Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speakers 

As a result of recent appointments and elections four new Speakers have been elected and one former Speaker has been returned to the office. 

In the Northwest Territories Paul Delorey was re-elected Speaker following the NWT elections on October 18, 2007.  He was first elected to the legislature as the member for Hay River North on December 6, 1999.  He was acclaimed for a second term in office on October 31, 2003, and re-elected for a third term to the 16th Legislative Assembly on October 1, 2007. 

Prior to his election as Speaker he was a Member of the Standing Committee on Governance and Economic Development, the Standing Committee on Rules and Procedures, the Standing Committee on Accountability and Oversight and served as the Deputy Chair of the Committee of the Whole. In addition, he was a member of the Special Committee on the Implementation of Self-Government and the Sunset Clause. 

Mr. Delorey was born in Guysborough, N.S., the second youngest child in a family of 13. He moved to Hay River in 1968 and, two years later, began work for Canadian National Railway as a trainperson before advancing to locomotive engineer.  He has an extensive history of volunteerism and community service having been an active member of the Knights of Columbus for 24 years and has held many executive positions including District Deputy for the Northwest Territories for four years. He was the local representative for the United Transportation Union for 10 years and sat on the Hay River Recreation Board for two years. 

An avid curler, Mr. Delorey represented the NWT/Yukon at the Canadian Mixed Curling Champion- ships in 1987 and represented Canada in the Strathcona Cup Championships in Scotland in 1998. He coached junior curling for 22 years as a fully qualified Level 2 coach. He also served as a Director on the NWT Curling Association Board for three years and as the president of the Hay River Curling Club for five years. 

The new Speaker of the Ontario Legislative Assembly is Steve Peters.  Born in St. Thomas, Ontario he is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree. 

He was elected to St. Thomas Council as an alderman in 1988 and as Mayor 1991. He was re-elected Mayor in 1994 and 1997. First elected to the Ontario Legislature in 1999 he was appointed Critic for Persons with Disabilities. He moved to the agriculture critic portfolio the next year and continued in that role until his re-election in October 2003. Premier McGuinty appointed him to Cabinet as the Minister of Agriculture and Food shortly after the election. He served as Minister of Labour from July 2005 to October 2007. At the time of his election to the Chair he was Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Transportation. 

Mr. Peters was elected Speaker by secret ballot on November 28, 2007 defeating four other candidates Michael Brown, Ted Arnott, David Zimmer and Lorenzo Berardinettii. 

In Newfoundland and Labrador the new Speaker is Roger Fitzgerald.  Acclaimed in the General Election of October 9, 2007 in the District of Bonavista South, Mr. Fitzgerald was also acclaimed Speaker of the House of Assembly on November 1, 2007. 

He was first elected to the House of Assembly for the District of Bonavista South in 1993. He was re-elected in 1996, 1999, and 2003. In November 2003, he was appointed Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly. 

Over the years he has served in a number of positions including:  Opposition Shadow Critic for Social Services; Fisheries and Aquaculture; Agrifoods; Development and Rural Renewa1; Industry, Trade and Rural Development; and Intergovernmental Affairs; as a member of the Public Accounts Committee; as a Member of the Caucus Strategy Committee; and as Vice-Chair of the Caucus Economic Development Committee. 

He was Vice-Chair of the House of Assembly Standing Committee on Social Services and  Vice-Chair of the House of Assembly Select Committee reviewing the Property and Casualty Insurance Industry in Newfoundland and Labrador; as a Member of the House of Assembly Standing Committee on Resources; and as Opposition Party Whip. He then served as the Opposition Critic for Tourism, Culture and Recreation and Municipal and Provincial Affairs. 

On October 25 Alfie MacLeod was elected Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly replacing Cecil Clarke who resigned after being  appointed to the Cabinet as Provincial Secretary. 

Mr. MacLeod represents Cape Breton West and has a long history with the Progressive Conservative Party of NS, serving many roles from Constituency President to President of the Provincial Party. He was MLA representing Cape Breton West from 1995-1998. He was the Provincial Field Organizer for the PC Party from 1998 until the successful election in 1999.  He recently served as the Cape Breton Co-ordinator of the leadership campaign for Premier Rodney MacDonald.  He was re-elected in 2006 and  served as the Government (PC) Caucus Chair and member of the Public Accounts, Law Amendments and Human Resources legislative committees. 

He is the Vice-Chair of the Cape Breton Community Housing Association and is on the Board of the Two Rivers Wildlife Park and the Horizon Achievement Centre.  He is also a Member of the Sydney Port Authority and the Ports Day Planning Committee. 

On November 27 Roy Boudreau was elected Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly replacing Eugene McGinley who was named to the Cabinet as Minister of State for Seniors and Housing. 

Mr. Boudreau was first elected to the Legislative Assembly in the provincial election held June 9, 2003, as the Liberal MLA for Campbellton. During the 55th Legislature, he was opposition critic for family and community services, tourism, education (Anglophone), culture, and sport. He was a member of the Standing Committee on Law Amendments. 

He was reelected to the 56th Legislature on September 18, 2006 for Campbellton-Restigouche Centre. He was elected Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and was a member of the following standing committees: Committee on Crown Corporations; Committee on Private Bills; Committee on Procedure; Committee on Privileges; Legislative Administration Committee. 

Born in Campbellton on October 24, 1946 Mr. Boudreau was a graduate of the Assomption Academy, in Campbellton. He furthered his education at the New Brunswick Teachers’ College, and then went on to the Université de Moncton, where he received his B.Ed. (Primary), B.Ed. and P.A.C. 

Mr. Boudreau retired after spending 33 years in the education system as a teacher, vice-principal, principal, chairman of the local teachers’ council, and provincial representative on the audiovisual subcommittee. Until recently, he was a Campbellton city councillor, responsible for sports and leisure. 

He has been actively involved in community organizations: The CNIB; the Notre-Dame-des-Neiges parish council, as chairman of the management committee; the board of directors of the 2003 Canada Winter Games; the management committee of the 2003 Canada Winter Games; the Campbellton Youth Centre; the board of directors of the Campbellton Civic Centre; the management committee of the Civic Centre, as chairman. A qualified captain and recipient of the Canadian Forces Decoration, he has been commanding officer of the Campbellton cadet corps, commanding officer of C Company Campbellton, and transportation officer for the Campbellton, Bathurst, and Miramichi cadet squadrons.

Twenty-nineth CPA Regional Seminar, Yukon 

The annual Seminar of the Canadian Region, CPA was held in Haines Junction, Yukon from September 7-9, 2007.  The seminar was originally scheduled to take place in the Northwest Territories later in the fall but due to Territorial Elections in the NWT Speaker Ted Staffen of Yukon agreed to host the 2007 seminar.  Twenty MLAs from eight jurisdictions participated along with a number of officials. 

The first business session was chaired by Gary McRobb MLA (Yukon).  The topic was Kluane National Park - its History and Current Challenges. The presenter was Michael Riseborough, Superintendent, Kluane National Park. 

The second session was on the topic of Long-Service Awards for Political Staff.  The presenter was Myron Kowlasky, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. The session was chaired by Cliff Cullen MLA (Manitoba). 

The third session dealt with Disability Issues – Presenting Challenges to the Provinces.  The presenter was Rob Lougheed MLA, (Alberta).  This session was chaired by Alan McIsaac MLA (PEI). 

Olive Crane MLA (PEI) gave the presentation on the Changing Role of the Rural MLA at the fourth business session.  The chair was Bill Barisoff, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. 

The final session dealt with Financial Compensation for Elected Members: What’s Fair? What’s Acceptable? How Do We Get There?  The presenter was Patrick Michael, former Clerk of the Yukon Legislative Assembly and Chair of the independent commission established by the Assembly to review the salaries and benefits of Yukon MLAs. The session was chaired by Speaker Staffen. 

Delegates who attended the seminar expressed their gratitude to Yukon members and staff for their hospitality and particularly to Speaker Staffen for accepting to host the seminar on relatively short notice. 

Sixth Canadian Parliamentary Seminar 

The Sixth Parliamentary Seminar of the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Ottawa from October 21-27, 2007. The theme of the seminar was Strengthening Democracy and the Role of Parliamentarians: Challenges and Solutions. It brought together some 20 legislators from 10 Commonwealth jurisdictions along with four members from provincial legislatures.  The host of the seminar was Russ Hiebert MP, President of the Canadian Branch of CPA. 

The following sessions were held for the visiting parliamentarians. 

  • Overview of the Role and Operation of the Canadian Parliament 

Chair - Russ Hiebert, MP
Paul Bélisle, Clerk of the
Senate 
Audrey O'Brien, Clerk of the House of Commons 

  • The Commonwealth and the Role of CPA 

Russ Hiebert, MP, Chair, Canadian Branch, CPA
Shem Baldeosingh, CPA Headquarters, (London, UK). 

  • The Canadian Political Scene 

Chair - Leanne Rowat, MLA, (Manitoba)
David Smith, Senator, (Canada) 
John Reynolds, former MP, (Canada) 

  • Role of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians 

Chair - Vicki Dunne, MLA, (Australia)
Maria Minna, MP, Canadian Branch 

  • Getting There:  Political Recruiting and Women in the Political Process 

Chair - Sumitra Majajan, MP, (India)
Judy Wasylycia-Leis, MP, (Canada) 
Ann Wicks, Executive Director, Equal Voice Canada 

  • The Parliamentary Presence of Political Parties:  The Role of Party Caucuses 

Chair - Richard Mulcahy, MLA, (Australia)
Karen Redman, MP, Chief Opposition Whip, (Canada)
Rahim Jaffer, MP, Chair, National Caucus, CPC, (Canada) 

  • Parliament and Civil Society 

Chair - Geoffrey Southern, Deputy, (Jersey)
Rob Anders, MP, (Canada) 

  • How an MP's Office Works 

Chair - Sonny Gallant, MLA, (Prince Edward Island)
Nicole Demers, MP, (Canada)
Patricia Davidson, MP, (Canada) 

  • Dealing with the Competition:  Have the Media Taken Over the Representational Job of Parliamentarians? 

Chair - Robert K. Lewis, MP, (Saint Lucia)
Kady O'Malley, Maclean's 

  • Parliamentary Committees:  What Works and What Doesn't 

Chair - Gerard Jennissen, MLA, (Manitoba)
John Williams, MP, (Canada) 

  • Engaging Citizens:  Resources and Tools 

Chair - Solamalemalo Keniti, MP, (Samoa) 
Carolyn Bennett, MP, (Canada) 

  • Connecting with Constituents:  Representing Pluralistic Constituencies 

Chair - John Otekat, MP, (Uganda)
Derek Lee, MP, (Canada) 

  • Influencing Governments and Regulating Influence:  Parliament and Lobbyists 

Chair - Bernice Olsson, (St Helena) 
Joe Jordan, Principal, Capital Hill Group 

The final session was devoted to discussion of topics suggested by delegates and included the “Role of Emerging Economics from Commonwealth in Supporting Fellow Developing Countries” by Smt Sumitra Mahajan, MP, (India) and “Improving Voter Turnout”by Gerard Jennissen, MLA, (Manitoba). 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 4
2007






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Nouveaux présidents 

À la suite de nominations et d’élections récentes, quatre nouveaux présidents ont été élus, tandis qu’un autre a réintégré sa charge. 

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Paul Delorey a été réélu président à la suite des élections du 18 octobre 2007. M. Delorey a fait son entrée à l’Assemblée législative comme député de Hay River Nord le 6 décembre 1999. Il a été réélu par acclamation le 31 octobre 2003, puis élu pour un troisième mandat à la 16e Assemblée législative, le 31 octobre 2007. 

Avant d’être président, M. Delorey a été membre du Comité permanent de la conduite des affaires publiques et du développement économique, du Comité permanent des règles et des procédures, et du Comité permanent de la responsabilité et du contrôle des finances publiques. De plus, il a été vice-président du Comité plénier et membre du Comité spécial sur la mise en œuvre de l’autonomie gouvernementale et sur la mesure de temporarisation. 

Né à Guysborough en Nouvelle- Écosse, M. Delorey est l’avant-dernier d’une famille de treize enfants. En 1968, il déménage à Hay River et deux ans plus tard, il se joint à la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada comme agent de train avant de devenir mécanicien de locomotive. M. Delorey possède une vaste expérience du bénévolat et des services communautaires. Il est membre actif des Chevaliers de Colomb depuis 24 ans, et il a occupé divers postes de direction dont celui de député de district des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pendant quatre ans. Il a été le représentant local des Travailleurs unis des transports pendant 10 ans et a siégé pendant deux ans au conseil des loisirs de Hay River. 

Passionné de curling, M. Delorey a représenté les T.N.-O. et le Yukon au Championnat canadien mixte de curling de 1987 et le Canada à la Coupe Strathcona, en Écosse, en 1998. Certifié au niveau II, il a été entraîneur de curling chez les juniors pendant 22 ans. M. Delorey a également été membre du conseil d’administration de l’Association de curling des T.N.-O. pendant trois ans et président du club de curling de Hay River pendant cinq ans. 

Le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario est Steve Peters. Né à St. Thomas, en Ontario, il est diplômé de l’Université Western Ontario, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts. 

Il a été élu au conseil de St. Thomas en 1988 et maire en 1991. Il a été réélu maire en 1994 et 1997. Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario en 1999, il a été nommé porte-parole aux affaires des personnes handicapées. L’année suivante, il est devenu porte-parole en matière d’agriculture, poste qu’il a conservé jusqu’à sa réélection en octobre 2003. Peu après l’élection, le premier ministre McGuinty a nommé M. Peters au Conseil des ministres comme ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation. Il a été ministre du Travail de juillet 2005 à 2007. Au moment de son élection à la présidence, il était secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Transports. 

M. Peters a été élu président à la suite d’un vote secret tenu le 28 novembre 2007. Les autres candidats étaient Michael Brown, Ted Arnott, David Zimmer et Lorenzo Berardinetti

Roger Fitzgerald est devenu le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve- et-Labrador. Élu par acclamation aux élections générales du 9 octobre dans la circonscription de Bonavista South, il est ensuite devenu, par acclamation également, président de la Chambre d’assemblée, le 1er novembre 2007. 

M. Fitzgerald s’est fait élire la première fois à la Chambre d’assemblée dans la circonscription de Bonavista South en 1993. Il a été réélu en 1996, 1999 et 2003. En novembre 2003, il est devenu vice-président de la Chambre d’assemblée. 

Au fil des ans, M. Fitzgerald a été porte-parole de l’opposition pour divers dossiers : services sociaux; pêches et aquaculture; agroalimentaire; développement et renouveau rural; industrie, commerce et développement rural; affaires intergouvernementales. Il a été membre du Comité des comptes publics et du Comité de la stratégie du caucus de son parti, ainsi que vice-président du Comité du développement économique de son caucus. 

En outre, M. Fitzgerald a été vice-président du Comité permanent des services sociaux de la Chambre d’assemblée et vice-président du Comité spécial chargé d’examiner le secteur de l’assurance de dommages à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il a été membre du Comité permanent des ressources de la Chambre d’assemblée et whip de l’opposition. Il a ensuite occupé le poste de porte-parole en matière de tourisme, de culture et de loisirs, et celui de porte-parole des affaires municipales et provinciales. 

Le 25 octobre, Alfie MacLeod a été élu président de la Chambre d’assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il remplace Cecil Clarke, qui a remis sa démission à la suite de sa nomination au Cabinet à titre de secrétaire de la province. 

Député de la circonscription de Cape Breton West, M. MacLeod œuvre depuis longtemps au sein du Parti progressiste-conservateur de la Nouvelle-Écosse, où il a occupé plusieurs postes, de président de circonscription à président du parti provincial. Il a été député de Cape Breton West de 1995 à 1998, et organisateur sur le terrain pour le Parti progressiste-conservateur de 1998 jusqu’à la victoire électorale en 1999. Il a récemment agi à titre de coordonnateur de la campagne à la direction du premier ministre Rodney MacDonald pour le Cap-Breton. Il a été réélu en 2006. Avant d’être président, il a présidé le caucus du gouvernement (PC) et a été membre des comités législatifs des comptes publics, des modifications aux lois et des ressources humaines. 

M. MacLeod est vice-président de la Cape Breton Community Housing Association et siège au conseil d’administration du parc faunique Two Rivers et du Horizon Achievement Centre. Il est également membre de l’Administration portuaire de Sydney et du comité de planification de la journée des ports. 

Le 27 novembre, Roy Boudreau a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il remplace Eugene McGinley, qui a été nommé au Cabinet comme ministre d’État aux Aînés et à l’Habitation. 

M. Boudreau a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative aux élections provinciales du 9 juin 2003, en tant que député libéral de Campbellton. Au cours de la 55e législature, il a été porte-parole de l’opposition dans les domaines d’intérêt liés aux services familiaux et communautaires, au tourisme, à l’éducation (anglophone), à la culture et aux sports. Il a été membre du Comité permanent de modification des lois. 

Il a été réélu à la 56e législature le 18 septembre 2006 pour la nouvelle circonscription de Campbellton— Restigouche-Centre. Élu vice- président de l’Assemblée législative, il fait partie des comités permanents suivants : Comité des corporations de la Couronne; Comité des projets de loi d’intérêt privé; Comité de la procédure; Comité des privilèges; Comité d’administration de l’Assemblée législative. 

Né à Campbellton le 24 octobre 1946, M. Boudreau est diplômé de l’Académie Assomption, à Campbellton. Il a poursuivi ses études au New Brunswick Teachers College, puis à l’Université de Moncton, où il a obtenu un B.Ed. (primaire), un B.Ed. et un C.G.P. 

M. Boudreau a pris sa retraite du système d’éducation, où il a passé 33 ans comme enseignant, directeur adjoint, directeur, président du conseil local des enseignants et représentant provincial au sous-comité de l’audiovisuel. Il a été conseiller municipal de Campbellton jusqu’à récemment, à titre de responsable des sports et des loisirs. 

Il a participé activement à des organisations de la collectivité : INCA, conseil paroissial de Notre-Dame-des-Neiges (à titre de président du comité de gestion), conseil d’administration des Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2003, comité de gestion des Jeux du Canada 2003, Centre des Jeunes de Campbellton, conseil d’administration du Centre civique de Campbellton, conseil de gestion du Centre civique (à titre de président). Capitaine qualifié et récipiendaire de la Décoration des Forces canadiennes, il a été commandant du corps de cadets de Campbellton, commandant de la compagnie C de Campbellton, et officier de transport des corps de cadets de Campbellton, de Bathurst et de Miramichi. 

29e Colloque régional de l’APC, au Yukon 

Le Colloque annuel de la Région canadienne de l’APC s’est tenu à Haines Junction, au Yukon, du 7 au 9 septembre 2007. Il devait avoir lieu dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest plus tard au cours de l’automne, mais, en raison de la tenue d’élections dans les Territoires, le président Ted Staffen du Yukon a accepté d’accueillir l’édition 2007, à laquelle ont pris part vingt députés de huit provinces et territoires et plusieurs représentants officiels. 

La première séance, présidée par Gary McRobb, député du Yukon, a porté sur le parc national Kluane, son histoire ainsi que les défis qui doivent être relevés à l’heure actuelle. Le conférencier a été Michael Riseborough, surintendant du parc. 

La deuxième séance, consacrée à la reconnaissance des longs états de service du personnel politique, a eu pour conférencier Myron Kowlasky, président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Elle a été présidée par Cliff Cullen, député du Manitoba. 

La troisième séance s’est déroulée sous le thème « La condition des personnes handicapées — Défis posés aux provinces ». Le conférencier a été Rob Lougheed, député de l’Alberta, tandis qu’Alan McIsaac, député de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en a assuré la présidence. 

Olive Crane, députée de l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard, a présenté une communication sur l’évolution du rôle de député dans les régions rurales lors de la quatrième séance, présidée par Bill Barisoff, président de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique. 

La dernière séance a eu pour thème « La rémunération des élus : comment déterminer ce qui est juste et acceptable? » Le conférencier a été Patrick Michael, ancien greffier de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon et président de la commission indépendante créée par l’Assemblée pour revoir les salaires et les avantages sociaux des députés du Yukon. La séance a été présidée par le président Staffen. 

Les délégués qui ont pris part au colloque ont remercié les députés du Yukon et leur personnel de leur hospitalité et, en particulier, le président Staffen d’avoir accepté d’accueillir le colloque dans un délai relativement court. 

6e Colloque parlementaire canadien 

Le sixième Colloque parlementaire de la Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth s’est tenu à Ottawa du 21 au 27 octobre sous le thème « Le renforcement de la démocratie et du rôle des parlementaires : défis et solutions ». Il a réuni une vingtaine de législateurs de dix membres du Commonwealth et quatre députés d’assemblées législatives provinciales. Le colloque a été organisé par Russ Hiebert, député fédéral et président de la Section canadienne de l’APC. 

Les séances suivantes étaient offertes aux parlementaires de passage : 

  • Survol du rôle et du fonctionnement du parlement canadien 

Président – Russ Hiebert, député fédéral, président, Section canadienne, APC
Paul Bélisle, greffier du Sénat
Audrey O’Brien, greffière de la Chambre des communes 

  • Le Commonwealth et le rôle de l’APC 

Russ Hiebert, député, président, Section canadienne, APC 
Shem Baldeosingh, du siège de l’APC à Londres (Royaume-Uni) 

  • La scène politique canadienne 

Présidente – Leanne Rowat, MAL (Manitoba)
David Smith, sénateur (Canada)
John Reynolds, ex-député fédéral (Canada) 

  • Le rôle des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth 

Présidente – Vicki Dunne, MAL (Australie) 
Maria Minna, députée fédérale, Section canadienne 

  • Recrutement politique et participation des femmes au processus politique 

Présidente – Sumitra Majajan, députée (Inde) 
Judy Wasylycia-Leis, députée fédérale (Canada) 
Ann Wicks, directrice exécutive, À voix égales 

  • La présence parlementaire des partis politiques : le rôle des caucus des partis 

Président – Richard Mulcahy, MAL (Australie)
Karen Redman, députée fédérale, whip en chef de l’opposition (Canada)
Rahim Jaffer, député fédéral, président, caucus national, PCC (Canada) 

  • Le Parlement et la société civile 

Président - Geoffrey Southern, député (Jersey)
Rob Anders, député fédéral (Canada) 

  • Fonctionnement d’un bureau de député 

Président – Sonny Gallant, MAL (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
Nicole Demers, députée fédérale (Canada) 
Patricia Davidson, députée fédérale (Canada) 

  • Comment gérer la concurrence : les médias ont-ils usurpé le travail de représentation des parlementaires? 

Président – Robert K. Lewis, député (Sainte-Lucie)
Kady O’Malley, Maclean’s 

  • Comités parlementaires : ce qui marche et ce qui ne marche pas 

Président – Gerard Jennissen, MAL (Manitoba)
John Williams, député fédéral (Canada) 

  • Intéresser les citoyens : ressources et outils 

Président – Solamalemalo Keniti, député (Samoa)
Carolyn Bennett, députée fédérale (Canada) 

  • Rejoindre les électeurs : la représentation de circonscriptions pluralistes 

Président – John Otekat, député (Ouganda)
Derek Lee, député fédéral (Canada) 

  • Influencer les gouvernements et réglementer l’influence : le parlement et les lobbyistes 

Présidente – Bernice Olsson (Sainte-Hélène)
Joe Jordan, directeur, Capital Hill Group 

La dernière séance a été consacrée aux sujets de discussion proposés par les délégués, entre autres le rôle des économies émergentes du Commonwealth dans l’appui des autres pays en développement (Sumitra Mahajan, députée de l’Inde) et l’augmentation du taux de participation aux élections (Gerard Jennissen, MAL du Manitoba). 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 4
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21