Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
A Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions
Michel Bissonnet

In connection with celebrations for the 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec City, the National Assembly of Quebec and Laval University have undertaken to create a Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions.  This article looks at how the new institution will improve knowledge about our democratic institutions. 

Parliamentary assemblies are houses of democracy. No other place possesses the democratic legitimacy, which derives from election by universal suffrage. Nevertheless, perhaps because our democratic institutions are now taken for granted, too few citizens truly know them. This ignorance, which can be observed in all Western democracies, is an issue of fundamental importance for all those in public life, for it engenders indifference, mistrust, sometimes even suspicion towards the representative system. 

Academic Objectives 

The majority of modern parliaments face identical challenges and issues. 

  • What consequences does a more global society have for the way democratic institutions work? 
  • How do we ensure a fairer representation of citizens and of the diversity of society? 
  • How do we reconcile traditional means of political expression with a society in which the media play an ever more prominent role? 
  • How do we reinforce the role of parliament vis-à-vis the executive? 

Although these questions drive public debate, the parliamentary institutions and the problems associated with them  paradoxically remain marginal as a specific object of research in the university sphere, both in Canada and in Europe. 

The creation of a university research chair must be envisaged first and foremost from a scientific and academic perspective. Thus the promoters of the Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions set forth a certain number of objectives: 

  • The study of legislatures within traditional legal, political science, and social science disciplines create a need to train the teachers themselves and to upgrade their knowledge; 
  • Problems relating to the workings of our democratic societies and their interweaving with other social phenomena warrant a multidisciplinary approach that cannot be realized within a single faculty; 
  • Questions within our modern societies about the workings of democratic systems and the appearance of what some call a crisis in representation provide incentives to develop specific university research; 
  • Globalization and access to a greater wealth of information, in particular thanks to new technologies, offer an exceptional opportunity to promote the study of democratic institutions; 
  •  
  • Quebec City is an ideal site for a formal partnership between a parliament and a university. 

By adding together  the know-how of the partner organizations, both current and future, and by relying on the expertise of specialists from the Law and Social Sciences Faculties of Laval University, the Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions will make it possible to assemble a critical mass of researchers, professors, students, and practising specialists. 

It will occupy a position of academic leadership both in Canada and on the international scene, a leadership from which each of its partners will benefit. 

The initial partners have formally agreed upon the definition of four objectives to guide the missions, activities, and purposes of the Chair: 

  • Create a pole of excellence at the university level on democracy and parliamentary institutions; 
  • Within this framework make parliamentary institutions in particular a specific subject of research, teaching, and training in law and in the political and social sciences; 
  • Make high-level students aware of all aspects of the parliamentary system in modern democracies; 
  • Foster a greater openness on the part of the Québec parliamentary community. 

While these objectives were naturally identified in relation to the concerns of the founding partners, they were also defined in such a way as to be perfectly compatible with those of future partners. 

The Four Axes 

Beginning in February 2006 the partners decided to structure the work done within the Chair along four main axes destined to organize the research, teaching, and training activities conducted under the auspices of the Chair. 

The “Parliamentary System and Political Representation” axis concerns, in particular: 

  • relations of confidence among the population, their elected representatives, and representative institutions; 
  • direct democracy and cyberdemocracy; 
  • the representation of women, ethnocultural minorities and Native Peoples in representative institutions; 
  • globalization and the evolution of the role of national and regional parliaments. 

The “Comparative Parliamentary Procedure and Legislative Process” axis brings together, among other things: 

  • the fundamentals of parliamentary law and the evolution of parliamentary jurisprudence; 
  • the evolution of the business of parliament; 
  • parliamentary reforms; 
  • the procedure of the National Assembly compared to parliaments in the Westminster tradition; 
  • parliamentary privilege. 

The “Parliament and the Exercise of Governance” axis addresses principally questions pertaining to: 

  • the relations among the legislative, executive, and judicial powers; 
  • parliamentary surveillance over the government administration; 
  • the principle of responsible government; 
  • the international activities of parliamentary institutions; 
  • the exercise of lobbying and the practice of ethics by elected representatives. 

Finally, the “Parliamentary System and Elections” axis focuses, among other things, on problems related to: 

  • the evolution of electoral rules and their impact on parliamentary representation; 
  • the transformations related to new technologies and the role of the media; 
  • polls and democracy. 

As far as its activities are concerned, the Chair is charged with carrying out and coordinating activities relating to research, training, and the transfer of knowledge in collaboration with all its partners. 

With regard to scientific research, the Chair will be responsible for managing the research funds within the four research axes and for allocating study grants. 

Concretely that means: 

  • Coordinating fundamental research programs on democracy and parliamentary institutions; 
  • Responding to needs expressed by the associated parliamentary institutions concerning research development; 
  • Supporting research through study grants; 
  • Fostering the addition of expertise from the academic milieu and that developed by its partners. 

Training will also occupy a prominent place in the Chair’s activities.  The idea is to enable current programs in law and the social sciences offered by the University, in particular those in political science as well as its new training in public administration, to benefit from the expertise acquired by the researchers associated with the work of the Chair; to develop a program of continuing training; and to put into place accredited internships within the partner institutions. 

Besides these activities the Chair must, through scientific activities and publications, ensure a transfer of the knowledge developed in the field. 

It will eventually also be possible to contemplate holding international conferences on democracy and parliamentary institutions. 

Organization of the Research Chair 

The Chair’s governing structure has been designed to accord the necessary academic freedom, to reflect the current state of their contributions, and also to take into account the arrival of new partners. 

Thus, the Chair is governed by a Steering Committee which appoints its Holder for a renewable term of five years. This Committee defines, as necessary, appropriate rules governing expenditures within the framework of the Chair’s operating budget and the rules regarding eligibility for grants, as well as the procedure for applying for a grant. Furthermore, as is the case with all chairs, a Fund for the Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions has been established. The Chair’s Steering Committee ensures the management of this Fund. The Fund receives the contributions made by the National Assembly, Laval University, and the other partners who are signatories to the agreements that created the Chair.  It will also receive any gifts made by future new contributors. Attached to the Faculties of Social Science and Law, the Fund comprises a capital fund, working capital, and a current-income account. 

The Holder oversees the development of scientific and pedagogical activities, presides over the Chair’s Scientific Committee and the meetings of its Advisory Committee. It prepares and presents the operating budget to the Steering Committee each year and administers the budget allocated by the Steering Committee. 

The Chair’s Scientific Committee, composed of the Holder of the Chair, who presides over it, two professors designated by the Faculty of Social Sciences, and two professors designated by the Faculty of Law, is in charge of the content, selection, and coordination of the research and training projects. 

The Advisory Committee, composed of the Holder of the Chair and a representative of each partner, receives the specific research projects submitted by the partners and forwards them to the Steering Committee, which approves them. It also provides consultative opinions. It is mainly within this body that present and future partners will be able to relay their concerns and put forward research proposals 

The Chair’s activities are situated in the research space of the Faculty of Social Sciences in the Charles-De Koninck Pavilion at Laval University. Students have work spaces assigned to them there, as do the Chair’s partners. 

The first holder of the Research Chair will be Professor Louis Massicotte, well known throughout Canada, for his work on parliamentary government and the electoral process. 

The Chair relies on the technical computer services and the research services of the Faculty of Social Sciences and the Faculty of Law. 

The Partners 

The Chair’s initial vocation was to erect around Laval University and the National Assembly of Québec a constellation comprising a certain number of other institutional partners and external contributors interested in supporting the activities and development of the project. 

Thus, besides Laval University and the National Assembly of Québec there are already at this stage several prestigious institutions whose missions correspond to certain of the Chair’s centres of interest. 

Among them are to be found, first and foremost, those persons who are appointed by the National Assembly. They are: 

  • the Chief Electoral Officer; 
  • the Auditor General; 
  • the Lobbying Commissioner; 
  • the Public Protector. 

The National Assembly of France, a representative of another parliamentary model, is also one of the founding partners. 

It is clear that this initial list does not close off the search for partners, which is one of the Chair’s raisons d’être.  In addition to this first wave, and beyond the search for financial contributors, the Chair can indeed only be enriched through the participation of new partners, including above all the other legislative assemblies. 

It is for this reason that I invite Canadian legislative assemblies to join the National Assembly of Québec and become partners of the Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions. There is no doubt that such partnerships will be an asset to the Chair from a comparative point of view. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 4
2007






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Une chaire de recherches sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires
Michel Bissonnet

En lien avec les célébrations du 400e anniversaire de Québec, l'Université Laval et l'Assemblée nationale du Québec se sont engagées dans une démarche en vue de créer une chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires. L'auteur examine comment la nouvelle chaire peut contribuer à améliorer la connaissance de nos institutions démocratiques. 

Les assemblées parlementaires sont les maisons de la démocratie et sont les seules à posséder la véritable légitimité démocratique, à savoir l'élection au suffrage universel. Pourtant, peut-être parce qu'elles sont désormais considérées comme un acquis, trop peu de citoyens connaissent leurs institutions démocratiques. Cette méconnaissance, répandue dans toutes les démocraties occidentales, constitue un obstacle de taille pour tous les acteurs de la vie publique que nous sommes, car elle alimente, à l'endroit du système représentatif, l'indifférence, la méfiance et, parfois, la défiance. 

Des objectifs pédagogiques 

Les institutions parlementaires sont au cœur de la vie politique et sociale des démocraties. Pourtant, la plupart des parlements modernes sont confrontés aux mêmes défis et enjeux. 

  • Quelles sont les conséquences d'une société plus mondialisée sur le fonctionnement des institutions démocratiques? 
  • Comment assurer une représentation plus juste des citoyens et de la diversité de la société? 
  • Comment concilier les modes traditionnels d'expression politique avec une société plus soumise à l'influence des médias? 
  • Comment conforter le rôle des parlements face à l'exécutif? 

Si ces questions animent le débat public, tant au Canada qu'en Europe, le parlementarisme et l'ensemble des problématiques qui lui sont associées font l'objet d'un nombre restreint de recherches particulières dans les milieux universitaires, ce qui est assez paradoxal. 

La création d'une chaire universitaire de recherche s'inscrit, avant tout, dans une perspective scientifique et pédagogique. 

Ce constat a amené les promoteurs du projet de chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires à énoncer les principes suivants : 

  • Les changements que connaissent les problématiques parlementaires et leur prise en considération dans l'enseignement du droit, des sciences politiques ou des sciences sociales suscitent des besoins de formation des enseignants eux-mêmes et de remise à niveau des connaissances. 
  • La complexité des problématiques concernant le fonctionnement de nos sociétés démocratiques et leur imbrication avec d'autres phénomènes sociaux justifient désormais une approche pluridisciplinaire, qui ne peut s'exercer au sein d'une seule faculté. 
  • Dans nos sociétés modernes, les interrogations sur le fonctionnement des systèmes démocratiques et l'apparition de ce que certains appellent une crise de la représentation incitent à développer une recherche universitaire propre à ces sujets. 
  • Parallèlement, la mondialisation et l'accès à une information plus riche, notamment grâce aux nouvelles technologies, représentent une occasion exceptionnelle de promouvoir la culture et les institutions démocratiques. 
  • Le Québec constitue l'endroit idéal pour créer un précédent, celui de la conclusion d'un partenariat formel entre un parlement et une université. 

En combinant le savoir-faire des organisations partenaires avec celui de spécialistes des Facultés de droit et des sciences sociales de l'Université Laval, la Chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires permet de réunir une masse critique de chercheurs, de professeurs, d'étudiants et de spécialistes issus de la pratique. 

Enfin, elle occupe une position de leadership pédagogique, tant au Canada que sur la scène internationale, leadership dont pourra tirer profit chacun de ses partenaires. 

Les premiers partenaires se sont entendus formellement sur quatre objectifs qui doivent orienter la mission, les activités et la vocation de la chaire, soit : 

  • créer un pôle d'excellence universitaire en matière de démocratie et d'institutions parlementaires; 
  • dans ce cadre, faire des institutions parlementaires, notamment, un sujet particulier de recherche, d'enseignement et de formation en droit et en sciences politiques et sociales; 
  • sensibiliser des étudiants à tous les aspects du parlementarisme dans les démocraties modernes; 
  • favoriser l'ouverture de la communauté parlementaire. 

Ces objectifs ont certes été fixés en fonction des intérêts des partenaires fondateurs, mais ils ont aussi été définis pour qu'ils puissent être compatibles avec ceux des futurs partenaires. 

Les grands axes 

Dès février 2006, les partenaires fondateurs ont décidé de structurer les travaux conduits par la chaire en quatre grands axes, chacun regroupant les activités de recherche, d'enseignement et de formation. 

L'axe « Parlementarisme et représentation politique » traite particulièrement de : 

  • la relation de confiance entre la population, les élus et les institutions représentatives; 
  • la démocratie directe et la cyberdémocratie; 
  • la représentation des femmes, des minorités ethnoculturelles et des autochtones dans les institutions représentatives; 
  • la mondialisation et l'évolution du rôle des parlements nationaux et régionaux. 

De son côté, l'axe « Procédure parlementaire comparée et processus législatif » regroupe notamment : 

  • les fondements du droit parlementaire et l'évolution de la jurisprudence;  
  • l'évolution du travail parlementaire; 
  • les réformes parlementaires; 
  • la spécificité de la procédure à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec dans les parlements du type britannique; 
  • les privilèges parlementaires. 

Quant à l'axe « Parlement et exercice de la gouvernance », il aborde principalement les questions relatives : 

  • au partage des pouvoirs législatif, exécutif et judiciaire; 
  • au contrôle parlementaire de l'administration gouvernementale; 
  • au principe du gouvernement responsable; 
  • aux activités internationales des institutions parlementaires; 
  • à l'exercice du lobbyisme et la pratique de l'éthique par les élus. 

Enfin, l'axe « Parlementarisme et élections » réunit, en outre, les problématiques liées : 

  • à l'évolution des règles électorales et à leur effet sur la représentation parlementaire; 
  • aux nouvelles technologies et au rôle des médias; 
  • aux sondages et à la démocratie. 

Pour ce qui est de ses activités, la chaire a pour mission de réaliser et de coordonner des activités de recherche, de formation et de transmission des connaissances, en concertation avec l'ensemble de ses partenaires.  

Sur le plan de la recherche scientifique, elle a la responsabilité de gérer les fonds de recherche dans le cadre des quatre axes susmentionnés et d'attribuer des bourses d'études. 

Concrètement, il s'agit de : 

  • coordonner des programmes de recherche structurants en matière de démocratie et d'institutions parlementaires; 
  • répondre à des besoins de développement de la recherche manifestés par les institutions et organismes associés; 
  • soutenir la recherche au moyen de bourses d'études; 
  • favoriser la combinaison du savoir-faire universitaire avec celui des partenaires.  

La formation occupera également une place de premier plan dans les activités de la chaire. Il s'agira de faire profiter les programmes universitaires actuels de droit et de sciences sociales, notamment ceux de science politique, et la nouvelle formation en administration publique, du savoir-faire acquis par les chercheurs associés, d'élaborer une offre de formation continue et de mettre en place des stages dans les institutions partenaires. Ces stages permettront d'obtenir des crédits d'études. 

Outre ces activités, la chaire doit assurer, au moyen d'activités scientifiques et de publications, une transmission des connaissances développées dans le domaine. 

Il est également possible d'envisager, un jour, la tenue de congrès internationaux sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires. 

L'organisation de la chaire 

Les instances de la chaire ont été structurées afin de lui assurer la nécessaire liberté universitaire et de refléter l'état actuel des contributions, mais elles pourront être adaptées pour tenir compte de l'arrivée de nouveaux partenaires. 

Ainsi, la chaire est dirigée par un comité directeur qui en nomme le titulaire pour un mandat de cinq ans renouvelable. Ce comité définit, le cas échéant, les règles de dépenses appropriées dans le cadre de son budget de fonctionnement, les règles d'admissibilité aux subventions ainsi que la procédure de demande de subvention. De plus, comme la chaire sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires dispose d'un fonds, à l'instar de toute autre chaire, le comité assume la gestion de ce fonds. Ce dernier est constitué des contributions versées par l'Assemblée nationale, l'Université Laval et les autres partenaires signataires des ententes créant la chaire. Il sera aussi formé des dons versés par de nouveaux contributeurs. Rattaché à la Faculté des sciences sociales et à la Faculté de droit, ce fonds comprend un fonds de capital, un fonds de roulement et un compte de revenus courants. 

Le titulaire voit au développement des activités scientifiques et pédagogiques, préside le comité scientifique et les réunions du comité consultatif. Il prépare et présente annuellement au comité directeur le budget de fonctionnement et administre le budget attribué. 

Quant au comité scientifique, il est chargé du contenu, de la sélection et de la coordination des projets de recherche et de formation. Il est composé du titulaire, qui le préside, de deux professeurs nommés par la Faculté de sciences sociales et de deux autres, désignés par la Faculté de droit. 

Le premier titulaire de la chaire est le professeur Louis Massicotte, connu au Canada pour ses travaux sur les systèmes parlementaire et électoral. 

Pour sa part, le comité consultatif, qui regroupe le titulaire de la chaire et un représentant de chaque partenaire, reçoit leurs projets particuliers de recherche et les transmet au comité directeur qui les entérine. En outre, il donne des avis consultatifs. C'est principalement au sein de ce comité que les partenaires présents et futurs pourront partager leurs sujets d'intérêt et proposer leurs projets de recherche. 

Les activités de la chaire se déroulent dans les espaces de recherche de la Faculté des sciences sociales, au pavillon Charles-De Koninck de l'Université Laval. Les étudiants et les partenaires y disposent d'endroits pour travailler. 

Elle bénéficie également des services techniques informatiques et des services à la recherche de la Faculté des sciences sociales et de la Faculté de droit. 

Des partenaires 

La vocation initiale de la chaire, comme on l'a vu, est de réunir, autour de l'Université Laval et de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, d'autres partenaires institutionnels et des collaborateurs extérieurs intéressés à soutenir les activités et le développement du projet. 

Ainsi, outre l'Université Laval et l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, font déjà partie du projet plusieurs organismes prestigieux, dont les mandats correspondent à certains centres d'intérêt. 

Parmi ceux-ci, se trouvent, en premier lieu, les personnes désignées par l'Assemblée nationale. Il s'agit : 

  • du Directeur général des élections; 
  • du Vérificateur général; 
  • du Commissaire au lobbyisme; 
  • du Protecteur du citoyen. 

L'Assemblée nationale française, représentative d'un autre modèle parlementaire, est également au nombre des partenaires fondateurs. 

Il est clair que cette première liste ne clôt pas la recherche de partenariats, qui constitue l'une des raisons d'être de la chaire. En effet, au-delà de cette première vague et de la recherche de contributeurs, la chaire ne peut que s'enrichir de la participation de nouveaux partenaires, dont, au premier chef, les autres assemblées législatives. 

C'est pourquoi j'invite les assemblées législatives canadiennes à se joindre à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec et à devenir partenaires de la chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires. Nul doute qu'en matière de perspective comparée, ces partenariats vont constituer un atout important. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 4
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15