil.

En plus d’assister aux séances, les membres ont pu visiter le Royal Saskatchewan Museum et le Centre du patrimoine de la GRC. Après la dernière séance, ils ont eu droit à un spectacle du groupe Kevin Costner and Modern West, qui a interprété du matériel original composé par le groupe sur des chansons écrites par des grands de la musique.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 1
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03