Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines

HomeContact UsFranšais

The Canadian Study of Parliament Group
C.B. Koester

At the time this article was written C. B. Koester was Clerk Assistant House of Commons in Ottawa

The Canadian Study of Parliament Group was established over the course of the last two years to bring together on an informal basis those interested in examining parliamentary institutions in Canada. The Group includes academics, parliamentary and legislative officials, legislators, representatives of the media, public servants and other interested persons. The Group hopes to stimulate study and discussion of parliamentary institutions and the legislative process by providing a forum for the exchange of information and opinion.

While the range of activities envisaged by the Constitution of the Canadian Study of Parliament Group is almost unlimited, the Group has so far confined itself to holding seminars on particular aspects of the legislative process. To date, three such seminars have been held, one on the budgetary process, one on accountability and one on the role of second chambers. Verbatim reports of the seminars are available to Members and libraries. In addition to the seminars and other activities, the Group meets annually in a business session. The membership fee is $20.00 per year.

The executive elected at the last annual meeting consists of:

C.E.S. Franks, Chairman, Jean-Pierre Gaboury, Vice-Chairman, Henriette Immarigeon, Treasurer, Councillors G.W. Baldwin, Gordon Barnhart, Douglas Fisher, J. J. Macdonnel, J. M. Reid, and John B. Stewart.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 2 no 2

Last Updated: 2020-09-14