Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Forty Sixth Canadian Regional Conference, Nova Scotia 

Fifty years ago the first meeting of Canadian members of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association took place in Halifax.  From July 22-28, 2008 members again met in Nova Scotia which was marking its 250th anniversary of representative government. 

The host of the Conference was Speaker Alfie MacLeod of Nova Scotia and a number of other Speakers attended including: Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Kathleen Casey (Prince Edward Island), Steve Peters (Ontario), Roger Fitzgerald (Newfoundland and Labrador), George Hickes (Manitoba), Roy Boudreau (New Brunswick), Don Toth (Saskatchewan), Paul Delorey (Northwest Territories), Ted Staffen (Yukon), and Peter Kilabuk (Nunavut). 

The Conference was officially opened by the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, Mayann E. Francis. Speaker MacLeod welcomed delegates and gave them an overview of the many ways Nova Scotia has been a pioneer in the development of democratic institutions. Claire Curtis-Thomas, MP of the United Kingdom also spoke at the opening as did Pennelope Beckles, Deputy Speaker of the Trinidad and Tobago House of Representatives. Both referred to the special links between their country and Nova Scotia. 

The topics and presenters were as follows: 

  • From Billion Dollar Deficits to Billion Dollar Surpluses in Four Short Years
    Presenter: Steve Kent, MHA, Newfoundland & Labrador
    Chair: Speaker Kowalski 
  • Manitoba’s Special Envoy for Military Affairs: The Journey
    Presenter: Bonnie Korzeniowski, MLA, Manitoba
    Chair: Speaker MacLeod 
  • The Estimates Process: Issues and Reform
    Presenter: Harry Bloy, MLA, British Columbia
    Chair: Speaker Casey 
  • Parliaments and Sustainable Development
    Presenter: Geoffrey Kelley, MNA, Québec
    Chair: Speaker Peters 
  • Democracy 250: Commemorating 250 years of Representative Government in Canada
    Presenters: Russell MacLellan,  Premier of Nova Scotia (1997-1999) and John Hamm, Premier of Nova Scotia (1999-2006)
    Chair: Speaker Fitzgerald 
  • The Nova Scotia House of Assembly: On the Cusp of Change?
    Presenter: Lori Turnbull, Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University
    Chair: Speaker Hickes 
  • Democratic Reforms at the Legislative Assembly of Alberta
    Presenter: Speaker Kowalski, Alberta
    Chair: Speaker Toth 
  • Supply Management – Benefits to Producers and Consumers
    Presenter: Alan McIsaac, MLA, Prince Edward Island
    Chair: Speaker Delorey 

During the course of the conference delegates were treated to numerous examples of traditional Nova Scotian hospitality including a trip to Peggy's Cove, a reception at Province House, a dinner at Pier 21, Canada's Immigration Museum, and a musical performance by Drum! Both first time and return visitors came away with a deep appreciation for the political, cultural, military and sea-faring traditions of the host province. They were also unanimous in their appreciation to Speaker MacLeod and his staff for an excellent conference. 

Meeting of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians — Canadian Region 

On July 21 the Annual Meeting of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians was held in Halifax immediately before the Annual Canadian Regional Conference of CPA. 

In the morning the Steering Committee, chaired by Charlotte L’Écuyer, MNA, Québec, met to discuss future projects.  This was followed by several business sessions.  The first dealt with Campaign School and was chaired by Maria Minna, MP.  It featured a presentation by Carolyn Bolivar-Getson, MLA, Nova Scotia and Minister, Advisory Council on the Status of Women. 

The second and third session both dealt with the topic of women in leadership.  The second session was Chaired by Myrna Driedger MLA Manitoba and consisted of a presentation by Alexa McDonough, MP and former Leader of the federal New Democratic Party. 

The third session was chaired by Katherine Whittred, MLA, British Columbia and featured a presentation by the Speaker of the Prince Edward Island Legislature, Kathleen Casey

The final session was chaired by Susan Sullivan, MHA of Newfoundland and Labrador.  It was entitled “Turning up the Volume” and featured a presentation by Fran Gagnon, Executive Director of Equal Voice. 

New Chair of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians 

The new Chair of the the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians – Canadian Region is Maria Minna.  She replaces Mme L'Écuyer from Québec whose term expired.  Ms Minna represents Beaches–East York in the House of Commons and was Minister of International Co-operation from 1999 – 2002. She was first elected to the House of Commons in 1993 and has been re-elected four times. She is a former chair of the Finance Committee of the House of Commons, the Social Policy Committee of the National Liberal Caucus, the Canada-Sri Lanka Friendship Group and the Canadian Branch of the Parliamentary Network for Nuclear Disarmament. She is presently critic for the Status of Women. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 3
2008






Last Updated: 2020-09-14

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Quarante-sixième Conférence régionale canadienne, Nouvelle-Écosse 

La première réunion des membres canadiens de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a été tenue à Halifax il y a cinquante ans. Du 22 au 28 juillet 2008, les membres se sont de nouveau réunis en Nouvelle-Écosse qui célébrait 250 ans de gouvernement représentatif. 

La Conférence a été présidée par Alfie MacLeod, président de la Chambre d’assemblée de la Nouvelle- Écosse. Plusieurs autres présidents y ont participé, dont Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Kathleen Casey (Île-du-Prince-Edouard), Steve Peters (Ontario), Roger Fitzgerald (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), George Hickes (Manitoba), Roy Boudreau (Nouveau-Brunswick), Don Toth (Saskatchewan), Paul Delorey (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), Ted Staffen (Yukon) et Peter Kilabuk (Nunavut). 

La Conférence a été ouverte officiellement par Mayann E. Francis, lieutenant-gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le président MacLeod a souhaité la bienvenue aux délégués et leur a donné un aperçu du travail de pionnier de la Nouvelle- Écosse dans le développement des institutions démocratiques. Claire Curtis-Thomas, députée du Royaume- Uni, et Pennelope Beckles, vice-présidente de la Chambre des représentants de Trinité-et-Tobago, se sont aussi adressées aux délégués lors de l’ouverture. Les deux ont parlé des liens spéciaux qui existent entre leur pays et la Nouvelle-Écosse. 

Suivent les noms des conférenciers précédés du titre de leur présentation : 

Passer d’un déficit d’un milliard de dollars à un surplus d’un milliard de dollars en quatre ans seulement
Conférencier : Steve Kent, député provincial (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Président : le président Kowalski 

L’envoyé spécial du Manitoba pour les affaires militaires : Le voyage
Conférencière : Bonnie Korzeniowski, députée provinciale (Manitoba)
Président : le président MacLeod 

Le processus d’examen des prévisions budgétaires : Enjeux et réforme
Conférencier : Harry Bloy, député provincial (Colombie-Britannique)
Président : la présidente Casey 

Les parlements et le développement durable
Conférencier : Geoffrey Kelley, député provincial (Québec)
Président : le président Peters 

Démocratie 250 : Pour célébrer les 250 années de gouvernement représentatif au Canada
Conférenciers : Russell MacLellan et John Hamm, premiers ministres de la Nouvelle-Écosse de 1997 à 1999 et de 1999 à 2006, respectivement
Président : le président Fitzgerald 

L’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse : Sur le point d’un changement?
Conférencière : Lori Turnbull, professeure adjointe, Université Dalhousie
Président : le président Hickes 

Les réformes démocratiques à l’Assemblée législative d’Alberta
Conférencier : le président Ken Kowalski (Alberta)
Président : le président Toth 

Gestion des approvisionnements — Avantages pour les producteurs et les consommateurs
Conférencier : Alan McIsaac, député provincial (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
Président : le président Delorey. 

Au cours de la conférence, les délégués ont eu droit à de nombreux témoignages de l’hospitalité néo-écossaise traditionnelle, dont une visite à Peggy’s Cove, une réception à Province House, un diner au Quai 21, Musée de l’immigration du Canada, et un concert de Drum! Les visiteurs, nouveaux et anciens, sont partis avec une meilleure appréciation des traditions politiques, culturelles, militaires et maritimes de la province. Ils ont aussi remercié unanimement le président MacLeod et son personnel pour une excellente conférence. 

Assemblée de Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth — Région canadienne 

Le 21 juillet, Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth a tenu son assemblée annuelle à Halifax, juste avant la Conférence régionale canadienne annuelle de l’APC. 

Le matin, le Comité directeur, présidé par Charlotte L’Écuyer, députée provinciale du Québec, s’est réuni pour discuter de projets futurs. Ont suivi plusieurs séances de travail. La première, présidée par Maria Minna, députée fédérale, a porté sur le cours d’organisation d’une campagne électorale et comporté un exposé de Carolyn Bolivar-Getson, députée provinciale de la Nouvelle-Écosse et ministre du Conseil consultatif sur la condition féminine. 

Les deuxième et troisième séances ont toutes deux traité de la femme et du leadership. La deuxième séance, présidée par Myrna Driedger, députée provinciale du Manitoba, a proposé un exposé d’Alexa McDonough, députée fédérale et ex-chef du Nouveau Parti démocratique fédéral. 

La troisième séance, présidée par Katherine Whittred, députée provinciale de la Colombie- Britannique, a donné lieu à un exposé de la présidente de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Kathleen Casey

La dernière séance, présidée par Susan Sullivan, députée provinciale de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a eu pour thème Monter le volume et proposé un exposé de Fran Gagnon, directrice générale d’À voix égales. 

Nouvelle présidente de Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth 

La nouvelle présidente de Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth – Région canadienne est Maria Minna. Elle remplace Mme L’Écuyer, du Québec, qui a terminé son mandat. Mme Minna représente Beaches–East York à la Chambre des communes et a été ministre de la Coopération internationale de 1999 à 2002. Elle a été élue pour la première fois élue à la Chambre des communes en 1993, puis réélue à quatre reprises. Elle a présidé le Comité des finances de la Chambre des communes, le Comité de la politique sociale du caucus libéral national, le Groupe d’amitié Canada-Sri Lanka et la section canadienne du Réseau parlementaire pour le désarmement nucléaire. Elle est actuellement porte-parole en matière de condition féminine. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 3
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29