Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gordon Barnhart

Gravy Train How Saskatchewan's Taxpayers Are "Ripped Off" By Its Cabinet Ministers And Mla's by F.L. Dunbar. Published by F.L. Dunbar 1982.

Even though there is great public debate on the topic of elected members' pay, it is unfortunate that the debate is often based on a lack of information or a misunderstanding of the role of a member. The press are often victims and perpetrators of this general exaggeration and misunderstanding of the amount members are paid in indemnities and expenses as they fulfill their roles as elected members.

A recent issue of this publication reviewed two recently published studies in Ontario on election expenses and Members' pay. The Fleming-Mitchinson review, even with the few inevitable statistical errors, has contributed greatly to the need for factual information on members' pay. There is still a need though for a book, written in lay terms for the general public and based on accurate information, which could inform the general public and stimulate them to debate the issues based on fact not exaggeration.

Gravy Train could have supplied the needed objective analysis of MLA pay in Saskatchewan but not so. The use of inflamatory terms such as "Gravy Train" and "ripped off by ... Cabinet Ministers and MLAs" in the title and subtitle show that the book was written in an hysterical vein.

Gravy Train is divided into five chapters in which the author reviews the methods the Saskatchewan Legislature has used to study and set MLA pay and expenses; a review of the pension plan; a look at telephone expenses and a comparison of members' expense reimbursements for an urban and a northern member in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. The format of the book and the stated motives of the author in writing it are admirable. However, due to an exaggeration of some of the statistics and a failure to look at the expected role of. the elected members in today's society, the book lacks credibility.

The two examples that the author used as typical Saskatchewan members, one urban and one rural, represent constituencies that the author had unsuccessfully contested in past elections. Other examples could have been chosen which would not have detracted from the author's credibility.

Fred Dunbar does raise a valid criticism of the way the Saskatchewan Legislature has historically amended the Act which sets the members' pay. He correctly notes that over the years, the government has introduced such amendments in the dying hours of the session with the result that public review and debate of the issue was reduced if not eliminated. Open debate and proper explanation of the facts lying behind the amendments to The Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act adjusting members' pay and allowances would perhaps eliminate the charge that members were ashamed of the level of their pay and were adjusting it by devious means. Whether fuller public debate would lead to greater public acceptance of the level of remuneration to members is an open question. Full debate could not make the situation any worse and could lead to a greater understanding of the facts by the public.

Mr. Dunbar is critical of the amount of money spent on members' telephone long distance tolls and describes these reimbursements as "barefaced raids on the treasury." This charge is not balanced by the fact that the public has grown to expect direct and immediate access to their elected representatives. The telephone has quickly surpassed the written letter as the most efficient means of communication.

The author is critical of the travel allowances provided to the two northern members, each of whom represents one quarter of the land mass of the province. No explanation is offered though that these allowances are higher than other members because of the reimbursement for two trips per year to each of the northern communities that can be reached by air. Air charters are very expensive propositions. To argue against this travel reimbursement is to argue that northern residents should not be able to meet with their elected representative at least once every six months. Mr. Dunbar does offer a good argument that such reimbursements for air travel and other expenses give the incumbent an unfair advantage at the next election. This is often very true. Yet the general election in Saskatchewan which was held within a month of the publication of Gravy Train led to the re-election of only twenty-three incumbents out of sixty-four constituencies.

The book supports another myth that is widely believed by the public a member is only working while he is sitting in the Legislative Assembly! Mr. Dunbar states that a member who is working in the constituency either listening to the concerns of his constituents or helping them with their problems is working as a representative of a party and not as an elected member of the Legislative Assembly. Most students of the parliamentary system would agree that the role of an elected member is not only to debate and vote on bills and estimates but also to represent and to listen to the will of the people in his constituency. The public now expect their member to fulfill the role of ombudsman and social worker an expectation that has increased substantially in the last decade. To state that members should be paid only for their role as legislators is an argument based on a lack of understanding of the parliamentary system.

Gravy Train is critical of the press for not objectively analyzing and evaluating the pay increases that "members vote themselves." This is a fair statement. The track irony is that when Gravy Train was released, the press gave a glowing report of the book without any attempt at objective analysis or evaluation. The press seemed willing to perpetuate myths that the public wanted to hear that they were being "ripped off" by overpaid elected representatives.

The publication of Gravy Train comes at a time when the public is debating members' pay and expenses and when a factual and objective analysis of the issues is needed. The absence of the reasons why some allowances are as high as they are; the author's inability to look at both sides of the coin and his obvious attempt to rouse the public's indignation by using provocative words such as "rip off", "barefaced raids on the treasury" and "Gravy Train" disqualify the book as a fair analysis of the issue of members' pay and allowances. Hopefully someone will take the statistical information such as that collected by Fleming and Mitchinson and will combine it with objective analysis of the needs of the public and the members in order to produce a book that can be widely read by the general public. A full public debate on this issue can only improve the public's understanding of their members' role and responsibility. This in turn is bound to improve the respect in which members are held by their constituents.

It is a pity that Gravy Train went off the track.

Gordon Barnhart, Clerk, Legislative Assembly Saskatchewan


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 4
1982






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gordon Barnhart

Gravy Train,How Saskatchewan's Taxpayers Are Ripped Off, By Its Cabinet Ministers and MLA's de F.L. Dunbar, publié par F.L. Dunbar, 1982.

Le traitement des députés est toujours un sujet très controversé, mais il est regrettable que ce débat repose souvent sur un manque d'information ou sur une mauvaise compréhension du rôle du député. Les médias sont souvent victimes et coupables à la fois de l'exagération et des malentendus entourant les allocations et les indemnités versées aux députés pour l'exercice de leurs fonctions.

Un récent numéro de la Revue contenait une critique de deux études récemment publiées en Ontario sur les dépenses électorales et sur la rémunération des députés. L'étude Fleming Mitchinson, en dépit de quelques erreurs statistiques inévitables, a fourni d importantes données factuelles sur la rémunération des députés, mais on attend toujours la publication d'un ouvrage écrit en termes simples et fondé sur des renseignements exacts. Un tel ouvrage pourrait informer le public et l'inciter à discuter de ces questions en s'appuyant sur des faits et non sur des idées préconçues.

Gravy Train aurait pu fournir une analyse objective du traitement des députés en Saskatchewan, mais tel n’est pas le cas, l’utilisation de termes incendiaires comme l’assiette au beurre, et volés par les ministres du Cabinet et les députés de l'Assemblée législative, dans le titre et le sous-titre indiquent que le livre a été écrit avec un certain parti pris.

Gravy Train est divisé en cinq chapitres dans lesquels l'auteur examine les méthodes utilisés par l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan pour étudier et déterminer les salaires et les dépenses des députés, il contient également une analyse du régime de pension, un examen des dépenses téléphoniques et une comparaison des remboursements de dépenses effectués à un député d'une circonscription urbaine et à un député du nord, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. La présentation du livre et les raisons pour lesquelles l'auteur l'a écrit sont admirables. Cependant, l'exagération de certaines statistiques et l'absence de tout examen du rôle du député dans notre société réduisent considérablement la valeur de l'ouvrage.

Les deux députés que l'auteur prend comme cas typiques en Saskatchewan représentent deux circonscriptions, une urbaine et une rurale, dans lesquelles il s'est lui-même porté candidat, lors d'élections passées, sans toutefois s'y faire élire. Il aurait pu choisir d'autres exemples qui n'auraient pas porté atteinte à sa crédibilité.

M. Fred Dunbar critique à juste titre la façon dont l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan a, dans le passé, modifié la loi qui établit la rémunération des députés. Il note avec justesse qu'au fil des ans, le gouvernement y a apporté des modifications à la toute dernière minute, en fin de session, si bien que l’examen public et les débats sur la question ont été restreints, sinon éliminés. En organisant des débats libres et en expliquant clairement les raisons pour lesquelles on modifie la loi dite The Legislative Assembly and Executive Couricil Act, permettant de rajuster la rémunération et les indemnités des députés, on éliminerait peut-être l'accusation voulant que les députés, honteux du niveau de leur traitement, le rajuste par des moyens détournés. Rien ne permet, toutefois, de dire si un débat public plus poussé amènerait davantage le public à accepter le traitement consenti aux députés. Chose certaine, un débat plus ouvert ne pourrait pas aggraver la situation, il pourrait au contraire amener le public à mieux saisir la question.

M. Dunbar trouve exagérées les sommes dépensées par les députés en appels interurbains et en qualifie le remboursement de « pillage éhonté du Trésor ». Cette accusation ne tient pas compte du fait que le public aime pouvoir communiquer directement et sans tarder avec ses représentants élus. L'efficacité du téléphone est de loin supérieure à celle de la lettre, comme moyen de communication.

L'auteur conteste également les indemnités de déplacement versées aux deux députés du Nord qui représentent chacun une circonscription équivalant au quart de la superficie totale de la province. Il ne signale nullement que ces indemnités sont plus élevées en raison des deux voyages par an dans diverses localités du Nord qui ne peuvent être atteintes que par avion. Il coûte fort cher de noliser des avions pour se rendre dans ces localités. Prétendre que le remboursement du coût de ces voyages n'est pas justifié équivaut à soutenir que les résidents du Nord ne devraient pas rencontrer leur représentant élu qu'une fois tous les six mois. M. Dunbar offre cependant un bon argument en alléguant que la possibilité qu’ont les députés de se faire rembourser le coût des voyages en avion et d'autres dépenses leur donne un avantage injuste aux élections suivantes. C'est souvent vrai. Cependant, lors des dernières élections générales en Saskatchewan, qui eurent lieu moins d'un mois après la publication de Gravy Train seulement 23 députés sur 64 ont été réélus.

Le livre nourrit un autre mythe répandu dans le public, à savoir qu'un député ne travaille que lorsqu'il siège à l'Assemblée législative. M. Dunbar prétend qu'un député qui vient dans sa circonscription pour écouter les préoccupations de ses électeurs et les aider à résoudre leurs problèmes, travaille en tant que représentant d'un parti politique et non pas comme membre élu de l'Assemblée législative. La plupart de ceux qui étudient le système parlementaire seront d'accord pour déclarer que le rôle d'un député n'est pas seulement de participer aux débats et de voter pour ou contre des projets de loi et des prévisions budgétaires, mais aussi de représenter ses électeurs et d'écouter leurs commentaires. Le public s'attend maintenant à ce que son député joue le rôle de protecteur du citoyen et de travailleur social  rôle qui a pris de plus en plus d'importance au cours de la dernière décennie. Prétendre que les députés ne devraient être payés que pour leur rôle de législateurs est un argument qui traduit un manque de compréhension du système parlementaire.

Gravy Train reproche à la presse de ne pas analyser et évaluer objectivement les augmentations de salaire que les députés se votent. Il est ironique qu'au moment où Gravy Train a été publié, la presse ait fait une critique élogieuse du livre sans essayer d'en faire une analyse ou une évaluation objective. Les médias ont paru vouloir perpétuer les mythes que le public semble affectionner, plus particulièrement celui voulant qu'il soit « volé » par des représentants élus trop payés.

La publication de Gravy Train arrive au moment où le public discute de la rémunération et des dépenses des députés et où on aurait bien besoin d'une analyse objective de la question. Mais en n'énonçant pas les raisons pour lesquelles certaines indemnités sont aussi élevées qu'elles le sont, en n'examinant pas les deux côtés de la médaille et en cherchant à choquer le public en utilisant des mots aussi provocateurs que « voler, pilLage éhonté du Trésor » et argent « mal acquis », l'auteur est loin d'avoir fait une analyse objective. Osons espérer que quelqu’un prendra des informations statistiques comme celles de Feming et de Mitchinson et s'en servira pour procéder à une analyse objective des besoins du public et des députés et produire un livre que l'on pourra suggérer au public. Un débat public de cette question ne pourra qu’amener les citoyens à mieux comprendre le rôle et les responsabilités de leurs députés et à les respecter davantage.

Il est dommage que Gravy Train ait pris la mauvaise voie.

Gordon Barnhart
greffier
Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan
Regina


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 4
1982






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03