Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

Constituent Assemblies: A Comparative Survey by Patrick Fafard and Darrell Reid, Institute for Intergovernmental Relations, Kingston, 1991, 52p; Constituent Assemblies: The Canadian Debate in Historical Context by Patrick Monahan, Lynda Covello and Jonathan Batty, York University, Centre for Public Law and Public Policy, 1992, 52p;What If The Wheels Fall Off The Constitutional Bus, by Gordon Gibson, Canada West Foundation, 1992, 15p.

The demise of the Meech Lake Accord in 1990 was widely interpreted as a failure of executive federalism (First Ministers Meetings) to provide the mechanism for serious constitutional negotiation. The August 1992 agreement by First Ministers plus aboriginal and territorial representatives has bolstered the argument of those who say executive federalism was not dead but merely sleeping. Nevertheless during the two year intermission some Canadians began to dream unCanadian dreams about a new constitution worked out not by leaders of governments with vested interests in the outcome but by a wider and representative body of Canadians chosen specifically for the task of devising a new constitution.

The proponents of a Constitutional Convention or Constituent Assembly included at one time or another Premiers like Clyde Wells, parliamentary committees like the Manitoba Task Force on the Constitution, private members of Parliament like the NDP members of the Beaudoin-Edwards Committee on Constitutional Amendment, or David Kilgour of the Liberals, Keith Spicer of the Citizen's Forum, newspapers like the Toronto Star and a throng of academics and ordinary citizens across Canada.

Major obstacles in the way of a constituent assembly, besides the unexpected resilience of executive federalist forces, were the innate conservatism of Canadians and the absence of any serious study of how a constituent assembly might work and whether it would be appropriate to the contemporary Canadian political context. It is unlikely anything will change centuries of Canadian political culture but the absence of literature on the subject has been addressed, to some extent, by three recent studies.

The Fafard-Reid and Monahan Covello-Batty studies are peas in a pod. Both claim to be neither for or against the idea of constituent assemblies; both begin by raising some of the questions that need to be addressed in contemplating constituent assemblies, both use case studies of other countries to attempt to answer the questions; both conclude that Canada is not ripe for such a radical step. The Fafard-Reid manuscript is based on a report originally prepared for the Federal-Provincial Relations Office of the Government of Canada. The Monahan-Covello- Batty paper was one of eleven background studies of York University's Constitutional Reform Project.

The York document looked at four case studies: Spain 1977-79; Australia 1972-85; Germany after the Second World War; and Newfoundland 1947-49. The Queen's study looked at these as well as the United States 1787-88, Canada, 1864-1866, Switzerland 1848, India 1946-47, Pakistan, Malaysia, Nigeria, the West Indies Federation. Rhodesia and Nyasaland, Nicaragua, and Namibia. Among the significant features compared in the Queen's study were the background and origins of the constituent assembly, the overall structure and mandate, the operating procedures and styles, the disposition of the results and the contextual factors. The York Study reduced these to four: the catalyst for the Constituent Assembly, its operation, consensus and public participation in the process.

Both conclude with lessons for Canada. The lesson, in the words of Monahan-Covello-Batty is that "a constituent assembly would appear to be an unlikely way to achieve a successful resolution of the current constitutional debate in this country" (p. 46). Fafard and Reid conclude much the same although the tone is more pedagogical and open to some interpretation.

The essay by Gibson takes a completely different approach. He admits a constituent assembly goes against all Canadian political traditions. But he points out that the post 1982 mechanism for negotiating constitutional change has not worked well. Still, he does not say we absolutely need a constituent convention to resolve our constitutional differences he merely points out that if the present round of modified executive federalism (First Ministers plus referenda) does not work better than the Meech Lake round of pure executive federalism we better be prepared to have a backup plan. Unlike many advocates of constituent assembly he goes into some detail as to exactly how it should work. Gibson is not a scholar and he does not spend much time comparing apples and oranges. He is a businessman, a former leader of the Liberal Party in British Columbia who addresses most of the concerns raised in the other two studies, many of which he dismisses as "scarecrows" intended to keep the constitutional agenda squarely in the hands of those who have always made these decision.

Gibson's work has to be read in conjunction with the increasing body of literature claiming that Canadians, English Canadians at least, consider themselves shareholders in the constitution and want to have a say in any important changes. A referendum on the First Ministerial agreement will go part way to satisfying these people. But taken to its logical conclusion this desire to be involved could be much better satisfied by a constituent assembly of the kind advocated by Gibson.

Thirty years ago the late Frank Underhill observed that our national cohesion was much less than it would have been if the British North America Act had been subject to some form of popular consent. The constitutional amendments negotiated by the Premiers and presumably going to be ratified by the people and the legislatures will obviously have a degree of legitimacy. On the other hand, if the agreement does not obtain popular approval or if the vote is ambiguous both politicians and citizens generally may wish that they had made a sharper break with political tradition and gone the route advocated by Gibson.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 15 no 3
1992






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

Constituent Assemblies: A Comparative Survey par Patrick Fafard et Darrell Reid, Institut des relations intergouvernementales, Kingston, 1991, 52 pages; Constituent Assemblies: The Canadian Debate in Historical Context par Patrick Monahan, Lynda Covello et Jonathan Batty, Université York, Centre for Public Law and Public Policy, 1992, 52 pages; What If The Wheels Fall Off The Constitutional Bus, par Gordon Gibson, Canada West Foundation, 1992, 15 pages.

Beaucoup ont interprété l'échec de l'Accord du lac Meech en 1990 comme une incapacité du fédéralisme exécutif (les conférences des premiers ministres) à assurer un mécanisme propice à de sérieuses négociations constitutionnelles. L'entente d'août 1992 conclue par les premiers ministres, ainsi que les représentants des Autochtones et des territoires a apporté de l'eau au moulin de ceux qui soutiennent que le fédéralisme exécutif n'était pas mort mais simplement assoupi. Quoi qu'il en soit, au cours de cet entracte de deux ans, certains Canadiens se sont écartés de la tradition canadienne et ont commencé à rêver d'une nouvelle constitution établie non pas par les dirigeants de gouvernement directement intéressés par l'issue de la question, mais par un ensemble représentatif plus vaste de Canadiens choisis précisément pour concevoir une nouvelle constitution.

À une époque ou à une autre, on a pu compter parmi les partisans d'une convention ou d'une assemblée constituante des premiers ministres comme Clyde Wells, les membres de comités parlementaires comme le groupe de travail du Manitoba sur la Constitution, de simples députés comme les membres néo-démocrates du Comité Beaudoin-Edwards sur les modifications constitutionnelles, ou David Kilgour du Parti libéral, Keith Spicer du Forum des citoyens sur l'avenir du Canada, des quotidiens comme le Toronto Star et une foule d'intellectuels et de simples citoyens de partout au Canada.

Outre la résistance imprévue du fédéralisme exécutif, les principaux obstacles à l'adoption d'une assemblée constituante résidaient dans le conservatisme foncier des Canadiens et dans l'absence d'étude sérieuse sur le mode de fonctionnement d'une assemblée constituante et sur l'opportunité d'un tel mécanisme dans le contexte politique canadien contemporain. Il est peu probable que l'on arrive à changer des siècles de culture politique canadienne. Cependant, trois études récentes viennent combler, dans une certaine mesure, l'absence de documentation sur la question.

Les études Fafard-Reid et Monahan-Covello-Batty sont pratiquement identiques. Les auteurs de ces deux documents soutiennent n'être ni pour ni contre la notion d'assemblée constituante. Ils soulèvent d'abord certaines des questions qui doivent être abordées lorsqu'on envisage l'adoption d'assemblées constituantes et tâchent d'y répondre à l'aide d'études sur la situation dans d'autres pays. Ils arrivent finalement à la même conclusion : le Canada n'est pas encore mûr pour une mesure aussi radicale. L'étude Fafard-Reid s'inspire d'un rapport préparé par le Bureau des relations fédérales-provinciales du gouvernement du Canada. Le document Monahan-Covello-Batty constitue l'une des 11 études de fond effectuées dans le cadre du projet de réforme constitutionnelle de l'Université York.

Le document préparé par l'Université York se penche sur quatre études de cas : l'Espagne de 1977 à 1979; l'Australie de 1972 à 1985; l'Allemagne après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale; et Terre-Neuve de 1947 à 1949. Outre ces quatre cas, l'étude faite par l'Université Queen's aborde celui des États-Unis de 1787 à 1788, du Canada de 1864 à 1866, de la Suisse en 1848, de l'Inde en 1946-1947, du Pakistan, de la Malaise, du Nigéria, de la Fédération des Antilles, de la Rhodésie et du Nyasaland, du Nicaragua et de la Namibie. L'étude de l'Université Queen's compare principalement le contexte et l'origine de l'assemblée constituante, sa structure et son mandat généraux, les modes et les styles de fonctionnement, l'utilisation que l'on a faite des résultats et les facteurs relevant du contexte. L'étude de l'Université York s'est arrêtée à quatre aspects : les facteurs à l'origine de l'assemblée constituante, son fonctionnement, le consensus et la participation populaire au processus.

Ces deux études concluent que le Canada devrait tirer un enseignement de ces expériences. D'après Monahan-Covello-Batty [traduction libre], « une assemblée constituante semble un moyen qui ne se prête guère à un règlement satisfaisant du débat constitutionnel actuel dans ce pays » (p. 46). Fafard et Reid, quant à eux, arrivent à peu près à la même conclusion, bien que leur ton soit plus pédagogique et laisse la porte ouverte à une certaine interprétation.

Gibson, quant à lui, aborde la question sous un angle complètement différent. Il admet que la notion d'assemblée constituante va à l'encontre de l'ensemble des traditions politiques du Canada. Il souligne toutefois l'inefficacité du mécanisme adopté après 1982 pour négocier un changement constitutionnel, sans pour autant déclarer que l'établissement d'une assemblée constituante soit absolument essentiel pour régler nos différends constitutionnels. Il se contente de faire remarquer que, si la forme actuelle de fédéralisme exécutif modifié (discussions des premiers ministres plus référendums) ne donne pas de meilleurs résultats que le fédéralisme exécutif absolu qui a marqué les négociations du Lac Meech, nous aurions intérêt à prévoir un plan d'urgence. Contrairement à de nombreux partisans de l'assemblée constituante, il explique de façon relativement détaillée quel devrait en être le fonctionnement précis. Gibson n'est pas un intellectuel et ne s'arrête pas à comparer ce qui n'est pas comparable. C'est un homme d'affaires, un ancien chef du Parti libéral en Colombie-Britannique, qui traite de la plupart des réserves exprimées dans les deux autres études. À son avis, nombre de ces réserves sont des spectres que l'on brandit pour laisser le dossier constitutionnel entre les mains de ceux qui ont toujours pris les décisions dans ce domaine.

Il faut lire l'étude de Gibson en parallèle avec les documents de plus en plus nombreux qui soutiennent que les Canadiens, du moins les Canadiens-anglais, considèrent détenir un droit dans la constitution et veulent pouvoir se prononcer sur tout changement important. Un référendum sur l'entente conclue par les premiers ministres satisfera en partie leurs revendications. Cependant, pour leur assurer véritablement la participation à laquelle ils aspirent, il serait de beaucoup préférable d'adopter une assemblée constituante inspirée du modèle préconisé par Gibson.

Il y a 30 ans, le regretté Frank Underhill constatait que l'on aurait pu renforcer considérablement notre cohésion nationale si l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique avait fait l'objet d'une forme quelconque de consultation populaire. Il va sans dire que les modifications constitutionnelles négociées par les premiers ministres et qui seront vraisemblablement ratifiées par la population et les assemblées législatives revêtiront un caractère raisonnablement légitime. Par contre, si l'entente n'obtient pas le suffrage populaire ou si les résultats du vote sont ambigus, les politiciens et les citoyens en général risquent de regretter de ne pas avoir rompu plus nettement avec leurs traditions politiques et opté pour la solution préconisée par Gibson.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 15 no 3
1992






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15