Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Children: The Silenced Citizens
Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

Canada took a leadership role in drafting the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and in encouraging widespread adherence. The convention took its final form in 1989 and Canada ratified in 1991. The Convention is the first legally binding international instrument to describe civil, cultural, economic, political and social rights specifically for children. 

In 2004, the Senate Committee on Human Rights began a study on the rights of children. Over the next three years the Committee heard eye-opening testimony about Canadian children and youth whose futures were at risk. We heard stories about children who were being subjected to violence, who were being exploited sexually, who were tangled in the justice system, children with disabilities who were not receiving the services they need to grow into their full potential. We heard about immigrant children who were separated from their families and about children who were forced by the system to be on their own just when they were starting to put their troubled lives back together. 

The Convention could be a useful mechanism for these children. It protects children's rights by setting standards in health care; education; and legal, civil and social services. International human rights treaties are rarely incorporated directly into Canadian law, but are indirectly implemented by ensuring that pre-existing legislation is in conformity with the obligations accepted in a particular convention. Parliament plays no role in ratification, thus international human rights treaties that are not directly incorporated into domestic legislation bypass the parliamentary process. Implementation of international law where provincial laws and policies are affected is the responsibility of the federal, provincial and territorial governments. 

Numerous witnesses expressed concern about the lack of awareness in government, in Parliament, and among the public, of the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the rights enshrined in it. Throughout our hearings, we became aware that there is very little knowledge of the Convention outside academic and advocacy circles. Canada does report to the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child and receives that Committee's Concluding Observations, but there is little follow-up. 

In government, even among those dedicated to protecting children's rights, knowledge of the nearly 20-year-old Convention is spotty at best. The Committee has discovered that some government officials working towards the protection of children's rights seem to operate in ignorance of the international tool at their disposal. In many respects, the Convention is simply not used as a means or a framework to protect children's rights. 

In its Report tabled on April 26, 2007, the Committee found that the federal government's approach to compliance with children's rights, and with the Convention in particular, is inadequate. Jurisdictional complexities, the absence of effective institutions, an uncertain approach to human rights law, and lack of transparency and political involvement indicate that the Convention is being ineffectively applied in the Canadian context. 

To push both the issue and respect for the democratic process further, we need enhanced accountability, increased parliamentary and public input, and a more open approach to compliance that promotes transparency and enhanced political will. 

The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child is not solidly embedded in Canadian law, in policy, or in the national psyche. Governments and courts use it only as a strongly worded guiding principle with which they attempt to ensure that laws conform, rather than acting as if they are bound by it. 

No body is in charge of ensuring that the Convention is effectively implemented in Canada, and the political will is lacking. Implementation is the key to making the Convention work. For Canada to claim that it fully respects the rights and freedoms of its children and to remain a human rights leader in the international sphere, it must improve its level of actual compliance. The government needs to take the lead with respect to implementation of the Convention. 

The Committee proposed measures to guarantee systematic monitoring of the Convention's implementation in order to ensure effective compliance. In order to comply with the UN Convention, Canada must establish a Children's Commissioner and ensure greater coordination of children's issues at the federal level through a Federal Interdepartmental Working Group for Children. 

The Committee also emphasized the need for awareness-raising with respect to both the Convention and the rights-based approach embedded within it. Most importantly, through its recommendations, the Committee sought to strengthen the active involvement of children in all institutions and processes affecting their rights. Children's voices rarely inform government decisions, yet they are one of the groups most affected by government action or inaction. Children are not merely underrepresented; they are almost not represented at all. Our Committee strongly believes that children should be meaningfully consulted on all significant issues affecting their rights and lives. 

The child's right to participate and to be heard is an important political right - it is one of the most fundamental principles underlying the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Our Committee heard over and over again how children and youth feel that they are not consulted or that their views are discounted, often on matters that have a significant impact on their lives. Articles 12 to 15 of the Convention stipulate that in the appropriate circumstances, the child has a right to be heard in matters that affect his or her well-being. Not only is this a right, but it is also an important part of effective decision- and policy-making. 

We must also ensure meaningful participation from children in decision-making about laws and policies affecting their lives. Parents, educators, governments can help in addressing the problems of these particular groups by ensuring that children are involved and consulted on issues concerning them; by becoming aware of the Convention rights themselves - learning about their own rights and responsibilities as well as those of children; by putting the Convention into school curricula; by passing laws and developing policies that are sensitive to children's rights; and by ensuring that the political will exists and is acted on in order to ensure the effective protection of children's rights. 

In terms of specific rights, the Committee made these, among other recommendations: 

  • Implement a national strategy to combat bullying; 
  • Develop and implement a strategy to combat the commercial sexual exploitation of children; 
  • Develop a federal strategy to combat child poverty that should include preventative measures aimed at high-risk families and a comprehensive housing strategy. 
  • That the federal, provincial and territorial governments, as well as parents, ensure that safe conditions exist for children who do work, and that such children are informed of their rights and encouraged to remain in school.  

In terms of Aboriginal children in Canada, we must: 

  • Target funding as a priority for "least disruptive measures" with respect to child welfare, accompanied by an increased emphasis on prevention and early intervention; 
  • Make housing a top priority and develop enhanced initiatives to promote economic development on-reserve; 
  • Provide more funding to ensure that support services continue for Aboriginal children living off-reserve; 
  • Review the services that it provides to Aboriginal communities to ensure that the approach and content are effectively tailored to meet the specific needs of Aboriginal children, youth, and families -  this includes working directly with Aboriginal communities in the development of programs and services designed to meet their needs; 
  • Expand the ability of health services to provide in-home supports, and to get involved early and work with children in their homes; 
  • Accelerate work with provincial and territorial ministers of education to discuss ways in which Aboriginal people can be encouraged to become teachers and to work on reserves; 
  • Ensure that all federal policies and legislation with respect to Aboriginal children place particular emphasis on the need to take the cultural needs of Aboriginal children into account. 

In 2005, there were 7 million children in Canada. Those children are citizens, and as citizens, they have rights with concomitant responsibilities. If we want our children to mature to their full potential as adult citizens, we have a responsibility as a country to give them the best start in life we can offer. Implementing the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in Canada is an excellent first step. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les enfants : des citoyens sans voix
Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice

Le Canada a pris une part active à la rédaction de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant des Nations Unies et aux efforts déployés pour gagner le plus d'adhésions possible. La Convention a été adoptée dans sa forme définitive en 1989 et le Canada l'a ratifiée en 1991. Il s'agit du premier instrument international légalement contraignant qui décrit les droits civils, culturels, économiques, politiques et sociaux propres aux enfants.  

En 2004, le Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne a entrepris une étude sur les droits des enfants. Au cours des trois années suivantes, le Comité a entendu des témoignages révélateurs d'enfants et de jeunes dont l'avenir était menacé. Nous avons entendu des témoignages concernant des enfants victimes de violence, exploités sexuellement, empêtrés dans le système de justice, et des enfants handicapés qui ne recevaient pas les services dont ils avaient besoin afin de développer pleinement leur potentiel. On nous a aussi entretenus de ces enfants immigrants qui ont été séparés de leur famille et de ces enfants contraints par le système à se débrouiller seuls alors qu'ils commençaient à peine à reconstruire leur vie. 

La Convention pourrait devenir un mécanisme de protection efficace pour ces enfants, car elle protège leurs droits en établissant des normes en matière de santé et d'éducation, et de services juridiques, publics et sociaux. Les traités internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne sont rarement intégrés directement au droit canadien. Ils sont plutôt mis en œuvre indirectement grâce à l'adoption de mesures pour rendre les lois déjà en vigueur conformes aux obligations convenues dans une convention particulière. Le Parlement n'intervient pas non plus dans leur ratification, de sorte que les traités internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne qui ne sont pas directement intégrés aux lois nationales échappent au processus parlementaire. La mise en œuvre d'un traité international ayant une incidence sur les lois et les politiques provinciales relève de la responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral et des provinces et territoires. 

De nombreux témoins se sont dits inquiets du degré de méconnaissance de la Convention et des droits qui y sont consacrés tant au gouvernement et au Parlement que dans la population en général. Au fil de nos audiences, nous en sommes venus à la conclusion que la Convention est très peu connue en dehors des milieux universitaires et des groupes de défense des droits de l'enfant. Le Canada fait bien rapport au Comité des droits de l'enfant des Nations Unies et reçoit les observations finales de ce Comité, mais à peu près aucune autre mesure n'est prise. 

Au gouvernement, même parmi ceux qui s'efforcent de protéger les droits des enfants, la connaissance de cette Convention qui a maintenant presque 20 ans est au mieux lacunaire. Le Comité a découvert que certains agents gouvernementaux qui travaillent à la protection des droits de l'enfant semblent s'acquitter de leurs tâches en ignorant l'instrument international qui est à leur disposition. À de nombreux égards, la Convention n'est tout simplement pas utilisée comme instrument ou comme cadre de protection des droits de l'enfant. 

Dans son rapport déposé le 26 avril 2007, le Comité estime que l'approche adoptée par le gouvernement fédéral pour se conformer aux dispositions qui régissent les droits des enfants, et à la Convention en particulier, est inadéquate. Les subtilités des champs de compétence, l'absence d'institutions efficaces, une approche incertaine à l'égard du droit des droits de la personne ainsi que le manque de transparence et de volonté politique indiquent que la Convention est appliquée de manière inefficace dans le contexte canadien. 

Pour faire avancer ce dossier et pour promouvoir le respect du processus démocratique, il faut exiger une plus grande responsabilité de tous les intervenants, favoriser l'intervention du Parlement et du public, et adopter une approche plus ouverte à l'égard du respect de nos obligations de manière à accroître la transparence et à débloquer la volonté politique. 

La Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant n'est pas solidement enchâssée dans le droit canadien, dans nos politiques, pas plus que dans la psyché nationale. Les gouvernements et les tribunaux n'y voient qu'un principe directeur catégorique, auquel ils essaient de s'assurer que les lois se conforment, plutôt que de se considérer comme liés par elle. 

De plus, aucun organisme n'est chargé de s'assurer que la Convention est appliquée de manière efficace au Canada et il n'y a pas de volonté politique. La mise en application est essentielle si on veut que la Convention joue son rôle. Pour que le Canada puisse soutenir qu'il respecte pleinement les droits et libertés de ses enfants et demeure un chef de file dans le dossier des droits de la personne sur la scène internationale, il doit rehausser son niveau de conformité. Le gouvernement doit prendre les devants dans le dossier de l'application de la Convention. 

Le Comité a proposé d'adopter des mesures pour garantir la surveillance systématique de la mise en œuvre de la Convention et forcer ainsi son respect. Afin de se conformer à la Convention, le Canada doit établir un poste de commissaire à l'enfance et mieux coordonner, au palier fédéral, les dossiers qui concernent les enfants par l'entremise d'un groupe de travail interministériel sur les enfants. 

Le Comité a aussi mis l'accent sur la nécessité de sensibiliser davantage le public, tant à la Convention qu'au traitement juridique des droits qui y sont enchâssés. Plus important encore, par l'entremise de ses recommandations, le Comité a tenté de renforcer la participation active des enfants à toutes les institutions et démarches qui ont une incidence sur leurs droits. Le point de vue des enfants est rarement pris en compte dans les décisions gouvernementales, même s'ils forment l'un des groupes les plus touchés par l'action ou l'inaction du gouvernement. Les enfants ne sont pas simplement sous-représentés, ils ne sont pratiquement pas représentés du tout. Notre Comité croit fermement que les enfants devraient être consultés de manière significative sur toutes les questions importantes ayant des répercussions sur leurs droits et sur leur vie. 

Le droit de l'enfant de participer et d'être entendu est un droit politique important – c'est en fait l'un des principes les plus fondamentaux de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant. Notre Comité a entendu des témoins lui affirmer à maintes et maintes reprises que les enfants et les jeunes se plaignent de n'être pas consultés et de voir leurs points de vue mis de côté, souvent sur des questions qui ont une incidence significative sur leur vie. Les articles 12 et 15 de la Convention prévoient que dans des circonstances appropriées, l'enfant a le droit d'être entendu sur toute question qui a des répercussions sur son bien-être. Non seulement c'est un droit, mais c'est également un volet important de la prise de décision et des l'élaboration de politiques. 

Il faut aussi assurer la participation active des enfants aux décisions relatives aux lois et aux politiques qui les concernent. Parents, éducateurs, pouvoirs publics peuvent aider à traiter les problèmes de ces groupes en veillant à impliquer et à consulter les enfants dans les dossiers d'intérêt pour eux; en se familiarisant avec les droits que confère la Convention ainsi qu'avec leurs propres droits et responsabilités et ceux des enfants; en incluant la Convention dans les programmes scolaires; en adoptant des lois et en élaborant des politiques qui tiennent compte des droits des enfants; et en s'assurant que la volonté politique est là et qu'elle conduit à une meilleure protection des droits des enfants. 

Pour ce qui est des droits spécifiques, le Comité a formulé diverses recommandations dont les suivantes : 

  • adopter une stratégie nationale de lutte contre l'intimidation; 
  • élaborer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie de lutte contre l'exploitation sexuelle commerciale des enfants; 
  • élaborer une stratégie fédérale de lutte contre la pauvreté infantile qui doit comprendre des mesures préventives visant des familles particulièrement vulnérables, ainsi qu'une stratégie de logement universelle; 
  • le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces, les territoires ainsi que les parents doivent veiller à ce que les enfants qui travaillent le fassent dans des conditions sécuritaires, reçoivent de l'information sur leurs droits et soient encouragés à poursuivre leurs études. 

Pour ce qui est des enfants autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral doit :  

  • accorder la priorité au financement des « mesures les moins perturbantes » pour promouvoir le bien-être des enfants et mettre davantage l'accent sur la prévention et l'intervention précoce; 
  • faire du logement une grande priorité et élaborer des initiatives plus efficaces afin de promouvoir le développement économique dans les réserves; 
  • accorder plus de fonds au maintien des services d'aide destinés aux enfants autochtones vivant hors réserve; 
  • examiner les services qui sont fournis aux collectivités autochtones afin de s'assurer que l'approche et le contenu sont suffisamment adaptés aux besoins précis des enfants, des jeunes et des familles autochtones et, pour ce faire, collaborer directement avec les collectivités autochtones à l'élaboration de programmes et de services qui répondront à leurs besoins;  
  • élargir la portée des services de santé afin qu'ils soient aussi offerts à domicile et puissent intervenir tôt auprès des enfants à domicile; 
  • accélérer ses discussions avec les ministres de l'éducation des provinces et des territoires au sujet des mesures pouvant être prises afin d'encourager les Autochtones à exercer le métier d'enseignant dans les réserves; 
  • veiller à ce que toutes les politiques et mesures législatives fédérales concernant les enfants autochtones insistent sur la nécessité de tenir compte des besoins culturels de ces enfants. 

En 2005, 7 millions d'enfants vivaient au Canada. Ces enfants sont des citoyens et à ce titre, ils ont des droits et des responsabilités. Si nous voulons que nos enfants développent pleinement leur potentiel lorsqu'ils grandissent et deviennent des citoyens adultes, nous avons la responsabilité, en tant que pays, de leur offrir le meilleur départ possible dans la vie. La mise en application de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant au Canada serait un excellent moyen de faire un pas dans la bonne direction. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15