# The Canadian Scene

## New Saskatchewan Speaker

On March 12, Saskatchewan Party MLA **Mark Docherty** was elected Speaker of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly. Speaker Docherty replaces **Corey Tochor** who resigned in January to seek the federal Conservative Party's nomination in the Saskatoon-University riding.

Seven MLAs (including Glen Hart, Delbert Kirsch, Warren Michelson, Eric Olauson and Colleen Young of the Saskatchewan Party, and Danielle Chartier of the NDP) sought the Speaker's role. Docherty, who represents Regina Coronation Park, won on the fifth ballot.

Docherty was escorted to the chair by Premier **Scott Moe** and Official Opposition leader **Ryan Meili** (both of whom newly assumed their positions). Donning the Speaker's tricorn hat and robes, Docherty joked, "That was the reason why I ran."

Prior to his political career, Docherty earned a Bachelor of Science, a Bachelor of Human Justice, and a Masters of Social Work and taught courses at the University of Regina and Saskpolytec. A decorated athlete, Docherty was an active lacrosse, rugby and handball player and competed internationally in triathlon competitions. He was also heavily involved in many community organizations, including a tenure as director of Dales House, which offers services to troubled youth.

First elected in 2011, Docherty has served as Saskatchewan's Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital



Hon. Mark Docherty

Commission, and Legislative Secretary for Disability Issues and Legislative Secretary to the Premier (Immigration and Culture).

## Regional Executive Committee, CPA\*

#### **PRESIDENT**

Myrna Driedger, Manitoba

#### FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Yasmin Ratansi, Federal Branch

#### SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT

Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

#### PAST PRESIDENT

Perry Trimper, Newfoundland and Labrador

## REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Alexandra Mendès, Federal Branch Nils Clarke, Yukon

Perry Trimper, Newfoundland and Labrador

## CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION

(Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians) Linda Reid, British Columbia

## **EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER**

Blair Armitage, Senate

# Members of the Regional Council\*

## **HOUSE OF COMMONS**

Geoff Regan, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

#### ALBERTA

Robert Wanner, Speaker Robert Reynolds, Secretary

#### **BRITISH COLUMBIA**

Darryl Plecas, Speaker Craig James, Secretary

#### CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH

Yasmin Ratansi, Chair Rémi Bourgault, Secretary

## **MANITOBA**

Myrna Driedger, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary

# NEW BRUNSWICK

Chris Collins, Speaker Donald Forestell, Secretary

#### NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

Perry Trimper, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

## NUNAVUT

Joe Enook, Speaker John Quirke, Secretary

#### SENATE

George Furey, Speaker Vacant, Clerk

#### **NOVA SCOTIA**

Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

#### **ONTARIO**

Dave Levac, Speaker Todd Decker, Secretary

#### PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

Francis Watts, Speaker Charles MacKay, Secretary

## QUÉBEC

Jacques Chagnon, Speaker Simon Bérubé, Secretary

#### SASKATCHEWAN

Mark Docherty, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

## NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Jackson Lafferty, Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

#### YUKON

Nils Clarke, Speaker Floyd McCormick, Secretary



# Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

#### Alberta

Office of the Clerk 3rd Floor, 9820-107 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax) clerk@assembly.ab.ca

## **British Columbia**

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

## **Federal Branch**

Executive Secretary
131 Queen Street, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
613 992-2093 (tel)
613 995-0212 (fax)
cpa@parl.gc.ca

## Manitoba

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Building
Room 237
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
204 945-3636 (tel)
204 948-2507 (fax)
patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

## **New Brunswick**

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

## Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 709 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

## **Northwest Territories**

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim\_mercer@gov.nt.ca



## Nova Scotia

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

#### Nunavut

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
P.O. Box 1200
Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0
867 975-5100 (tel)
867 975-5190 (fax)

#### Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ola.org

## **Prince Edward Island**

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 2000 Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8 902 368-5970 (tel) 902 368-5175 (fax) chmackay@assembly.pe.ca

## Québec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) simonb@assnat.qc.ca

## Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

## Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca