Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The Nunavut Legislative Assembly and its Independent Officers
Hunter Tootoo, MLA

Canada's newest territory, Nunavut, came into existence on April 1, 1999.  Upon its creation Nunavut inherited the majority of its statutes from the Northwest Territories.  A number of these statutes established independent officers of the Legislative Assembly including the Conflict of Interest Commissioner, the Languages Commissioner, the Chief Electoral Officer, and the Information and Privacy Commissioner.  This article looks at the functions of these and other independent officers as well as recent developments in Nunavut. 

At the first sitting of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut in April, 1999, the Assembly approved terms of reference for its Standing Committees. Each Standing Committee consisted of five Regular MLAs (MLAs not sitting on Cabinet). The Standing Committee Ajauqtiit was empowered to conduct the initial recruitment and selection process for the Information and Privacy Commissioner, Conflict of Interest Commissioner and Languages Commissioner. The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly initially held the position of Chief Electoral Officer. 

The Standing Committee undertook a competitive, merit-based recruitment and selection process. All positions were advertised in the media and prospective candidates were interviewed by the Committee sitting as a panel, using an agreed-to set of standardized questions.  The Standing Committee’s recommendations were brought to Full Caucus (all 19 MLAs) for review and ratification. In all cases, the Committee’s recommendation was approved, and formal motions to recommend the appointments of the successful candidates were unanimously adopted by the House in the fall of 1999 and the spring of 2000. The Standing Committee tabled a final report on each of the following appointments: 

  • Conflict of Interest Commissioner (Robert Stanbury) 
  • Languages Commissioner (Eva Aariak) 
  • Information and Privacy Commissioner (Elaine Keenan Bengts) who also served as the Information and Privacy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories) 

A number of developments have taken place since the initial appointments of independent officers were made. In 2001, the Legislative Assembly passed a new Integrity Act during its spring sitting, which was held in the community of Cambridge Bay. This Act was the final product of a comprehensive review undertaken by the Conflict of Interest Commissioner. The new Act consolidated conflict of interest provisions and other related matters applying to MLAs into a single statute, and replaced the position of Conflict of Interest Commissioner with an Integrity Commissioner. The incumbent office-holder was appointed as Integrity Commissioner.   

In 2001, the Standing Committee Ajauqtiit undertook a competitive recruitment and selection process for a new Chief Electoral Officer. Sandy Kusugak was appointed by the Commissioner on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly. The Management and Services Board (MSB) of the Legislative Assembly approved the relocation of the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (Elections Nunavut) to Rankin Inlet. 

In 2002, a new Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act was passed. This Act provided clear definitions of the positions considered to be independent officers of the Legislative Assembly. The Act also confirmed the ability of the MSB to determine the remuneration of independent officers of the Legislative Assembly, as well as approving the budgets for the operation of their offices for inclusion in the annual main estimates of the Legislative Assembly. In 2007-2008, the total amount approved for the operations of all offices of independent officers was $1,510,000. 

In 2002, the Legislative Assembly passed a new Nunavut Elections Act.  In 2004, the second general election was held. The Integrity Commissioner and the Information and Privacy Commissioner were reappointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut following the passage of motions in the House to recommend their reappointments. 

Roles,  Responsibilities and Reporting Relationships of the Independent Officers of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly 

Office  Appointed by  Term  Reports 

Integrity Commissioner
Robert Stanbury 

$100,000 has been allocated for this office in 2007-2008 

Appointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly, pursuant to the Integrity Act

The Integrity Commissioner advises MLAs on the ethical performance of their official duties and administers a system of standards and accountability under the Integrity Act

Five year appointment. The appointment of the present incumbent expires on May 12, 2009. 

Submits an annual report to the Legislative Assembly, which is tabled by the Speaker. 

To date, the Integrity Commissioner has reported only one breach of the Act. The Member in question undertook a number of actions to meet the recommendations in the report. 

Languages Commissioner
Johnny Kusugak
$620,000 has been allocated for this office in 2007-2008

Appointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly, pursuant to Nunavut’s Official Languages Act

The Languages Commissioner has a broad range of responsibilities under the Act, including monitoring government compliance with the legislation, receiving and resolving public complaints and promoting the language rights of Nunavut’s residents. 

Four year appointment. 

The appointment of the present incumbent expires on March 7, 2009 

Submits an annual report to the Legislative Assembly, which is tabled by the Speaker. 

The Standing Committee Ajauqtiit holds public hearings on these annual reports. 

Information and Privacy Commissioner
Elaine Keenan Bengts 

$40,000 has been allocated for this office in 2007-2008 

Appointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly, pursuant to the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act

The Information and Privacy Commissioner has a broad range of responsibilities under the Act, including monitoring government compliance with the legislation.  

Five year appointment. 

The appointment of the present incumbent expires on November 25, 2009. 

Submits an annual report to the Legislative Assembly, which is tabled by the Speaker. 

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Accountability holds public hearings on these annual reports. 

Chief Electoral Officer
Sandy Kusugak
$750,000 has been allocated for this office in 2007-2008 

Appointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly, pursuant to the Nunavut Elections Act

The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible for the administration of Nunavut’s territorial elections and plebiscites, including local plebiscites held under the Liquor Act

Seven year  appointment. 

The appointment of the present incumbent expires on November 28, 2008. 

Submits an annual report to the Legislative Assembly, which is tabled by the Speaker. 

The report on the 2004 general election contained a number of recommendations for amendments to the Elections Act. This report  was referred to the Committee of the Whole for scrutiny by all Members. Subsequently, a bill was introduced to implement a number of these recommendations 

The Standing Committee Ajauqtiit undertook a recruitment and selection process for a new Languages Commissioner, following the previous incumbent’s decision to not accept re-appointment. Interviews with potential candidates were held in the fall of 2004. The new Languages Commissioner, Johnny Kusugak, was appointed by the Commissioner of Nunavut in early 2005 following the passage of a motion in the House.  In 2007, the Report of the Integrity Commissioner on his statutorily-required 5-Year review of the Act was tabled in the Legislative Assembly. The Assembly approved a motion to confirm the Act in its present form. 

The Auditor General of Canada, Shelia Fraser, also serves as the auditor for the three territories. The Reports of the Auditor General are tabled in the Legislative Assembly by the Speaker and referred to the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Accountability for scrutiny. 

The Auditor General has appeared publicly a number of times before the Standing Committee to present her reports. Her most recent appearance was in June 2007. The Standing Committee has subsequently presented its own reports to the Legislative Assembly. 

The Rules of the Legislative Assembly require the government to table, upon request, a formal response to Standing Committee reports and recommendations.  Earlier this year, a formal motion was passed without opposition in the Legislative Assembly requesting that the Auditor General undertake a performance audit of the financial management practices of the territorial Department of Health and Social Services. The Auditor General has indicated that this audit will be undertaken and its results reported publicly to the Legislative Assembly. 

The June 2007 Report of the Auditor General to the Legislative Assembly on the Financial Assistance for Nunavut Students Program marked the first stand-alone performance audit of a specific government program. Reports on the territorial Business Credit Corporation and Housing Corporation are expected before the end of the year. 

Looking to the Future 

The Government of Nunavut has recently introduced a proposed new Official Languages Act and a proposed new Inuit Language Protection Act. The position of Languages Commissioner is proposed to remain an independent officer of the Legislative Assembly. Discussion is anticipated with respect to the proposed powers and duties of the Languages Commissioner. The establishment of a new body, the Inuit Uqausinginnik Taiguusiliuqtiit (Inuit Language Authority) is being proposed with the mandate to expand the knowledge and expertise available with respect to the Inuit language and make decisions and recommendations about Inuit language use, development and standardization. 

In his annual reports, the Integrity Commissioner has recommended that consideration be given to the issue of codifying in law a set of conflict of interest rules for senior public servants and other appointments. It is anticipated that the forthcoming new Public Service Act may address this issue. A number of MLAs have also raised the issue of establishing a formal mechanism for regulating the activities of lobbyists. 

The idea of establishing a new “Children’s Advocate” position as an independent officer of the Legislative Assembly has been raised in the House. The idea of consolidating the independent officers into a single “Ombudsperson” model has also received informal consideration. 

Elections Nunavut is developing a new Plebiscite Act. The concept of having this office also administer municipal elections and elections to such entities as Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (the land claims organization which represents the Inuit of Nunavut) may be achieved in the longer term. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
L'Assemblée législative du Nunavut et ses hauts fonctionnaires indépendants
Hunter Tootoo, député territorial

Le Nunavut, le tout dernier territoire canadien, a vu le jour en avril 1999. Lors de sa création, le Nunavut a hérité la majorité de ses lois des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Certains de ces textes établissent des postes de haut fonctionnaire indépendant de l'Assemblée législative, dont le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts, le commissaire aux langues, le directeur général des élections et le commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée. Le présent article traite des tâches de ces hauts fonctionnaires et d'autres fonctionnaires indépendants ainsi que des récents changements survenus au Nunavut. 

La première séance de l'Assemblée législative du Nunavut a eu lieu en avril 1999. Lors de cette séance, l'Assemblée législative a approuvé les mandats de ses comités permanents. Chaque comité permanent est composé de cinq simples députés (députés ne siégeant pas au Cabinet). Le Comité permanent Ajauqtiit s'est vu confier la responsabilité du processus initial de recrutement et de sélection de candidats aux postes de commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée, de commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et de commissaire aux langues. Le poste de directeur général des élections a d'abord été assumé par le greffier de l'Assemblée législative. 

Le Comité permanent a lancé un processus de recrutement et de sélection par concours axé sur le mérite. Tous les postes ont été annoncés dans les médias et les candidats potentiels ont été reçus en entrevue par le Comité constitué en jury de sélection, qui s'est servi, à cette fin, d'un ensemble de questions normalisées et convenues à l'avance. Les recommandations du Comité permanent ont été transmises à l'ensemble des députés (au nombre de 19) pour examen et ratification. Dans tous les cas, les recommandations du Comité ont été approuvées et les motions officielles recommandant la nomination des candidats retenus ont été adoptées à l'unanimité par la Chambre à l'automne 1999 et au printemps 2000. Le Comité permanent a déposé un rapport final sur chacune des nominations : 

  • commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts (Robert Stanbury) 
  • commissaire aux langues (Eva Aariak) 
  • commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée (Elaine Keenan Bengts) qui a aussi été commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. 

Un certain nombre de changements se sont produits depuis les premières nominations de hauts fonctionnaires indépendants. En 2001, l'Assemblée législative a adopté une nouvelle Loi sur l'intégrité au cours de sa session du printemps, qui s'est tenue dans la collectivité de Cambridge Bay. Le dépôt de cette loi faisait suite à un examen approfondi mené par le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts. Les dispositions relatives aux conflits d'intérêts et à des questions connexes ont ainsi été regroupées dans une seule et même loi, et le poste de commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts a été remplacé par un poste de commissaire à l'intégrité. Le titulaire de l'ancien poste a été nommé commissaire à l'intégrité. 

Rôles, responsabilités et liens hiérarchiques des hauts fonctionnaires indépendants de l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut 

Bureau  Nomination  Mandat  Présentation des rapports 

Commissaire à l’intégrité
Robert Stanbury
100 000 $ ont été alloués au Commissariat en 2007-2008

Le titulaire de ce poste est nommé par le commissaire du Nunavut sur la recommandation de l’Assemblée législative, conformément à la Loi sur l’intégrité.  

Le commissaire à l’intégrité conseille les députés afin qu’ils s’acquittent de leurs fonctions officielles avec intégrité et veille à ce que le code déontologique et les règles de reddition de comptes prévues par la Loi sur l’intégrité soient observés. 

Le titulaire est nommé pour un mandat de cinq ans. 

Le mandat de l’actuel titulaire prend fin le 12 mai 2009.  

Le commissaire à l’intégrité présente un rapport annuel à l’Assemblée législative, par l’entremise du président. 

Jusqu’ici, le commissaire à l’intégrité n’a signalé qu’une seule infraction à la Loi. Le député fautif a pris un certain nombre de mesures pour se conformer aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport. 

Commissaire aux langues
 Johnny Kusugak 

620 000 $ ont été alloués au Commissariat en 2007-2008 

Le titulaire de ce poste est nommé par le commissaire du Nunavut sur la recommandation de l’Assemblée législative, conformément à la Loi sur les langues officielles du Nunavut. 

La Loi confère au commissaire aux langues un large éventail de responsabilités. Il lui incombe notamment de veiller à ce que le gouvernement se conforme à la Loi, de recevoir les plaintes du public et d’y donner suite, et de promouvoir les droits linguistiques des habitants du Nunavut. 

Le titulaire est nommé pour un mandat de quatre ans. 

Le mandat du titulaire actuel prend fin le 7 mars 2009. 

Le commissaire aux langues présente un rapport annuel à l’Assemblée législative, par l’entremise du président. 

Le Comité permanent Ajauqtiit tient des audiences publiques sur ces rapports annuels. 

Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée
 Elaine Keenan Bengts 

40 000 $ ont été alloués au Commissariat en 2007-2008 

Le titulaire de ce poste est nommé par le commissaire du Nunavut sur la recommandation de l’Assemblée législative, conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.  

La Loi confère au commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée un large éventail de responsabilités. Il lui incombe notamment de veiller à ce que le gouvernement se conforme à la loi. 

Le titulaire est nommé pour un mandat de cinq ans. 

Le mandat du titulaire actuel prend fin le 25 novembre 2009. 

Le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée présente un rapport annuel à l’Assemblée législative, par l’entremise du président.  

Le Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et de la reddition de comptes tient des audiences publiques sur ces rapports annuels. 

Directrice générale des élections
Sandy Kusugak

750 000 $ ont été alloués au Bureau en 2007-2008 

Le titulaire de ce poste est nommé par le commissaire du Nunavut sur la recommandation de l’Assemblée législative, conformément à la Loi électorale du Nunavut. 

Le directeur général des élections est responsable de l’administration des élections et des référendums territoriaux du Nunavut, notamment des référendums tenus localement en vertu de la Loi sur les boissons alcoolisées. 

Le titulaire est nommé pour un mandat de sept ans. Le mandat de la titulaire actuelle prend fin le 28 novembre 2008. 

Le directeur général des élections présente un rapport annuel à l’Assemblée législative, par l’entremise du président. 

Le rapport du directeur général des élections sur les élections générales de 2004 renferme un certain nombre de recommandations de modifications à apporter à la Loi électorale. Ce rapport a été renvoyé au Comité plénier afin d’être examiné par l’ensemble des députés. 

Un projet de loi a, par la suite, été déposé pour mettre en œuvre un certain nombre de ces recommandations. 

 

En 2001, le Comité permanent Ajauqtiit a lancé un processus de recrutement et de sélection par concours pour désigner un nouveau directeur général des élections. Sandy Kusugak a été nommée par le commissaire sur la recommandation de l'Assemblée législative. Le Bureau de régie et des services (BRS) de l'Assemblée législative a approuvé le déménagement du Bureau du directeur général des élections (Élections Nunavut) à Rankin Inlet. 

En 2002, une nouvelle Loi sur l'Assemblée législative et le Conseil exécutif a été adoptée. Cette loi définit clairement les postes dont les titulaires sont considérés comme des hauts fonctionnaires indépendants de l'Assemblée législative. La Loi confirme aussi la capacité du BRS de décider de la rémunération des hauts fonctionnaires indépendants de l'Assemblée législative, et d'approuver les budgets de fonctionnement de leurs bureaux respectifs en vue de leur intégration au budget principal annuel de l'Assemblée législative. En 2007 2008, le montant total approuvé pour les activités de l'ensemble des bureaux des hauts fonctionnaires indépendants s'élève à 1 510 000 dollars. 

En 2002, l'Assemblée législative a adopté la nouvelle Loi électorale du Nunavut. En 2004, les deuxièmes élections générales ont eu lieu. Le commissaire à l'intégrité et la commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée ont été reconduits dans leurs fonctions par le commissaire du Nunavut à la suite de l'adoption, par la Chambre, de motions recommandant leur reconduction. 

Le Comité permanent Ajauqtiit a lancé un processus de recrutement et de sélection pour désigner un nouveau commissaire aux langues à la suite du refus de la titulaire sortante d'être reconduite. Les candidats potentiels ont été reçus en entrevue à l'automne 2004. Le nouveau commissaire aux langues, Johnny Kusugak, a été nommé par le commissaire du Nunavut au début de 2005 après l'adoption, par la Chambre, d'une motion à cet effet. En 2007, le commissaire à l'intégrité a déposé à l'Assemblée législative son rapport sur l'examen quinquennal de la Loi sur l'intégrité qu'il est tenu d'effectuer. L'Assemblée a adopté une motion de confirmation de la Loi dans sa forme actuelle. 

La vérificatrice générale du Canada, Sheila Fraser, agit aussi comme vérificatrice pour les trois territoires. Ses rapports sont déposés à l'Assemblée législative par le président et renvoyés au Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et de la reddition de comptes pour être examinés en détail. La vérificatrice générale a comparu à un certain nombre de reprises devant le Comité permanent pour présenter ses rapports. Sa plus récente comparution remonte à juin 2007. Le Comité permanent présente ensuite ses propres rapports à l'Assemblée législative. 

Le Règlement de l'Assemblée législative oblige le gouvernement à déposer, sur demande, une réponse officielle aux rapports et aux recommandations du Comité permanent. Plus tôt cette année, une motion officielle a été adoptée sans opposition par l'Assemblée législative pour demander que la vérificatrice générale procède à une vérification du rendement des pratiques de gestion financière du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du territoire. La vérificatrice générale a indiqué que cette vérification sera effectuée et fera l'objet d'un rapport officiel à l'Assemblée législative.  

Le rapport de la vérificatrice générale du Canada de juin 2007 à l'Assemblée législative du Nunavut sur le Programme d'aide financière aux étudiants du Nunavut est la première vérification indépendante du rendement d'un programme gouvernemental précis. Des rapports sur la Société de crédit aux entreprises et la Société d'habitation du territoire sont attendus d'ici la fin de l'année. 

Perspectives d'avenir 

Le gouvernement du Nunavut a récemment déposé un nouveau projet de loi sur les langues officielles et un nouveau projet de loi sur la protection de la langue inuite. On y propose que le commissaire aux langues demeure un haut fonctionnaire indépendant de l'Assemblée législative. Des discussions sont prévues au sujet des pouvoirs et des attributions qui sont prévus pour le commissaire. On y propose aussi la création d'une nouvelle entité, en l'occurrence l'Inuit Uqausinginnik Taiguusiliuqtiit (office de la langue inuite), dont le mandat consisterait à élargir les connaissances et l'expertise actuelle relativement à la langue inuite, à prendre des décisions et à formuler des recommandations concernant l'utilisation, le développement et la normalisation de la langue inuite. 

Dans ses rapports annuels, le commissaire à l'intégrité a recommandé que l'on envisage de légiférer pour adopter un ensemble de règles sur les conflits d'intérêts qui soient applicables aux hauts fonctionnaires et aux autres titulaires de charges publiques. La nouvelle Loi sur la fonction publique attendue sous peu devrait aborder cette question. Un certain nombre de députés ont également évoqué la possibilité de mettre en place un mécanisme officiel pour réglementer les activités des lobbyistes. 

L'idée de créer un nouveau poste de « défenseur des enfants », qui serait aussi un fonctionnaire indépendant de l'Assemblée législative, a été soulevée à la Chambre. De plus, l'idée de regrouper les hauts fonctionnaires indépendants dans une fonction unique d' « ombudsman » a été examinée de façon informelle.  

Élections Nunavut travaille actuellement à l'élaboration d'une nouvelle Loi sur les référendums. L'idée de confier à cette entité l'administration des élections municipales et des élections au sein d'entités comme la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (l'organisme responsable des revendications territoriales qui représente les Inuits du Nunavut) pourrait bien se concrétiser à plus long terme. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29