Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Anthony Wright

A Public Purpose, Tom Kent, McGill-Queen's University Press, Kingston & Montreal, 1988, p.433.

After a distinguished career at the Guardian and the Economist in Britain and editor of the Winnipeg Free-Press, Tom Kent in early 1958 joined the office of the new leader of the Liberal Party, Mike Pearson. This book is a refreshing and blunt account of Kent's experiences at the centre of a vanquished party striving to regain power.

Neither history nor biography, A Public Purpose shrewdly assesses the politics and personalities of the years between 1954 and 1971. Kent surveys the main achievements of the Pearson era -- the Canada Pension Plan, Medicare, Co-operative Federalism etc. His frank comment make good reading for those who study or practice politics.

For example: Leadership) "Abbott was the strong man among the younger ministers ... an excellent Minister of Finance ... politically sensitive and sensible. If he had stayed he would have been my choice to succeed to the leadership, ahead of Pearson. While his sympathies were not quite as broad as Pearson's, he had an even clearer mind, a better understanding of most issues and above all a greater capacity to make firm decisions and a stronger grasp of how to execute them. Letting Abbott and Claxton go was the first evidence, and in my view one of the most serious consequences, of the recurrent bouts of passivity that marked Mr. St. Laurent's behaviour from 1954 on."

((Policy Planning) "Modern government is far too complex for a Prime Minister and ministers to do much serious policy-planning after they are in office. They are always too busy with the immediate. If they do not come to office with clear, comprehensive, realistic objectives, they will not formulate them afterwards. In many areas of policy, they will be the slaves of events, of lobbying groups, of officials who know so much more than they do, of opinion polls, of short-term calculations.

(Preparing for Office) " Mike Pearson was certainly neither the first nor the last political leader to approach government with a style that has too little regard for its management aspects. Indeed, while the reasons have varied in detail, the upshot has been the same for all our federal governments since 1953: faced with the complexities of public affairs in the modern state, none has succeeded in organising its central processes in a way that fosters the sense of reasonableness and foresight, of coherence and efficiency, which is at the heart of good management in all collective activities...."

(Influence of Bureaucrats) "The role that public servants play in policy-making is widely misunderstood. The idea that they should merely implement policy decisions, for which all the ideas have come from elected men, is nonsense. Government has never been so simple that it could be run that way, and certainly it is not today. We pay senior public servants to be the professionals in government and they would not be doing their job if they did not have significant influences on policy.

What they should not have, and as far as I have seen usually do not have, is decisive influence, as long as the politicians are doing their job. But for that the politicians in office ... have to be agreed on clear objectives."

(Press in Politics) "Most politicians exaggerate, I think, the influence of the press on public opinion. They are themselves the most avid readers of newspapers and nowadays watchers of TV news and public affairs programs. The consequence is a mutually-regarding relationship between the media and public personalities. The media feel important because they constantly see how much their subjects care, while the vanity of the subjects makes them take the media much more seriously than do other readers, listeners and viewers.... In the large world one sees, time and again, that much of the public has a healthy distrust of media comment and makes its own common-sense judgement of people and measures."

En passant, Tom Kent torpedoes a couple of quaint notions. He terms the idea that a minority government is necessarily weak "a myth created by politicians out of self-interest". In his view a minority government may be less comfortable to be in, but "is not necessarily less able to govern".

In this age of SIN and computers Kent sees no reason why Canada should not abandon its "clumsy process of voter registration for each election, now the only excuse for the length of the campaign". "Voter lists could easily be kept in a form in which they can be readily updated" allowing Canada to have campaigns lasting about three weeks, "common in more densely populated countries". The only beneficiaries of our long campaigns are the political parties, each seeking to "put up a better smokescreen than the others."

The book is valuable in its analysis of the Pearson character and of the rivalry between Messrs Pearson and Diefenbaker.

In history Pearson will be seen as a fairly successful Prime Minister and Diefenbaker as a highly ineffective one. But it was Diefenbaker who was given widespread credit for good intentions. The side of his personality that in 1964 was still best known was expressed in his avuncular stance with his fellow Canadians: in the speaking style of sentences without logical beginning or end, words without clear meaning, but words replete with a good man's emotions. The cloud of obscurities often made it hard to appreciate the sharpness of Diefenbaker's mind in debate. He was a matador in a contest where Pearson often seemed to be his victim, hurt, slow and blundering. Diefenbaker was entirely unscrupulous; he could set aside facts or invent whatever alleged facts suited his purpose at the moment. And he was cruel, a master of innuendo with an unerring instinct for what would most hurt his opponent.

Debate with Diefenbaker was, therefore, a game that Pearson was utterly incapable of playing. For Diefenbaker, a politician was a platform orator and a parliamentary debater. He therefore despised Pearson who was little good in either role. Nevertheless Pearson had taken the prime ministership from him. That this was so inappropriate, in Diefenbaker's terms, meant that the despising was mingled with hating. Pearson on his part, hurt as he was by Diefenbaker's attacks, came to hate too. And he despised, because of Diefenbaker's intellectual dishonesty and his evasiveness and indecision when he was the leader of a government. But above all, Pearson was afraid of Diefenbaker in the House of Commons. That mixture of feelings seemed to numb the normally agile Pearson brain. In anything but a set speech, his parliamentary performance was increasingly evasive and indecisive."

The author's way with words ensures that the serious content of this memoir does not weary the reader; humour shines through from time to time. For example when Kent ran as a candidate in Burnaby-Coquitlam against Tommy Douglas in 1963 he was aware that his "Englishness" might well be a disadvantage . Hence delight when a large gang of NDP hecklers "prepared for the occasion with plenty of beer" drowned out his efforts to speak by chanting "Yankee Go Home".

Tony Wright, Ottawa, Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 3
1988






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Anthony Wright

A Public Purpose, Tom Kent, McGill-Queen's University Press, Kingston et Montréal, 1988, 433 pages.

Après une éminente carrière de journaliste au Guardian et à l'Économiste en Grande-Bretagne et comme rédacteur en chef du Winnipeg Free Press, Tom Kent entra au début de 1958 au cabinet du nouveau chef du Parti libéral, Mike Pearson. Dans ce livre, il relate avec simplicité et franchise les années qu'il a vécues au cœur d'un parti vaincu qui luttait pour reconquérir le pouvoir.

Ni ouvrage historique ni biographie, A Public Purpose décrit avec perspicacité la vie et les personnalités politiques des années comprises entre 1954 et 1971. Kent passe en revue les principales réalisations de l'ère Pearson -- le Régime de pensions du Canada, l'assurance-maladie, le fédéralisme coopératif, etc. Ses confidences constituent une lecture instructive pour ceux qui étudient ou pratiquent la politique. Par exemple :

(Leadership) « Abbott était l'homme fort parmi les jeunes ministres [...] un excellent ministre des Finances [...] doué de sagacité et de sens politique. S'il était resté, c'est lui que j'aurais voulu voir accéder à la direction du parti, de préférence à Pearson. Il ne jouissait pas d'appuis aussi larges que Pearson mais possédait un esprit encore plus clair, une meilleure connaissance de la plupart des dossiers et, par-dessus tout, une plus grande capacité à prendre des décisions fermes et une vision plus perspicace de la manière de les exécuter.

Le fait de laisser partir Abbott et Claxton fut la première manifestation -- et à mon sens l'une des plus graves conséquences -- des accès répétitifs de passivité qui marquèrent le comportement de M. St-Laurent à partir de 1954. »

(Programme politique) « L'État moderne est beaucoup trop complexe pour qu'un premier ministre et des ministres puissent sérieusement réfléchir aux orientations politiques en cours de mandat. Ils sont toujours trop accaparés par les problèmes immédiats. S'ils n'arrivent pas au pouvoir avec des objectifs clairs, globaux et réalistes, ils n'en formuleront pas par après. Dans maints domaines, ils seront esclaves des événements, des groupes de pression, des hauts fonctionnaires qui en savent tellement plus qu'eux, des sondages d'opinion, des calculs à courte vue. »

(La préparation à la charge de premier ministre) « Mike Pearson n'était certainement ni le premier ni le dernier homme politique à aborder le pouvoir avec un style de gouvernement réservant la part du pauvre à la gestion. De fait, si les raisons individuelles en ont varié, le résultat a été le même pour tous nos gouvernements fédéraux depuis 1953 : face à la complexité des affaires publiques dans un État moderne, aucun n'a réussi à organiser ses rouages centraux d'une manière propre à promouvoir la raison et la clairvoyance, la cohérence et l'efficacité, attributs essentiels d'une bonne gestion dans toutes les activités collectives [...] »

(L'influence des hauts fonctionnaires) « Le rôle que les fonctionnaires jouent dans la formulation des politiques est largement méconnu. La notion qu'ils devraient se contenter de mettre en œuvre des décisions, exclusivement fondées sur les idées politiques des élus, ne tient pas debout. L'administration publique n'a jamais été si simple qu'elle puisse fonctionner de cette manière, et ce n'est certainement pas le cas aujourd'hui. Nous payons les hauts fonctionnaires afin qu'ils soient des professionnels de la chose publique et ils feraient bien mal leur travail s'ils n'influençaient pas sensiblement les politiques du gouvernement.

Ce qui n'est pas souhaitable, c'est qu'ils aient une influence décisive; d'après ce que j'ai constaté, les bureaucrates ne possèdent pas cette influence décisive quand les hommes politiques font leur travail. Mais, pour cela, les élus doivent être d'accord sur des objectifs clairs. »

(La presse dans la vie politique) « La plupart des hommes politiques exagèrent, à mon sens, l'influence de la presse sur l'opinion publique. Ils sont eux-mêmes les plus avides lecteurs de journaux et, de nos jours, les spectateurs les plus assidus des journaux télévisés et des émissions d'information. Il en résulte une relation de considération réciproque entre les médias et les personnalités politiques. Les journalistes se sentent importants car ils constatent sans cesse combien leurs sujets attachent de prix à leurs propos, tandis que la vanité des sujets leur fait accorder aux médias beaucoup plus d'importance que les autres lecteurs, auditeurs et téléspectateurs [...] En dehors de ce petit monde, on constate à maintes et maintes reprises que le public nourrit une méfiance salutaire à l'égard des propos des journalistes et que les citoyens forment leur propre opinion des gens et des choses, fondée sur le bon sens. »

En passant, Tom Kent torpille quelques idées fausses. Il qualifie la notion qui voudrait qu'un gouvernement minoritaire soit nécessairement faible de « mythe engendré par les hommes politiques dans un but intéressé ». A son sens, un gouvernement minoritaire se trouve peut-être placé dans une situation plus inconfortable mais « n'est pas nécessairement moins à même de gouverner ».

En cette ère de l'informatique, où chacun possède un numéro d'assurance sociale, Kent ne voit pas pourquoi le Canada n'abandonnerait pas le « mécanisme encombrant de l'inscription des électeurs à chaque scrutin, qui constitue aujourd'hui la seule excuse pour une campagne de longue durée ». « Il serait facile d'avoir des listes électorales sous une forme qui puisse être rapidement mise à jour », ce qui permettrait au Canada d'avoir des campagnes de trois semaines seulement « comme on le voit couramment dans les pays plus densément peuplés ». Il estime que les seuls bénéficiaires de nos longues campagnes sont les partis politiques qui cherchent chacun à « se réfugier derrière un écran de fumée plus dense que les autres ».

Le livre offre une analyse intéressante du caractère de Pearson et de la rivalité entre celui-ci et Diefenbaker. Par exemple :

« L'histoire reconnaîtra en Pearson un premier ministre qui a relativement bien réussi et en Diefenbaker un chef de gouvernement tout à fait inefficace. Mais c'est à Diefenbaker que l'on attribuait les bonnes intentions. La facette de sa personnalité qui restait toujours la mieux connue en 1964 était celle qu'exprimait son attitude débonnaire à l'égard de ses compatriotes : son style oratoire fait de phrases sans début ni fin logique, d'une enfilade de mots sans signification claire mais qui débordaient de bons sentiments. Ce flou savant masquait souvent la clarté d'esprit dont Diefenbaker faisait preuve dans les débats. Il était matador dans une joute où Pearson faisait souvent figure de victime, blessé, lent et trébuchant. Diefenbaker ne connaissait pas le scrupule, il pouvait ignorer les faits ou en inventer selon les besoins du moment. Et il maniait la cruauté, maîtrisait l'insinuation avec un instinct infaillible pour ce qui ferait le plus de mal à son adversaire.

La joute oratoire contre Diefenbaker était, par conséquent, un jeu que Pearson était parfaitement incapable de remporter. Pour Diefenbaker, un homme politique devait être un harangueur de foule, un tribun, et c'est pourquoi il méprisait Pearson qui se sentait si mal à l'aise dans ce rôle. Néanmoins, Pearson lui ravit le pouvoir, ce que Diefenbaker ressentit comme tellement scandaleux que le mépris se teinta de haine. Pearson, pour sa part, se ressentit tellement des attaques de Diefenbaker qu'il en vint à le haïr, lui aussi. Et il méprisa Diefenbaker pour sa malhonnêteté intellectuelle, ses tergiversations et son indécision à la tête du gouvernement. Mais, par-dessus tout, Pearson craignait Diefenbaker à la Chambre des communes. Ce mélange de sentiments paraissait paralyser le cerveau normalement agile de Pearson. Ses interventions au Parlement, chaque fois qu'il ne disposait pas d'un discours préparé, trahissaient une vacillation et une indécision croissantes. »

Le style vivant de l'auteur fait passer allègrement le contenu austère de ces mémoires, dont l'humour n'est pas absent. Par exemple, lorsque Kent se présenta aux élections à Burnaby-Coquitlam contre Tommy Douglas en 1963, il n'ignorait pas que ses origines britanniques risquaient de lui faire du tort. Imaginez le ravissement de M. Douglas lorsqu'un fort parti de militants du NPD « s'étant préparé pour l'occasion à grand renfort de bière » couvrirent la voix de Kent en scandant « Yankee Go Home ».

Tony Wright


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 3
1988






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03