Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines

HomeContact UsFranšais

CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene

The Council of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is composed of the Speakers and Clerks of all 14 Canadian Legislatures. There have been a number of changes in these offices recently.

Northwest Territories

On December 13, 1993, Jeannie Marie-Jewell was elected Speaker of the 12th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. She replaced Michael Ballantyne who resigned. Mrs. Marie-Jewell was born in Fort Smith, NWT and first elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1987. She has served as a member of the 12th Legislative Assembly's Management and Services Board, the Standing Committee on Agencies, Boards and Commissions, and the Standing Committee on Legislation. Mrs. Marie-Jewell also sat on the Special Committee on Health and Social Services, and was an alternate member of the Special Committee on Constitutional Reform.

During the 11th Legislative Assembly, Mrs. Marie-Jewell served as Minister of Social Services, Minister of Personnel and Minister Responsible for the Women's Secretariat. She was also the Minister Responsible for the Highway Transport Board and Workers' Compensation Board and Minister for Youth.

Active in community affairs, Mrs. Marie-Jewell was president of the Fort Smith Metis Association and Vice-President of the NWT Metis Association from 1984 to 1985. She was a member of the Fort Smith Town Council from 1982 to 1985 and of the Native Economic Development Program board from 1985 to 1987.

As Speaker, Mrs. Marie-Jewell will chair the Management and Services Board which administers the Assembly support services and advises the Legislature. She will formally take the chair and assume the duties of Speaker when the 5th Session convenes on Monday, December 13, 1993.

New Brunswick

Loredana Catalli Sonier is the new Clerk of the Legislative Assembly. She was appointed on November 31, 1993 on resolution of the House and assumed her new role during this past fall sitting. Mrs. Catalli Sonier holds degree in nursing from the UniversitÚ de Moncton and a degree in law from the University of New Brunswick. She is a member of the Nurses Association of New Brunswick, the Law Society of New Brunswick and the Canadian Bar Association, as well as a member of the Editorial Board of the Canadian Parliamentary Review. Prior to her appointment, she served as Clerk Assistant (Procedural) at the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly since 1985. Mrs. Catalli Sonier replaces David L.E. Peterson, who resigned in July 1993 after serving 13 years as Clerk. A former educator and a lawyer, he was the province's first full-time clerk. During his term he initiated a Student Legislative Seminar, an innovative program which allows high school students from every constituency to participate in a mock parliament. In addition, he supervised extensive historical renovations to the 1882 Legislative Building.

Donald J. Forestell commenced in the position of Clerk Assistant in November, 1993. A native of Fredericton, he holds a degree in Business Administration from the University of New Brunswick and a degree in Law from the University of New Brunswick Law School. He is a member of the Law Society of New Brunswick and the Canadian Bar Association, and has been associated in the practice of law with his mother, Margaret D. Forestell, Q.C. in Fredericton.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 17 no 1

Last Updated: 2020-03-03