Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
A Note on Simultaneous Candidacies in the Québec Legislature
Jacques Carl Morin

Candidates in an election for the Québec National Assembly can choose to run in any riding, even if they have never lived in that riding or do not have an office there. However, a potential member of the National Assembly must choose a single riding, which means that simultaneous candidacies are prohibited. In other words, a candidate cannot run in more than one riding during the same general election. A look at history shows that this was not always the case. 

In 1867, with the proclamation of the British North America Act, Québec was granted its own parliamentary institutions. The first election to choose the 65 members of the new Legislative Assembly took place in August and September 1867. Nineteen candidates ran unopposed, including lawyer Edward Brock Carter in the riding of Montreal Centre. 

The First Simultaneous Candidacy 

Carter ran for re-election in the 1871 election. Nominations were held on June 30 at the Montreal courthouse in front of 300 to 400 people. Carter wrongfully assumed he would once again be re-elected by acclamation. But he did not have the right profile. In fact, the newspaper La Minerve reminds us that when Montreal Island was split into three ridings, there had been an understanding that the representative for Montreal Centre would be chosen from among the merchant class1. He was put against Liberal Luther Hamilton Holton, the former finance minister in the pre-Confederation Macdonald-Dorion government (1863-64) and owner of the newspaper The Herald. Holton had also been the member for Châteauguay in the House of Commons since 1867. At the time, representing two ridings was not prohibited. One person was allowed to run for a seat in the Legislative Assembly and the House of Commons, be elected and sit in those two parliaments. 

In the 1867 and 1871 elections, the nominations and elections were not held on the same date in all 65 ridings, and the vote was held over two days by open vote. In Montreal Centre, the vote was held on June 22 and 23. On the first day, Carter held a very small lead of one vote, which disappeared the following day. Holton, the Liberal, won by a majority of seven votes. 

Table 1: Simultaneous Candidacies in the Quebec National Assembly
Election  Candidate/Party  Riding and Result  Notes 
1871  Edward B. Carter
Cons. 
Montréal Centre Defeated
Châteauguay Defeated
 
1892  Edmund J. Flynn
Cons. 
Gaspé Elected
On June  6, 1892 he chose to represent  Gaspé 
1897  François-X. Lemieux
Lib. 
Bonaventure Elected
Lévis Elected
On November 13, 1897 he resigned both when he was appointed judge of the Superior Court of Arthabasca. 
1908  Henri Bourassa
Ligue nationaliste 
Montréal number 2 Elected
Saint-Hyacinthe Elected
On March 11, 1909, nine months after his double victory, Bourassa chose  the riding of Saint-Hyacinthe 
1908  Lomer Gouin
Lib.
Premier 
Portneuf Elected
Montreal number2 Defeated
 
1908  Louis A. Taschereau
Lib.
Minister of Labour and Public Works 
Charlevoix Defeated
Montmorency Elected
 
1912  Joseph E. Caron
Lib.
Minister of Agriculture 
L'Islet Defeated
Îles-de-la-Madeleine Elected
 
1912  Charles R. Devlin
Lib.
Minister of Colonisation, Mines and Fisheries 
Nicolet Elected
Témiscamingue Elected
On November 14, 1912 he resigned as member for Nicolet 
1912  Lomer Gouin
Lib.
Premier 
Portneuf Elected
Saint-Jean Elected
On November 14, 1912 he resigned as member for Saint-Jean 
1912  Armand Lavergne
Ligue nationaliste 
Montmagny Elected
Montmorency Defeated
 
1912  Jean B.B. Prévost
Lib. 
L'Assomption Defeated
Terrebonne Elected
 
1923  Joseph E. Perrault
Lib.
Minister of Colonisation, Mines and Fisheries 
Abitibi Elected
Arthabasca Elected
On September 27, 1923 he resigned as member for Abitibi to allow Hecter Authier, a pioneer of the region to enter the legislative assembly 
1931  Camillien Houde
Cons. 
Montréal Saint-Jacques Defeated
Montréal Sainte-Marie Defeated
 
A riding name in bold indicates that the candidate was the incumbent in that riding 

Less than one week after the upset over the former member for Montreal Centre, rumours were circulating that he would enter the race in Châteauguay2. June 30 was chosen as the nomination date. The incumbent, Dr. Édouard Laberge, was once again in the running. Carter was also forced to run again3, but was absent when it came time to register nominations in Sainte-Martine4. Dr. Laberge received the support of the federal member in the area, Luther Hamilton Holton, the same man who had defeated Carter in Montreal Centre. The vote was held on July 10 and 11. Laberge won with a significantly smaller majority compared to the previous election. That was the end of Carter’s political career in Québec; he moved to the federal stage to represent the people of Brôme. As for Holton, he was re-elected in Châteauguay in the 1872 federal election. He stepped down from his position as member for Montreal Centre in the Legislative Assembly on January 16, 1874, when representing two ridings was prohibited. 

In the end, the first attempt at a simultaneous candidacy in Québec was a double failure for the candidate—a rare outcome, as we will see. In fact, can this truly be called a simultaneous candidacy, since the candidate did not run in more than one riding at the same time? Carter would no doubt not have run in Châteauguay if he had retained his seat in Montreal Centre. 

Other Simultaneous Candidates 

Table 1 shows the other individuals who ran simultaneous candidacies over the next six decades. 

With the exception of Carter in 1871, simultaneous candidacies were used by prominent figures, premiers, party leaders, ministers, former ministers, and nationalist leaders. 

Of the thirteen simultaneous candidacies, eight were Liberals, three were Conservatives, and two were nationalists. Lomer Gouin was the only individual too run in two ridings on two occasions. Eleven of the thirteen candidates were incumbents. The other two, Flynn and Bourassa, had government experience. The former in Québec, as surplus minister, and the latter in Ottawa. 

Of the incumbents, seven retained their riding but were defeated in the second riding. Two were defeated in the riding they had represented, but won in the other. Two incumbents lost their seat and were unable to win a seat elsewhere. 

In all, six candidates won in both ridings, five won in one of the ridings, and two were defeated in both. 

Of the six candidates who won in both ridings, two decided to continue to represent the voters of the riding they had represented in the previous election, one opted for the other riding, and another resigned from both seats in order to be appointed as a judge. Of the two candidates who had not been members in the previous legislature, one (Flynn) chose a riding he had previously represented, and the other (Bourassa) chose Saint-Hyacinthe, where he had family ties, although his win there was far from convincing. 

The time period between the date of the general election and the date the candidate decided which riding he intended to represent, and the time period between the date that decision was made and the date the by-election was held to fill the vacant seat, shows that Flynn made his decision in less than three months, while Bourassa took nine months to make his choice. The subsequent by-elections were held from one month to nearly a year after the member made his choice. 

The seven by-elections necessary to fill vacancies, including the double resignation of François-Xavier Lemieux who was named to the bench, resulted with two exceptions in the victory of the party which had won the seat in the general election. 

The last person to run a simultaneous candidacy was Camillien Houde, who had been mayor of Montreal since 1928. During the 1931 general election, he announced that he would run in two ridings.5 He ran in Sainte-Marie, which he had represented since the by-election in 1928, and which he had represented from 1923 to 1927; and in Saint-Jacques, where he had been courted to run against Irénée Vautrin, who had been paying close attention to him for three years. 

If he were to win in both ridings, Houde would give his seat to a minister. Rumours were going around about fast-track negotiations that if Houde were elected in both ridings, he would give up his seat in Saint-Jacques to Ésioff Patenaude, who would also become the official protector of the interests of Lord Atholstan, head of the newspaper the Montreal Star and friend of the financiers of St. James Street and other similar large companies.6 

The great crash of 1929 and the presence of a Conservative government in Ottawa could have been beneficial to Camillien Houde and his party. The Conservative leader travelled the province and led a consistent campaign. The message went largely unnoticed; the Conservatives won 9% more votes than in 1927, but Houde fever did not catch on enough to help them gain power. The Liberals won 79 seats and the Conservatives won just 11, two more than in 1927. 

This was a failure across the board for Houde, who was defeated by 806 votes by Vautrin, and by 515 votes by Gaspard Fauteux. Houde legally contested the validity of the election in 63 ridings in Québec, on the grounds of irregularities committed by the Liberal candidates. In order to do so, he had to pay a $63,000 surety bond. The government countered by passing the Dillon Act7, which made the dispute more difficult, because it required the petitioner to pay the $1,000 surety bond using their own money. The legislation was retroactive to include disputes already underway. 

That was it for the little guy from Sainte-Marie. Houde became the first candidate to run in two ridings at the same time without winning. This failure opened the door of the leadership of the Conservative Party to Maurice LeNoblet Duplessis. 

This was also the last simultaneous candidacy in our history, since an amendment was made to prohibit them in the Election Act in 1952.8 

In the years preceding the passage of this act, simultaneous candidacies had already lost popularity. The amendment of the Election Act led to a wonderful exchange between Premier Maurice Duplessis and the leader of the official opposition.9 

Mr. Duplessis: “Another article of the legislation aims to prevent an individual from running in two ridings at once. It does not affect the absent leader (Georges-Émile Lapalme, leader of the Liberal Party since May 20, 1950) since he is afraid to run in a single one, but it affects the candidates of the Union Nationale. They are so popular that they are being courted everywhere. We are in favour of a democratic principle: ‘One man, one vote,’ and we want to be rid of this archaic legacy.” 

Mr. Marler: “I find this provision to be completely satisfactory, because I thought the premier would run in Trois-Rivières and elsewhere in order to ensure he would be elected; I see that he is giving that up.” 

Mr Duplessis: “I am in demand in all the ridings, and I can assure the leader of the opposition that if I ran in those ridings, the province would make $200 per riding. I urge the leader of the opposition to come and see for himself the effects of what he is wishing for.” 

Mr. Marler: “I accept that invitation. I will surely go to Trois-Rivières.” 

Mr. Duplessis: “You will be very welcome. And you must bring your party’s leader. My opponent will not have many votes.” 

Mr. Marler: “I am in no way worried about the results of the next election. As for this provision in the legislation, I think it is reasonable, and such a decision has already been made elsewhere, for example at the federal level in 1919.” 

One might wonder why the Québec Parliament passed this legislation when simultaneous candidacies were a thing of the past. Was it simply to harmonize its Election Act with federal legislation that prohibited this type of candidacy since 1919.10 Or simply to avoid having candidates tempted to copy what was going on in other jurisdictions by running in more than one riding? In Great Britain, simultaneous candidacies were never prohibited by law. In 1880, Charles Stewart Parnell was elected in the three ridings in Ireland where he had run. Today, these candidacies are mainly seen with fringe political parties. Indeed, during the 1992 general election, Screaming Lord Sutch, leader of the Official Monster Raving Loony Party, ran unsuccessfully in three ridings: Huntingdon, Islwyn and Yeovil. In 2005, Rainbow George Weiss of the Vote for Yourself Rainbow Dream Team ran, and was defeated, in 13 different ridings. 

Notes 

1. La Minerve, June 16, 1871. 

2. Le Journal de Québec, June 27, 1871. 

3. Le Journal de Québec, July 4, 1871. 

4. La Minerve, July 3, 1871. 

5. L’Action catholique, August 14, 1931. 

6. Camillien Houde as reported by Hector Grenon, Montréal, Stanké, 1979, p. 169. 

7. Loi modifiant la Loi des élections contestées de Québec, S.Q., 1931-1932, chap. 20. 

8. Loi modifiant la Loi électorale, S.Q., 1952, chap. 19, art. 2. 

9. Le Devoir, January 9, 1952. 

10. See the House of Commons Act 1919, Statutes of Canada, chapter 18, art. 1. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Une note sur les candidatures multiples au parlement de Québec
Jacques Carl Morin

Un candidat à une élection à l’Assemblée nationale peut choisir de se présenter dans n’importe quelle circonscription, même s’il n’y est pas domicilié ou n’y possède pas de bureau. Cependant, un prétendant à la députation ne doit choisir qu’une seule circonscription, ce qui signifie que les candidatures multiples sont prohibées. Autrement dit, un candidat ne peut se présenter à la fois dans plusieurs circonscriptions à un même scrutin général. Un retour en arrière nous démontrera qu’il n’en a pas toujours été ainsi.  

En 1867, avec la proclamation de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, le Québec retrouve ses propres institutions parlementaires. Les premières élections pour élire les 65 députés de la nouvelle Assemblée législative se déroulent en août et septembre 1867. Dix-neuf candidats sont élus sans opposition, dont l’avocat Edward Brock Carter dans la circonscription de Montréal-Centre. 

Première candidature multiple 

Edward Brock Carter tente de se faire réélire au scrutin de 1871. Les mises en candidature ont lieu le 30 juin devant le palais de justice de Montréal en présence de 300 à 400 personnes. Carter s’est trompé en croyant de nouveau être réélu sans opposition. Il n’a pas le bon profil. En effet, le journal La Minerve rappelle que, lors de la division de l’île de Montréal en trois circonscriptions, il avait été entendu que Montréal-Centre aurait un représentant choisi parmi la classe des marchands1. Or, Carter est un disciple de Thémis. On lui oppose le libéral Luther Hamilton Holton, ancien ministre des Finances dans le gouvernement de Macdonald-Dorion (1863-1864) antérieur à la Confédération et propriétaire du journal The Herald. Holton est aussi député de Châteauguay à la Chambre des communes depuis 1867. À cette époque, le double mandat n’est pas interdit; une personne peut donc faire acte de candidature pour un siège de député à l’Assemblée législative et à la Chambre des communes, être élue et siéger dans ces deux parlements. 

Aux élections générales de 1867 de même qu’à celles de 1871, les mises en candidature et les élections n’ont pas lieu à la même date pour les 65 circonscriptions et le vote se déroule sur deux jours au scrutin public. Dans Montréal-Centre, le scrutin est fixé aux 22 et 23 juin. Au terme de la première journée, Carter possède une bien mince avance d’une seule voix qui disparaît le lendemain; le libéral Holton remporte la victoire grâce à une majorité de sept voix. 

Moins d’une semaine après le revers essuyé par l’ancien député de Montréal-Centre, la rumeur court qu’il engagerait la lutte dans Châteauguay2. La date de mise en candidature est fixée au 30 juin. Le député sortant, le docteur Édouard Laberge, est de nouveau sur les rangs. Carter est lui aussi candidat, mais ce serait à son insu3. D’ailleurs, il est absent lors de l’enregistrement des candidatures à Sainte-Martine4. Le docteur Laberge reçoit l’appui du député fédéral de l’endroit, Luther Hamilton Holton, celui-là même qui a vaincu Carter dans Montréal-Centre. Le vote a lieu les 10 et 11 juillet. Laberge l’emporte avec une majorité sensiblement réduite par rapport à l’élection précédente. C’est la fin de la carrière politique de Carter à Québec; il s’en ira sur la scène fédérale représenter les électeurs de Brôme. Quant à Holton, il sera réélu dans Châteauguay au scrutin fédéral de 1872. Il démissionnera de son poste de député de Montréal-Centre à l’Assemblée législative le 16 janvier 1874 lors de l’abolition du double mandat. 

La première tentative de candidature multiple au Québec se solde donc par un double échec pour le candidat, résultat rarissime comme on le verra. En fait, peut-on proprement parler d’une candidature multiple dans la mesure où il n’y a pas eu simultanéité de candidatures dans plus d’une circonscription? Carter n’aurait sans doute pas été candidat dans Châteauguay s’il avait conservé son siège de Montréal-Centre. 

Autres candidatures multiples 

Le tableau I fait état des candidatures multiples au cours de six décennies. Ces candidatures proviennent, sauf une exception, celle de Carter en 1871, de personnalités d’envergure : premier ministre, chef de parti, ministre, ancien ministre, leader nationaliste. 

Tableau I – Candidatures multiples à l’Assemblée législative du Québec 
Élection  Candidat/parti  Circonscription et résultat  Notes 
1871  Edward B. Carter
Cons. 
Montréal-Centre Défait
Châteauguay Défait 
 
1892  Edmund J. Flynn
Cons. 
Gaspé Élu
Matane Élu 
Le 6 juin 1892, il choisit de représenter les électeurs de Gaspé. 
1897  François-Xavier Lemieux
Lib. 
Bonaventure Élu
Lévis Élu 
Le 13 novembre 1897, il démissionne comme député pour devenir juge à la Cour supérieure du district d’Arthabasca. 
1908  Henri Bourassa
Ligue nationaliste 
Montréal nº 2 Élu
Saint-Hyacinthe Élu 
Le 11 mars 1909, neuf mois après sa double victoire, il annonce qu’il opte pour le district électoral de Saint-Hyacinthe. 
1908  Lomer Gouin
Lib.
Premier ministre 
Portneuf Élu
Montréal nº 2 Défait 
 
1908  Louis A. Taschereau
Lib.
Ministre du Travail et des Travaux publics 
Charlevoix Défait
Montmorency Élu 
 
1912  Joseph E. Caron
Lib.
Ministre de l’Agriculture 
L’Islet Défait
Îles-de-la-Madeleine Élu 
 
1912  Charles R. Devlin
Lib.
Ministre de la Colonisation, des Mines et des Pêcheries 
Nicolet Élu
Témiscamingue Élu 
Le 14 novembre 1912, il démissionne comme député de Nicolet. 
1912  Lomer Gouin
Lib.
Premier ministre 
Portneuf Élu
Saint-Jean Élu 
Le 14 novembre 1912, il démissionne comme député de Saint-Jean. 
1912  Armand Lavergne
Ligue nationaliste 
Montmagny Élu
Montmorency Défait 
 
1912  Jean B.B. Prévost
Lib. 
L’Assomption Défait
Terrebonne Élu  
 
1923  Joseph E. Perrault
Lib.
Ministre de la Colonisation, des Mines et des Pêcheries 
Abitibi Élu
Arthabasca Élu 
Le 27 septembre 1923, il renonce au mandat d’Abitibi pour permettre à Hector Authier, pionnier de la région, d’entrer à l’Assemblée législative. 
1931  Camillien Houde
Cons. 
Montréal Saint-Jacques Défait
Montréal Sainte-Marie Défait 
 
Le nom de la circonscription en caractères gras indique que le candidat en était le député sortant. 

Des treize candidatures multiples, huit sont le fait de libéraux, trois de conservateurs et deux de nationalistes. Lomer Gouin est le seul à s’être présenté dans deux circonscriptions à deux reprises. Onze des treize candidats étaient des députés sortants. Les deux autres, Flynn et Bourassa, possédaient une expérience parlementaire, le premier à Québec, comme ministre au surplus, le second à Ottawa. 

Chez les députés sortants, sept ont conservé leur circonscription mais ont échoué dans l’autre où ils tentaient également de se faire élire. Deux ont subi la défaite dans la circonscription qu’ils représentaient, mais ont été victorieux dans une autre. Enfin, deux députés dont le mandat arrivait à expiration ont perdu leur siège et ont été incapables de se faire élire ailleurs. 

En tout, six candidats ont réussi un doublé, cinq ont sauvé les honneurs dans une circonscription et deux ont subi l’affront d’une double défaite. 

Des six candidats victorieux dans les deux circonscriptions où ils briguaient les suffrages, deux ont choisi de continuer à représenter les électeurs de la circonscription qui les avaient élus au scrutin précédent, un a opté pour l’autre circonscription et un autre a démissionné des deux sièges pour lesquels il a été élu afin d’être nommé juge. Quant aux deux candidats qui n’étaient pas députés dans la législature précédente, l’un (Flynn) a opté pour une circonscription qu’il avait représentée antérieurement, alors que l’autre (Bourassa) a choisi Saint-Hyacinthe, là où il comptait des relations de famille et malgré le fait que sa victoire était loin d’être convaincante. 

Si l’on examine les délais entre, d’une part, la date de l’élection générale et celle du moment où l’élu opte pour le siège qu’il entend occuper et, d’autre part, cette dernière date et celle de l’élection partielle rendue nécessaire pour combler le siège délaissé, on constate que Flynn a exercé son option en moins de trois mois, tandis que Bourassa a mis neuf mois avant de faire son choix. Et l’élection partielle qui suit a lieu dans des délais variant entre moins d’un mois et près d’un an suivant la date de l’option du député. 

Les sept élections partielles rendues nécessaires pour combler les vacances, y compris celles résultant de la double démission de François-Xavier Lemieux nommé juge, se soldent, sauf deux exceptions, par la victoire du parti qui avait remporté ces circonscriptions au dernier scrutin général. 

La dernière candidature multiple a été celle de Camillien Houde, alors maire de Montréal depuis 1928. Aux élections générales de 1931, il annonce qu’il sera candidat dans deux circonscriptions5. D’abord dans Sainte-Marie, dont il est député depuis l’élection partielle de 1928 et qu’il avait représenté de 1923 à 1927. Et, également, dans Saint-Jacques, où on le prie d’accepter la candidature contre Irénée Vautrin, qui lui manifeste une attention spéciale depuis trois ans. 

En cas de double victoire, Houde fera place à un ministre. La rumeur court à propos de négociations accélérées au terme desquelles, advenant l’élection de Houde dans les deux circonscriptions, il céderait le siège de Saint-Jacques à Ésioff Patenaude, lequel, du même coup, deviendrait aussitôt protecteur attitré des intérêts de lord Atholstan, grand patron du quotidien Montreal Star et ami des financiers de la rue Saint-Jacques et d’autres grosses entreprises du genre6

La grande crise économique de 1929 et la présence d’un gouvernement conservateur à Ottawa pourraient favoriser Camillien Houde et son parti. Le chef conservateur parcourt la province et mène une campagne de tous les instants. Le message semble passer; les conservateurs vont chercher 9 % de plus de suffrages qu’en 1927, mais le houdisme ne réussit pas à s’imposer suffisamment pour prendre le pouvoir. Les libéraux obtiennent 79 sièges et les conservateurs seulement 11, 2 de plus qu’en 1927. 

Échec sur toute la ligne pour Houde, qui est battu par 806 voix par Vautrin et par 515 voix par Gaspard Fauteux. Houde entreprend des procédures judiciaires pour contester la validité de l’élection dans 63 circonscriptions du Québec pour cause d’irrégularités commises par les candidats libéraux. Il doit déposer, pour ce faire, un cautionnement de 63 000 $. En riposte, le gouvernement fait sanctionner la loi Dillon7, qui rend plus difficile la contestation en obligeant le requérant à prélever sur ses propres deniers le cautionnement de mille dollars. La mesure s’applique rétroactivement aux contestations déjà en cours. 

C’en est fait du p’tit gars de Sainte-Marie. Houde devient le seul candidat à se présenter simultanément dans deux circonscriptions sans connaître la victoire. Cet échec ouvrira la porte de la direction du Parti conservateur à Maurice LeNoblet Duplessis. 

Cette double candidature est également la dernière de notre histoire, puisqu’une modification apportée à la Loi électorale en 1952 l’interdit8

Lors de l’adoption de cette loi, le phénomène des candidatures multiples avait disparu depuis plusieurs années déjà. La modification à la Loi électorale n’en donna pas moins lieu à un échange savoureux entre le premier ministre Maurice Duplessis et le leader de l’Opposition officielle9

M. Duplessis : Un autre article de la loi a pour but d’empêcher qu’une personne puisse briguer les suffrages dans deux comtés à la fois. Ça ne vise pas le chef absent (Georges-Émile Lapalme, chef du Parti libéral depuis le 20 mai 1950) car il a peur de se présenter dans un seul, mais les candidats de l’Union nationale : ils sont si populaires qu’on les demande partout. Nous sommes en faveur du principe démocratique : « One man, one vote », et nous voulons que disparaisse ce souvenir archaïque. 

M. Marler : Cette disposition me donne entièrement satisfaction, car je croyais que le premier ministre se présenterait à Trois-Rivières et ailleurs, afin d’assurer son élection; je vois qu’il y renonce. 

M. Duplessis : Je suis réclamé dans tous les comtés et je puis garantir au chef de l’opposition que si j’y allais, la province s’enrichirait de 200 $ par comté. J’invite le chef de l’opposition à venir et à constater par lui-même les dégâts de ses espérances. 

M. Marler : J’accepte cette invitation, j’irai sûrement à Trois-Rivières. 

M. Duplessis : On vous recevra bien. Et vous devriez emmener le chef de votre parti. De la sorte mon adversaire n’aura pas grands votes. 

M. Marler : Je ne suis pas du tout inquiet du résultat des prochaines élections. Quant à cette disposition de la loi, je crois qu’elle est convenable et qu’une telle décision a déjà été prise ailleurs, notamment au fédéral en 1919. 

On peut se demander pourquoi le Parlement de Québec adopte cette loi, alors que le phénomène des candidatures multiples a disparu. Est-ce simplement dans le but d’harmoniser sa loi électorale avec la loi fédérale qui interdit ce type de candidature depuis 191910? Ou encore pour éviter que des candidats soient tentés d’imiter ce qui se passe ailleurs et briguent les suffrages dans plus d’une circonscription? D’ailleurs, en Grande-Bretagne, les candidatures multiples n’ont jamais été prohibées par la loi. En 1880, Charles Stewart Parnell a été élu dans les trois circonscriptions d’Irlande où il était candidat. De nos jours, ces candidatures sont le lot de partis politiques fantaisistes. Ainsi, aux élections générales de 1992, Screaming Lord Sutch, chef de l’Official Monster Raving Loony Party, présenta sans succès sa candidature dans trois circonscriptions soit Huntingdon, Islwyn et Yeovil. En 2005, Rainbow George Weiss, de la Vote for Yourself Rainbow Dream Team, brigua les suffrages dans 13 circonscriptions sans réussir à l’emporter dans l’une d’elles. 

Notes 

1. La Minerve, 16 juin 1871. 

2. Le Journal de Québec, 27 juin 1871. 

3. Le Journal de Québec, 4 juillet 1871. 

4. La Minerve, 3 juillet 1871. 

5. L’Action catholique, 14 août 1931. 

6. Hector Grenon, Camillien Houde / raconté par Hector Grenon, Montréal, Stanké, 1979, p. 169. 

7. Loi modifiant la Loi des élections contestées de Québec, S.Q., 1931-1932, chap. 20. 

8. Loi modifiant la Loi électorale, S.Q., 1952, chap. 19, art. 2. 

9. Le Devoir, 9 janvier 1952. 

10. Loi modifiant la Loi de la Chambre des Communes, S.C., 1919, chap. 18, art. 1. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29