Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Accountability and Prosperity
John Williams

The developed world spends nearly $60 billon US annually in aid to developing countries and yet there appears to be no end to the poverty and despair which the aid is supposed to alleviate. The slogans continue – “Make Poverty History”, “Cut infant mortality in half by 2015”, etc., but real sustainable progress is difficult to discern. Why does all this money seem to go into a bottomless pit? And where can we turn for ideas to increase the effectiveness of our aid? 

Perhaps we should look at ourselves in the developed world and ask what it is that brings us our prosperity that appears to be lacking elsewhere. 

One concept, encapsulated in a single word, is largely present in the developed world, but is often weak or missing elsewhere: accountability. Accountability is the simple notion that we are held accountable for our deeds and actions. We respect the rules or pay a price for breaking them. 

Accountability can be defined as “forces beyond our control that cause us to think and act in a certain way.” Accountability in the developed world is built into our daily lives. Our performance at work must be satisfactory in order to keep our jobs. We must pay our bills on time if we want to enjoy good credit. We respect traffic lights and speed limits if we want to avoid traffic tickets and demerit points on our licenses. In each situation, when we break the rules there is a reaction by someone whom we do not control, but who has the capacity to pass judgment and impose a penalty on us. These are only three examples of a complex web of accountabilities which we have developed to build a prosperous society founded on ethical behaviour. 

Accountability is all around us. The private sector is held accountable by competition and by government regulation. While the competitor is beyond the control of the business manager, we cannot say that government regulation is always beyond the control of the business manager. If a company can influence government regulation to provide it with a special benefit, e.g. government tenders written to meet the specifications of the company's product, then government regulation is no longer a force beyond the company's control. 

For governments, however, there are no competitors and their own regulations are obviously not beyond their control. So where is the accountability for government? In a democracy, governments are accountable to Parliament. Parliamentarians are elected by their constituents to publicly oversee the government. Every political party seeks to form government and obtain a majority in Parliament at election time to support its agenda. That, coupled with rules designed to reward support of government and punish individuality, ensures that Parliament is not a force completely beyond the control of government. 

Parliaments have evolved as the democratic overseers of government with four specific responsibilities: 

  • To publicly debate and approve legislation granting the government authority to manage society and deliver services. 
  • To publicly debate and grant authority to government to raise necessary funds through taxation (the budget). 
  • To publicly debate and grant authority to the government to spend money on specific services and programs for society (the estimates). 
  • To require government to report to Parliament in a public way. 

When Parliament is independent, i.e. beyond the control of government, it acts for the benefit of the electorate to ensure that government delivers focused programs, lower taxation and a growing healthy economy. 

While all Parliaments are influenced by government, the question is to what degree? How independent is Parliament? How well is the electorate informed by a free and open media, and are elections fair and honest to keep parliamentarians accountable? 

In the developed world, Parliaments are a reasonable independent, open, and transparent check on government, hence our prosperity. For the rest of the world, Parliaments are dominated by their governments – one-party states being a common example of a compliant Parliament. Bribery and coercion of parliamentarians often ensure that Parliament is not a force beyond the control of government. Intimidation of parliamentarians, including jail or assassination guarantees the lack of accountability. 

A compliant Parliament may be a wonderful thing for those in power but it produces an impoverished society. When people in government steal their nation's taxes with impunity, there is no accountability, Parliament has failed to exercise democratic oversight and society breaks down. 

It would therefore seem that foreign aid should focus on instilling the concepts of democratic oversight by well-functioning and independent Parliaments in the developing world.  Building domestic accountability of a government will make the government listen to its citizens. 

No one votes for poverty, infant mortality, illiteracy, inadequate health care, sub-standard housing and non-existent municipal services, but when corruption is out of control, that is what the people receive. 

Lack of accountability of government ensures that corruption is alive and well. Theft of state assets by people in power continues unchecked, and the impoverished masses have little hope of their governments being responsive to their needs. 

Foreign aid by itself is laudable, but aid by itself is not sufficient. Improved governance and accountability of governments must be part of the solution.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Responsabilité et prospérité
John Williams

Le monde développé a beau verser en aide aux pays sous-développés près de 60 milliards de dollars américains par an, la pauvreté et le désespoir que cette aide est censée soulager semblent perdurer. Les slogans continuent — « Éliminons la pauvreté », « Réduisons de moitié la mortalité infantile d’ici 2015 », etc. —, mais les progrès réels et durables sont difficiles à discerner. Pourquoi tout cet argent semble-t-il tomber dans un puits sans fond? Et vers qui pouvons-nous nous tourner pour augmenter l’efficacité de notre aide? 

Peut-être faudrait-il nous regarder nous-mêmes et nous demander ce qui apporte au monde développé la prospérité qui semble faire défaut ailleurs. 

Un principe, qu’on peut résumer par un seul mot, est largement présent dans le monde développé, mais est souvent peu présent ou absent ailleurs. C’est la responsabilité, l’idée simple que nous devons répondre de nos faits et gestes. Nous devons respecter les règles ou accepter d’en payer le prix lorsque nous les violons. 

La responsabilité peut se définir comme « une force incontrôlable qui nous pousse à penser et à agir d’une certaine façon ». Dans le monde développé, la responsabilité fait partie de la vie quotidienne. Notre rendement au travail doit être satisfaisant pour que nous conservions notre emploi. Nous devons payer nos factures à temps si nous voulons jouir d’une bonne cote de crédit. Nous devons respecter les feux de circulation et les limites de vitesse pour éviter les contraventions et les points d’inaptitude. Dans chaque cas, lorsque nous violons les règles, il y a réaction de la part de quelqu’un qui échappe à notre contrôle, mais qui a la capacité de nous juger et de nous infliger une pénalité. Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples de l’écheveau de responsabilités que nous avons développé pour nous donner une société prospère fondée sur l’éthique. 

La responsabilité est omniprésente. Dans le secteur privé, ce sont la concurrence et la réglementation par l’État qui la garantissent. Si la concurrence échappe au contrôle du gestionnaire d’entreprise, on peut affirmer qu’il n’en est pas toujours de même de la réglementation de l’État. Quand une entreprise peut influencer la réglementation de l’État de manière à en retirer un avantage particulier, comme dans le cas des appels d’offres rédigés de façon à se conformer aux caractéristiques du produit d’une compagnie, cette réglementation n’est plus alors une force échappant au contrôle de l’entreprise. 

Pour le gouvernement, il n’y a toutefois pas de concurrence et sa réglementation n’échappe évidemment pas à son contrôle. Comment assurer alors sa responsabilité? Dans une démocratie, le gouvernement est comptable au Parlement. Les parlementaires sont choisis par leurs électeurs pour surveiller publiquement le gouvernement. Au moment des élections, chaque parti politique cherche à former le gouvernement et à obtenir une majorité au Parlement pour pouvoir mettre en œuvre son programme. Si on ajoute à cela les règles conçues pour récompenser ceux qui appuient le gouvernement et punir ceux qui font bande à part, on voit bien que le Parlement n’échappe pas entièrement au contrôle du gouvernement. 

Les parlements sont devenus des surveillants démocratiques du gouvernement qui doivent assumer quatre fonctions précises : 

  • débattre publiquement et approuver les lois conférant au gouvernement le pouvoir de gérer la société et de fournir des services; 
  • débattre publiquement et approuver les textes conférant au gouvernement le pouvoir de lever les taxes et impôts nécessaires (le budget); 
  • débattre publiquement et approuver les textes conférant au gouvernement le pouvoir de consacrer les fonds publics à des services et programmes utiles à la société (les documents budgétaires); 
  • veiller à ce que le gouvernement lui rende des comptes publiquement. 

Lorsque le Parlement est indépendant, c’est-à-dire quand il échappe au contrôle du gouvernement, il travaille dans l’intérêt de l’électorat pour s’assurer que le gouvernement exécute des programmes ciblés, allège la fiscalité et améliore la santé de l’économie. 

Tous les parlements subissent l’influence du gouvernement, mais, ce qu’il faut se demander, c’est dans quelle mesure. Jusqu’à quel point le Parlement est-il indépendant? Dans quelle mesure l’électorat est-il bien informé grâce à des médias libres et transparents? Les élections sont-elles justes et équitables, de manière à tenir les parlementaires comptables de leurs faits et gestes? 

Dans le monde développé, le Parlement exerce un contrôle raisonnablement indépendant, ouvert et transparent sur le gouvernement, d’où notre prospérité. Dans le reste du monde, il est dominé par le gouvernement — les États à parti unique offrant un exemple commun de Parlement complaisant. Les pots-de-vin et la coercition des parlementaires sont souvent utilisés pour s’assurer que le Parlement n’échappe pas au contrôle du gouvernement. Les mesures d’intimidation des parlementaires, y compris l’emprisonnement et l’assassinat, garantissent l’irresponsabilité du gouvernement. 

Un parlement docile peut être une chose merveilleuse pour les gouvernants, mais il engendre une société appauvrie. Lorsque les gouvernants volent impunément les impôts nationaux, il n’y a pas de responsabilité. Le Parlement n’est pas parvenu à exercer de surveillance démocratique et la société se désagrège. 

Je crois donc que l’aide étrangère doit viser à instiller dans le monde en développement le concept de surveillance démocratique exercée par des parlements fonctionnels et indépendants. Quand il est tenu responsable de ses faits et gestes, le gouvernement écoute ses citoyens. 

Personne ne vote pour la pauvreté, la mortalité infantile, l’analphabétisme, des soins de santé insatisfaisants, des logements insalubres et des services municipaux inexistants, mais, lorsque la corruption sévit, c’est ce que vivent les électeurs. 

Quand un gouvernement n’a pas de comptes à rendre sur ses faits et gestes, la corruption se développe sans frein. Les gouvernants continuent de voler impunément les biens de l’État et les masses appauvries ont peu d’espoir que l’État réponde à leurs besoins. 

L’aide étrangère est louable en soi, mais elle ne suffit pas. La solution passe aussi par l’amélioration de la gouvernance et de la responsabilisation des gouvernements. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03