Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


28th Canadian Regional Conference

The Twenty-Eighth Parliamentary Conference of the Canadian Region, CPA took place in Charlottetown from July 13-19, 1988.

All fourteen legislatures in the Canadian Region sent delegates and there were also observers from the House of Commons in Westminster, Bermuda and the Turks and Caicos.

One of the subjects on the agenda was the idea of an association between Canada and the Turks and Caicos. Dan McKenzie outlined some of the advantages from a Canadian perspective. Speaker Larry Coalburne spoke about recent developments on the Islands which could lead to discussions along the lines suggested by Mr. McKenzie. The third member of the panel, Tom Pendry, a Member of Parliament from Westminster thought that any such association would require a clear expression of opinion by the Islanders before Great Britain would support the idea. He suggested a plebiscite as one way of determining opinion on the Island.

The topic of plebiscites in a parliamentary democracy was also discussed in another session. A paper prepared by Patrick Boyer, MP was presented on Mr. Boyer's behalf by Lloyd Crouse. The discussion openers were Denis Rocan of Manitoba and Richard Nerysoo of the Northwest Territories.

Sue Findlay formerly with the Woman's Bureau of the Department of the Secretary of State presented a paper on the status of women in Canada. Tom Sigurdson of Alberta and Jim McLachlan of the Yukon were the opening speakers.

Three other sessions were held on: Free Trade: The Cultural Dimension with Mavor Moore as the feature speaker; Regional Development in Atlantic Canada with Don S. McPhail, president of Atlantic Canada; and Marketing Initiatives for Agricultural products with Tim Carroll, PEI, Minister of Agriculture.

Among the legislators to lead off the discussion of these issues were Jean Joly, (MNA Quebec); Doug Reycraft, (MPP Ontario); Glen Greening, (MLA Newfoundland); Jane Barry, (MLA New Brunswick) Fred McCain, MP ad Ted Gleim, (MLA Saskatchewan).

The conference was hosted by Speaker Edward Clark on behalf of the PEI Branch of the Canadian Region. The business program and leisure events were equally well organised and drew unqualified praise from the delegates and observers -- even those who failed to catch anything on a deep-sea fishing trip offered by the organising committee.

13th Canadian Regional Seminar

The Thirteenth Canadian Regional Seminar will be hosted by the Hon. John Reynolds, Speaker of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly, on behalf of the British Columbia Branch, from Thursday, November 17 to Sunday, November 20, 1988, in Vancouver at the Westin Bayshore.

Speaker Reynolds encourages each Canadian Branch to participate in this seminar and welcomes the opportunity to provide delegates with the usual British Columbia hospitality.

New Speaker in Manitoba

The new Speaker of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly is Denis Rocan MLA for Turtle Mountain. Mr. Rocan, 39, has served in the Legislature since 1986.

Born in Somerset to French-Canadian parents he spent his early years in the north end of Winnipeg, returning to Somerset at age 12. He is bilingual and received his education at Sacré Coeur in Winnipeg, Somerset Collegiate and Otterburne College.

Mr. Rocan has held supervisory positions with Inco in Thompson and Eaton's in Winnipeg. He has also owned and operated both a building and moving company and a grain and fertilizer hauling business. He has been active in the community, is an avid curler and a member of the Lions Club.

New Lieutenant Governors

On July 28 Prime Minister Mulroney announced the appointment of two new Lieutenant Governors.

In British Columbia, David See-Chai Lam replaces the Hon. Robert Gordon Rogers whose term has expired. Born in Hong Kong, Mr. Lam came to Canada in 1967 and became a Canadian citizen five years later. He has a B.A. from Longam University in Canton, China and an MBA from Temple University in Philadelphia.

A businessman, Dr. Lam is Chairman and President of Canadian International Enterprises Ltd., Vancouver. He is also President of the Hong Kong Merchant's Association, an organisation he founded, in 1967, to assist immigrants from Hong Kong in settling in Canada. Since 1955, he has maintained an association with Hong Kong Baptist College, serving as Chairman of its Medical Board until 1967 and remaining a member of the Board of Governors.

Mr. Lam is founder and President of the Floribunda Philanthropic Society and the David and Dorothy Lam Foundation. He was a major contributor to the building of the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden in Vancouver, the only authentic Chinese-Style garden built outside of China.

Dr. Lam has also been a principal supporter of the Chinese Cultural Centre in Vancouver and the United Chinese Community Enrichment Services Society, service agencies dedicated to bringing together the Chinese community and other communities in Canada.

In Saskatchewan the new Lieutenant Governor is Sylvia Fedoruk, currently chancellor at the University of Saskatchewan. She has served as director of physical services, Saskatchewan Cancer Foundation and as professor of Oncology at the College of Medicine.

She has been a member of the Atomic Energy Control Board since 1973 and is Vice-Chairman of the National Forum on Post Secondary Education.

Sylvia Fedoruk was one of Saskatchewan's outstanding female athletes having competed in a number of sports including basketball, track and field, volleyball, golf and curling. She was inducted into Saskatchewan's Sport Hall of Fame last year.

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 3
1988






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


La vingt-huitième Conférence parlementaire de la Région du Canada (APC) s'est déroulée à Charlottetown du 13 au 19 juillet 1988.

Les quatorze assemblées législatives des sections canadiennes y ont envoyé leurs délégués ; des observateurs de la Chambre des communes de Westminster, des Bermudes, ainsi que des Iles Turques et Caïques y ont également assisté.

L'idée d'une association entre le Canada et les Iles Turques et Caïques était l'un des sujets à l'ordre du jour. M. Dan McKenzie en a souligné quelques-uns des avantages pour le Canada. M. Larry Coalburne a parlé de changements survenus récemment dans les îles qui pourraient susciter des discussions dans le sens de ce qu'a proposé M. McKenzie. Le troisième membre du groupe de travail, M. Tom Pendry, député de Westminster, a dit estimer qu'il fallait que les habitants des îles expriment clairement leur opinion avant que la Grande-Bretagne ne souscrive à l'idée d'une telle association. Il a donc proposé un plébiscite à cette fin.

La question des plébiscites au sein d'une démocratie parlementaire a également fait l'objet d'un échange de vues au cours d'une autre séance. Un document rédigé par M. Patrick Boyer, député, a été présenté en son nom par M. Lloyd Crouse. MM. Denis Rocan, du Manitoba, et Richard Nerysoo, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ont ouvert le débat.

Sue Findlay, anciennement du Bureau des femmes du Secrétariat d'État, a présenté un document portant sur la situation des femmes au Canada. MM. Tom Sigurdson, de l'Alberta, et Jim McLachlan, du Yukon, ont été les premiers à prendre la parole au sein du groupe de travail.

Trois autres séances ont porté sur le libre-échange : on a examiné la dimension culturelle, avec M. Mavor Moore comme conférencier principal ; le développement régional dans le Canada atlantique, avec M. Don S. McPhail, président d'Atlantic Canada, ainsi que les mesures de commercialisation des produits agricoles, avec M. Tim Carroll, ministre de l'Agriculture de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Au nombre des législateurs qui ont entamé le débat sur ces questions, mentionnons MM. Jean Joly, (député à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec) ; Doug Reycraft (député à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario) ; Glen Greening (député à l'Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve) ; Mme Jane Barry (députée à l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick) ; MM. Fred McCain, député fédéral et Ted Gleim (député à l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan).

L'hôte de la conférence au nom de la section de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard était M. Edward Clark, président. Le programme des travaux et celui des activités de détente, tous deux fort bien orchestrés, ont suscité des éloges sans réserve de la part des délégués et des observateurs, même de ceux qui sont revenus bredouilles de l'excursion de pêche en haute mer offerte par le comité organisateur.

13e colloque de la Région du Canada

Le 13e colloque de la Région du Canada a été placé sous la direction de l'honorable John Reynolds, président de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, et sous l'égide de la Section de la Colombie-Britannique ; il aura lieu du jeudi 18 novembre au dimanche 20 novembre 1988 au Westin Bayshore de Vancouver.

Le président Reynolds encourage toutes les sections canadiennes à participer à ce colloque et à venir goûter l'hospitalité légendaire de la province.

Nouveau président au Manitoba

M. Denis Rocan, député de Turtle Mountain, est le nouveau président de l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba. M. Rocan, qui est âgé de 39 ans, siège à l'Assemblée législative de la province depuis 1986.

M. Rocan est né à Somerset, de parents canadiens-français ; il a passé son enfance à Winnipeg-Nord, puis est retourné à Somerset à l'âge de 12 ans. Il est bilingue et a fait ses études au Sacré-Cœur de Winnipeg, au Collège Somerset et au Collège Otterburne.

M. Rocan a occupé des postes de surveillant chez Inco, à Thompson, et chez Eaton, à Winnipeg. Il a également été propriétaire et exploitant d'une société de déménagement et de construction et d'une entreprise de transport de grains et d'engrais. Il est membre actif de la collectivité, s'adonne au curling et fait partie du Lions Club.

Nouveaux lieutenant-gouverneurs

Le 28 juillet, le premier ministre Mulroney a annoncé la nomination de deux nouveaux lieutenant-gouverneurs.

En Colombie-Britannique, l'honorable David See-Chai Lam remplace l'honorable Robert Gordon Rogers, dont le mandat est échu.

M. Lam est né à Hong Kong ; il est arrivé au Canada en 1967 et est devenu citoyen canadien cinq ans plus tard. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat de l'Université Longam de Canton (Chine) et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université Temple de Philadelphie.

Homme d'affaires, M. Lam est président-directeur général de la Canadian International Enterprises Ltd. de Vancouver. Il est également président de la Hong Kong Merchant's Association, organisme qu'il a fondé en 1967 afin d'aider les immigrants de Hong Kong à s'établir au Canada.

M. Lam a également été un important partisan du Chinese Cultural Centre de Vancouver et de la United Chinese Community Enrichment Services Society, organismes philantrophiques dont l'objectif consiste à rapprocher la collectivité chinoise et d'autres collectivités du Canada.

En Saskatchewan, le nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur est Mme Sylvia Fedoruk, actuellement recteur de l'Université de la Saskatchewan. Elle a été directrice des services de réadaptation physique, à la Saskatchewan Cancer Foundation, et professeur d'oncologie au Collège de médecine.

Elle est membre de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique depuis 1973 et vice-présidente du Colloque national sur l'enseignement postsecondaire.

Mme Sylvia Fedoruk a été l'une des remarquables athlètes féminines de la Saskatchewan à participer à des compétitions dans diverses disciplines sportives, dont le basket-ball, l'athlétisme, le volley-ball, le golf et le curling. L'année dernière, elle a été inscrite au Temple de la renommée sportive de la Saskatchewan.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 3
1988






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03